We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in an ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paisley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in an ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We arrived quite late but had a very warm welcome from hotel staff and even carried luggage to room. We had breakfast both mornings in nice little room downstairs and cannot fault service. Pancakes made for us and staff more than happy to help in anyway. Hotel itself is located a few minutes walk from Liedseplein bars and restaurants including shops so a very good base for exploring Amsterdam. Only negative was room size, with a double bed in it it left very little room to walk past bed or store suitcase. Room was clean just a bit too small for 2 people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    176
    43
    18
    6
See reviews for
95
334
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay in Amsterdam. Great hotel with nice and friendly staff. Natalie's pancakes are the best - bacon and cheese and a new experimental lemon recipe. What an introduction to Dutch pancakes!!

The hotel has steep stairs, which could be a problem. Our room was a good size, with very comfrey beds, although the bathroom was small, with just a shower.

Great location, very central. We walked everywhere with no problem - other than achey feet!!

Would definately return, hopefully soon!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

All in all charming. Not cheap though. I guess that is market forces at work.
The host and night porter were very helpful. The cat was above it all.

There is no lift so accessibility could be an issue in this old building.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our first experience of Amsterdam was made marvellous by staying at The Boutique Hotel View. We arrived on an early flight but Natalie was happy to look after our luggage for a few hours while we had a walk around and got our bearings while our room was made ready. She then upgraded us to a wonderful, spacious room (103) with a canal view. We stayed for 3 nights. Breakfast was fantastic, with your choice of breads, meats, cheese, fruit, cereal, juice, tea, coffee, but the bacon and cheese pancakes were the best! Natalie made the pancakes to order. She and her staff were very friendly and helpful at all times, including her mum. The area was very central to museums, sights and the Leidseplein with many dining options. We certainly will stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four days with my husband. We found it perfect. The room was of a good size, the hotel was in a decent location and hotel staff were extremely friendly. Breakfast was gorgeous, the pancakes were beautiful. There were lots of nice little homely touches such as umbrellas by the door and tea and coffee facilities down stairs. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The stairs are steep so you may want to take that into consideration if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I always re-read the reviews before we get to the hotel so I know what to expect. Everyone says they let them check in early and upgraded them so I was expecting good things. We got there about 90 minutes before check in time and was abruptly told that they never let anyone check in before 2 so we left our bags and went out. When we came back we checked in a went up the very steep stairs to our room. We literally had the smallest room I have ever seen. It had a double bed and it touched 3/4 walls in the room and for the 4th wall there was only about 1 foot between the bed and the wall. The only way to get past each other was to back out to the hallway or walk around each other on the bed. The whole bathroom is the size of a normal stand up shower. We stayed at a tune hotel in London, which are known to be very small and its stated size on the website was smaller than what Boutique hotel view said their room was but I would guess the Tune hotel was at least double the size. It was terrible.

Most importantly to know is that there is NO AIR CONDITIONING and Amsterdam is hot hot hot! It was impossible to cool down.

The staff was wonderful, friendly, helped you figure out where to eat and what to do. The breakfast is amazing and if I was reviewing this as a restaurant it would be 5/5.

The location is also really close to one of the entertainment districts and it was a 5 minute walk to dozens of restaurants, which was great!

This was the most expensive hotel on our entire Europe trip and it was by far the worst. Not worth the money.

Room Tip: DO NOT book a double room. It is too small for 2 people and shouldn't even be offered for 2 gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

As a solo traveler on business, I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the conference I was attending and because of the great price. The location is great in general, it's very close to the tram, there's a canal cruise kiosk in walking distance and a number of restaurants in very close walking distance.

I arrived early in the afternoon and my room was ready. It was in the lower part of the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, my only complaint was the mildewy smell coming from the shower and that the drain in the shower was clogged so my shower had to be short or water would run out into the room.

I was re-located on my last night to a lovely room on the top floor with a modern bathroom, comfortable bed and lovely view of the canal.

Breakfast is in the lobby area and you have your choice of croissants, fruit, cheese and meats or you can have eggs or pancakes made. I woke up one morning to the smell of croissant's baking, wonderful!

Just an fyi, if you're mobility impaired in any way, be advised there are a lot of stairs to get up and down, depending on what floor you're staying on and the stairs are very narrow.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the second floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.