We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Esprit

Caffe Esprit
Spui 10, 1012 WZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 639 2589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 122 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Caffe Esprit is located in the historic heart of Amsterdam. This unique venue is characterised by its central location and its panoramic views over the whole of the Spui. Caffe Esprit is visited by a very varied public: shoppers, business people and students have long known where to find Caffe Esprit. Caffe Esprit has long been known for its extensive menu of delicious club sandwiches, pastas, burgers and salads. The splendid home-made carrot cake and cheesecake have for years attracted a large clientele. In the summer months, the sun-drenched terrace is a delightful spot for enjoying our spendid lunches, a good glass of wine and a small glass of refreshing cold beer with finger food.
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice place with tables outside. The food was satisfactory with reasonable prices (for Amsterdam). I recommend the spinach soup and the pasta of the week (or at least my week!).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GiannisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ok cafe, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Caffee Esprit is ok for what it is. The food is average but the terrace is beautiful. Service could be better as it is difficult to get the staff's attention. Drinks did not arrive until the food came.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Inattentive staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This café looks inviting from the outside with its minimal and modern décor. When we entered, we were left waiting for minutes. We didn't just want to claim any table, so I asked the waiter if we could choose one. Most places would display that you have to wait until you're seated, but it's confusing what is the rule here. Wait or rush to the next available table?

The waiters were not available and us new arrivals. It's never a good sign if you have to beg to place your order or remind them to bring the bill.

The menu looks uninspiring. You're limited to sandwiches, wraps, salads and pasta and, I might add, surprisingly few Veggie choices. The Pasta Salamanca was lacking flavour and the sauce was too watery.

I found the concept of Esprit running its own café confusing. There are far better eateries with atmosphere in Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UrbanMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We wandered around for ages and came across this cafe. First in for breakfast, good menu and prices and free wifi. Would come again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawktoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food was OK, but the wait was awful and service worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a horrible experience here - worst service ever, kitchen "lost" our order, and it took more than 90 minutes to get our lunch. We had to ask the waitress to check on our order multiple times. When she finally acknowledged that a mistake had been made, we were offered free drinks, and then all but one person's meal was served. And we waited another 30 minutes to get it! If this had been in the US, that last meal would have been free in addition to the offer of free drinks. Cannot recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Esprit also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Caffe Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing