We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many cats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Poezenboot

De Poezenboot
Singel 38 G, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 6258794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So many cats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

On our last day in Amsterdam my friends and I had a few hours to kill, so we visited the cat boat! It's a nice wee canal boat filled with cute little cats. Some in cages waiting to be adopted and some roaming freely which are the permanent residence of the cat boat.
A must for cat lovers, lots of free cuddles from the friendly cats here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“CATS EVERYWHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I absolutely love cats, so a cat houseboat is like a dream for me. Make sure you check the opening times, we went around noon, but had to come back because the boat is only open from 1-3 and not on Saturdays and Wednesdays (as of June 2014).

There is no fee to see the cats, but donations are accepted. We got to spend time with two really friendly cats who couldn't get enough cuddles.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must if you like cats, give it a miss if you don't”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Check the web site for current opening times, when we visited in June 2014, it was 1pm to 3pm. There is no fee but there is a donation box and mementos (t-shirts, fridge magnets etc) for sale. The staff are happy for you to take your own treats along for the cats. Despite the fact that they’re obviously well fed, we quickly had half a dozen friendly cats sitting at our feet munching the cheese flavour Dreamies we’d taken with us. The sign in the boat isn’t that big and could be easily missed so I imagine (although we didn’t try this) that it would be easier to spot the boat from the other bank where you’d see the mesh enclosed cat run on that side of the boat. It’s not your typical tourist attraction but if you’re a cat lover then it should definitely be on your list.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A must for cat lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was high on our list of off the beaten track attractions in Amsterdam. As cat lovers we seek out unusual attractions while on vacation, including shelters that are a little different. This is on a boat on the Singel and open for a couple of hours in the afternoons. There is no fee but donations help care for the cats. We bought a great tshirt as a less touristy souvenir. The cats are well loved and cared for and we had a great time sitting with other cat lovers playing and tickling the cats. We visited the katten cabinet the same day which made a great pair of activities if you are looking for something a little different and more "real" in Amsterdam.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higher Bebington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This place is wonderful if you are a cat lover which my daughter and I are. All the cats there are stray or abandoned and the cat boat is their home. It is a charity and monies are donated by the visitors. The cats have an outdoor space as well on the boat and come and go in safety. Its a truly magical place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Poezenboot also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Poezenboot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Poezenboot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.