We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Poezenboot

De Poezenboot
Singel 38 G, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 6258794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was a great place to visit if you like cats! :)
It's free to go on, and it's FULL of cats! You can just go in there and pet them for a while.
The boat itself was a great idea and I'd advise anyone to research it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Only open for a few hours but worth a look. A couple of the cats a little hostile but, really, some cats are like that! No big deal There are plenty who loved the fuss too - just be cautious with your petting. Don't assume they all want stroked, go in slow! No entrance fee to pay but we were happy to leave a donation and spend a few Euros on a couple of badges and postcards on the way out. If you love cats, you must pay a visit!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

A must for cat lovers! You can visit between 1 and 3pm, we got there late but the very kind lady let us in for a look round. All the cats are very happy and healthy. If you're a cat lover your probably going to visit the Kat kabinet too- go after you visit to the boat as you then get a discount!

Don't forget to make a donation, and maybe take some dreamies too :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic low cost fun for cat lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My partner and I ran quite low on money whilst we were in Amsterdam and found this absolutely incredible boat which is a charity that takes on cats that are difficult to rehome.

We got to play with some lovely 6 month old kittens, but most of the other cats kept to themselves and there were multiple signs up advising visitors to avoid a certain cat, but I don't think we even saw him. We also got to speak to the staff who were incredibly friendly.

Visiting the boat is free, but my partner and I gave a small donation (€2-4). For a free attraction in a relatively pricey city, it is definitely worth a visit and a 5* review. You'll definitely feel better having gone.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Definitely for Cat Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to De Poezenboot, which is a shelter for cats on the Singel canal. It's not huge and you won't have a long visit, but there is something neat in being able to visit a classic Amsterdam canal boat to pet a couple of kitties during your vacation! They are a non-profit organization so a small donation is expected and they definitely deserve it for the work that they do! They also had cute postcards for sale, which are an easy sell to cat people!

Would definitely recommend as a short attraction to stop by to, if you love cats! It's also quite close to the Anne Frank Huis, so it's easy to combine it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Poezenboot also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Poezenboot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Poezenboot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.