We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Esprit

Caffe Esprit
Spui 10, 1020 WZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 020 6221967
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,261 of 2,245 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Bagels, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Randers, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place with tables outside. The food was satisfactory with reasonable prices (for Amsterdam). I recommend the spinach soup and the pasta of the week (or at least my week!).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    10
    27
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Ok cafe, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Caffee Esprit is ok for what it is. The food is average but the terrace is beautiful. Service could be better as it is difficult to get the staff's attention. Drinks did not arrive until the food came.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Inattentive staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This café looks inviting from the outside with its minimal and modern décor. When we entered, we were left waiting for minutes. We didn't just want to claim any table, so I asked the waiter if we could choose one. Most places would display that you have to wait until you're seated, but it's confusing what is the rule here. Wait or rush to the next available table?

The waiters were not available and us new arrivals. It's never a good sign if you have to beg to place your order or remind them to bring the bill.

The menu looks uninspiring. You're limited to sandwiches, wraps, salads and pasta and, I might add, surprisingly few Veggie choices. The Pasta Salamanca was lacking flavour and the sauce was too watery.

I found the concept of Esprit running its own café confusing. There are far better eateries with atmosphere in Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We wandered around for ages and came across this cafe. First in for breakfast, good menu and prices and free wifi. Would come again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food was OK, but the wait was awful and service worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a horrible experience here - worst service ever, kitchen "lost" our order, and it took more than 90 minutes to get our lunch. We had to ask the waitress to check on our order multiple times. When she finally acknowledged that a mistake had been made, we were offered free drinks, and then all but one person's meal was served. And we waited another 30 minutes to get it! If this had been in the US, that last meal would have been free in addition to the offer of free drinks. Cannot recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Esprit also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Caffe Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Esprit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.