We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok cafe, nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Esprit

Caffe Esprit
Spui 10, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 639 2589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,404 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Soups, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ok cafe, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Caffee Esprit is ok for what it is. The food is average but the terrace is beautiful. Service could be better as it is difficult to get the staff's attention. Drinks did not arrive until the food came.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    48
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Inattentive staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This café looks inviting from the outside with its minimal and modern décor. When we entered, we were left waiting for minutes. We didn't just want to claim any table, so I asked the waiter if we could choose one. Most places would display that you have to wait until you're seated, but it's confusing what is the rule here. Wait or rush to the next available table?

The waiters were not available and us new arrivals. It's never a good sign if you have to beg to place your order or remind them to bring the bill.

The menu looks uninspiring. You're limited to sandwiches, wraps, salads and pasta and, I might add, surprisingly few Veggie choices. The Pasta Salamanca was lacking flavour and the sauce was too watery.

I found the concept of Esprit running its own café confusing. There are far better eateries with atmosphere in Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We wandered around for ages and came across this cafe. First in for breakfast, good menu and prices and free wifi. Would come again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food was OK, but the wait was awful and service worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a horrible experience here - worst service ever, kitchen "lost" our order, and it took more than 90 minutes to get our lunch. We had to ask the waitress to check on our order multiple times. When she finally acknowledged that a mistake had been made, we were offered free drinks, and then all but one person's meal was served. And we waited another 30 minutes to get it! If this had been in the US, that last meal would have been free in addition to the offer of free drinks. Cannot recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a relatively busy Saturday afternoon but we were hungry and the selection of burgers looked ok, so we sat down, after nearly ten minutes of waiting we managed to order our colas but the waitress wouldn't take our food order at that time and said would return, five minutes later we asked again as she walked past and she assured us she would come over, a further five minutes later (having done drinks orders for four more tables who were seated while we were waiting) we decided to just leave the money for the drinks on the table and walked off

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Esprit also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Caffe Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Esprit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.