We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was a great find as it combines a nice and warm atmosphere with a very good location. Everything is within walking distance and it is very convenient when its your first time in Amsterdam. The room we stayed was very nice and clean, while breakfast was a great way to start to your day. I would recommend this hotel as it offers great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    164
    37
    17
    7
See reviews for
90
296
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here by myself, and so I had one of the smaller rooms (maybe the smallest room?) which was on the third floor, with a large window that opened to the back of the building, and overlooked a tree-filled area behind the neighboring buildings. As other reviews have noted, there is no elevator or air conditioning--but I think that is to be expected in the smaller hotels in Europe. I enjoyed being able to open the window, and the room came with a high-powered fan that kept me very comfortable.
The highlight of this hotel for me was the staff. Breakfast every morning was good, and made better by the proprietor and her mother, who make the coffee and pancakes to order. I recommend accepting their offer to make you a pancake.
The location was also excellent. Close to the tram lines, easy walk to most parts of central Amsterdam, and very close to the museums. The hotel is not close to the train station, so I recommend taking the tram from the train station to the hotel when you have heavy luggage.
If I go back to Amsterdam, I will likely stay here again. Also, note that if you are highly allergic to cats, two cats live in this hotel. It seemed as if they do not make it into the rooms, and I was having bad seasonal allergies, so it's hard to know if I was affected at all by the cats.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights in April. We would definitely book this place again if we are back in Amsterdam. It was very central and we walked throughout the city from this location no problem. It is more like a bed and breakfast, as other people have reviewed. The room was clean, small but cozy and had an amazing view of the canals. It was so great to wake up to that view. The staff was amazing, Nathalie hoisted up my luggage up all the stairs herself. The breakfast was wonderful and they would cook pancakes or eggs how ever you liked them. Two cute little cats would also sleep in the dining room which I personally enjoyed ;) Definitely one of the best places and a great value as well.

Room Tip: We loved the deluxe double room with a canal view. Smaller but just the right size for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Having read the reviews and noted the comments on room sizes we booked a superior twin and requested canal side. When we checked in Natalie informed us we had been upgraded to an even better room - 203, which was very large with huge windows and a balcony directly overlooking the canal. Amazing location. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. Beds were comfortable, pillows not so great, but cotton bed linen and towels changed daily . The weather was warm and the room was quite hot at night and the canal side was busy until late, and from early morning but I would think worth it for the view.
Natalie could not have been more helpful, as indeed the other staff. Our flight home was leaving on late evening and it was no problem to leave our luggage which was waiting for us in the tiny reception cum bar cum breakfast room, where we passed the time enjoying the view over a beer from the fridge until time for the local bus to the airport, a two minute walk from the hotel, how convenient is that.
This B&B hotel has no pretensions but as others have said, does what it says on the tin, and I would be happy to stay there again, but enquire carefully about which rooms are available.

Room Tip: 203 is spacious with a good bathroom and amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived quite late but had a very warm welcome from hotel staff and even carried luggage to room. We had breakfast both mornings in nice little room downstairs and cannot fault service. Pancakes made for us and staff more than happy to help in anyway. Hotel itself is located a few minutes walk from Liedseplein bars and restaurants including shops so a very good base for exploring Amsterdam. Only negative was room size, with a double bed in it it left very little room to walk past bed or store suitcase. Room was clean just a bit too small for 2 people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay in Amsterdam. Great hotel with nice and friendly staff. Natalie's pancakes are the best - bacon and cheese and a new experimental lemon recipe. What an introduction to Dutch pancakes!!

The hotel has steep stairs, which could be a problem. Our room was a good size, with very comfrey beds, although the bathroom was small, with just a shower.

Great location, very central. We walked everywhere with no problem - other than achey feet!!

Would definately return, hopefully soon!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

All in all charming. Not cheap though. I guess that is market forces at work.
The host and night porter were very helpful. The cat was above it all.

There is no lift so accessibility could be an issue in this old building.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.