We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a short stay and close to the Melkweg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice for a short stay and close to the Melkweg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Small boutique hotel view a lovely view on the canal.
Great for a short stay- central location and 5 min walk to the Melkweg and restaurant area - close to the tram stop.
Staff is very nice - wifi is free - rooms were clean (the slight smell of bleach in the bathroom is always a good indicator)
Breakfast is not included but for 10€ it is a very good value (fresh scrambled eggs and pancakes + coffee, juices, large choice of breads and pastries, cereals and fresh fruits).

Strongly recommend 2nd and 3rd floor (no elevator but quieter) - Be careful the annex rooms are in the angle building next door, on the ground floor with direct view on a busy street - can be pretty noisy and you can hear people passing by your windows .. - we had booked the annex initially but the staff was very nice and offered to put us on the 3rd floor which was much better.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend 2nd and 3rd floor (no elevator but quieter) - Be carefull the annex room are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    166
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
91
303
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A great welcome from genuinely kind and helpful people. They made all the difference to the visit. I had a small double while my daughter stayed in one of the showpiece rooms. We both slept very well. Some newer pillows would have been great. Service was great throughout and the location was ideal: a few steps to the canal bus; a few more steps to the Riksmuseum and just a few minutes to a brilliant, authentic Dutch restaurant, Hap-hmm. Brilliant food. Was made to feel welcome and would go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We rented room 102, a triple room overlooking the canal and cannot recommend Boutique Hotel enough. The rooms were clean, cozy but spacious enough for 3 and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The owner, in particular, was lovely and great for a chat if you have a little time to visit. Really central location but felt safe, closer to live theatre, concert venues and funky beer gardens than all the red light stuff. Cannot recommend Boutique more highly. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Superior room was big and had lots of space. All very clean and tidy. Amazing breakfast (make sure you get pancakes)! Stairs were steep but not a problem for two 24 year olds. Great location for bars and restaurants, very close to tram and bus stops (bus 197 will get you to the airport in 30mins for €5). Would definitely stay again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having stayed just round the corner in a different hotel last time I visited, I can say that this little hotel was so much nicer. Yes, the rooms are tiny, I was on my own in a small double which is ok, but I would not like to have to share as my friends did. However, if you don't intend to spend a lot of time in your room then it is absolutely fine. Very clean, comfortable bed and nice plump pillows. the stairs are steep but it's only 3 floors unlike some of the other hotels which are 5 floors of steep stairs! The breakfast is lovely, 10 Euros may seem a lot, but it is unlimited food and tea and coffee - the egg scramble and pancakes with optional cheese and bacon, fresh fruit boiled eggs, hot rolls and croissants are all great - it meant we didn't have to eat again until evening. Great value.The biggest selling point of this hotel is the staff, they are delightful - everyone we met from reception staff to the night porter to the lovely lady who served breakfast were so helpful and kind - they couldn't do enough for you. So a huge thank you to Nathalie, Ania and all staff for making us so very welcome. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you want space pay a little extra for the bigger rooms. If you don't want to climb stairs ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here in February whilst over in Amsterdam for the weekend. The hotel is in a great location - 5 minutes to clubs and bars and about a 10 minute walk from the old quarter. Our room was lovely and clean and very quiet (we had room 202 at the back of the building). There was a fantastic choice of hot and cold food for breakfast. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful in assisting us sorting out car parking and finding good local restaurants to visit. We would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again if we come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Last minute room needed in Amsterdam at a good price - and at £49 for a night, the Boutique Hotel View fitted the bill with something called a Deluxe Room in the Annexe. Don't be put off by the Annexe description, its just two doors down from the main hotel and you're on the ground floor direct to the street with your own front door key. Great bedroom with really comfy bed and beautiful bathroom with double sink and walk in rainfall shower.

Perfect 20+ Mb/s WiFi - I had to do a 1 hour Skype Video conference, not a glitch.

Didn't have time for Natalie's "famous" pancakes....but I sure as heck look forward to going back and trying the breakfast next time.

Room Tip: Room 1 in the Annexe (Double with +1 Sleeper bunk) is right on the street corner, with big window vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.