We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok cafe, nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Esprit

Caffe Esprit
Spui 10, 1012 WZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 639 2589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 135 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: American, Pasta, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Caffe Esprit is located in the historic heart of Amsterdam. This unique venue is characterised by its central location and its panoramic views over the whole of the Spui. Caffe Esprit is visited by a very varied public: shoppers, business people and students have long known where to find Caffe Esprit. Caffe Esprit has long been known for its extensive menu of delicious club sandwiches, pastas, burgers and salads. The splendid home-made carrot cake and cheesecake have for years attracted a large clientele. In the summer months, the sun-drenched terrace is a delightful spot for enjoying our spendid lunches, a good glass of wine and a small glass of refreshing cold beer with finger food.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ok cafe, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Caffee Esprit is ok for what it is. The food is average but the terrace is beautiful. Service could be better as it is difficult to get the staff's attention. Drinks did not arrive until the food came.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    58
    34
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Inattentive staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This café looks inviting from the outside with its minimal and modern décor. When we entered, we were left waiting for minutes. We didn't just want to claim any table, so I asked the waiter if we could choose one. Most places would display that you have to wait until you're seated, but it's confusing what is the rule here. Wait or rush to the next available table?

The waiters were not available and us new arrivals. It's never a good sign if you have to beg to place your order or remind them to bring the bill.

The menu looks uninspiring. You're limited to sandwiches, wraps, salads and pasta and, I might add, surprisingly few Veggie choices. The Pasta Salamanca was lacking flavour and the sauce was too watery.

I found the concept of Esprit running its own café confusing. There are far better eateries with atmosphere in Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We wandered around for ages and came across this cafe. First in for breakfast, good menu and prices and free wifi. Would come again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was OK, but the wait was awful and service worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a horrible experience here - worst service ever, kitchen "lost" our order, and it took more than 90 minutes to get our lunch. We had to ask the waitress to check on our order multiple times. When she finally acknowledged that a mistake had been made, we were offered free drinks, and then all but one person's meal was served. And we waited another 30 minutes to get it! If this had been in the US, that last meal would have been free in addition to the offer of free drinks. Cannot recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a relatively busy Saturday afternoon but we were hungry and the selection of burgers looked ok, so we sat down, after nearly ten minutes of waiting we managed to order our colas but the waitress wouldn't take our food order at that time and said would return, five minutes later we asked again as she walked past and she assured us she would come over, a further five minutes later (having done drinks orders for four more tables who were seated while we were waiting) we decided to just leave the money for the drinks on the table and walked off

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Esprit also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Caffe Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Esprit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.