We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Esprit

Caffe Esprit
Spui 10, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 639 2589
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,460 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Bagels, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Ischgl, Tirol, Austria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a relatively busy Saturday afternoon but we were hungry and the selection of burgers looked ok, so we sat down, after nearly ten minutes of waiting we managed to order our colas but the waitress wouldn't take our food order at that time and said would return, five minutes later we asked again as she walked past and she assured us she would come over, a further five minutes later (having done drinks orders for four more tables who were seated while we were waiting) we decided to just leave the money for the drinks on the table and walked off

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    36
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate here on our last afternoon and whilst it was adequate it was a bit pricey for two burgers and a couple of beers. Nice spot though sat outside watching the world go by and listening to a nearby busker playing Beatles tracks with a Dutch accent whilst we soaked up the Sun! Memorable experience though sadly not really for the food...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best cafés in amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the perfect place to have lunch in amsterdam. The choice is huge and you will find something for all the tastes : pasta, salads, bagels, sandwichs, wraps, hamburgers. The quality of the food is very good. I would particularly recommend the club sandwiches which are hearty and delicious, as well as the apple pie. This is definitely a great spot to know!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Caffe Esprit offers something for everyone. First of all, the place is in a nice spot in Amsterdam where there is street life, but a bit of quiet also. The walls are all glass which means you can sit inside and do some nice people watching here.
As for the food and drinks, you can drop in for a very nice breakfast, eat an excellent burger for lunch or just enjoy a tasty espresso with a bit of cake on the side. The prices are reasonable for what you get, I think.
The staff could be more service minded and at least try a smile once in a while, but they are far from unpleasant and don't let that deter you from sitting down and choose a bite to eat or something to drink from their extensive menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elst
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't go there twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

A lot of people in your restaurant is great, but we had to wait very long for our drinks and later for dinner. When we would like to pay, they couldn't found our bill and it took again more than 10 minutes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Esprit also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Caffe Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Esprit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.