We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO EXSCAPE route in case of fire.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“NO EXSCAPE route in case of fire.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is THE WORST hotel i`ve stayed in ; i stayed in the 3 floor but there was NO ESCAPE ROUTE ine case of fire, NO fire extinguisher once that is required by law.,very small room, poor breakfast. find something else, NEVER here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    176
    43
    18
    6
See reviews for
95
334
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kobe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The plusses - The staff at the hotel are incredibly genuine and friendly. Two of the mornings I stayed there I got to hear the ladies sing along with the radio and one morning I got to hear one of them practice her ukulele. Adorable. As others have mentioned, the pancakes (especially the apple ones) are very good and the location of the hotel is ideal for visitors. I like the human feeling of the place and would definitely stay there again.

That said, please understand that the room was so so - Although perfectly comfortable, the regular rooms are rather basic. The sheets and pillows were clean but need replacing, the carpet needed some vacuuming, the wifi is super slow, and the room pretty much feels like a dorm room. My friend stayed in a slightly nicer room, but still nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. But be prepared for steep,narrow steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is one of the best small hotels that I've stayed in in Europe. It is right around the corner from the bus to/from the airport for 4 euros. It is in a lively neighborhood with theaters, bars, restaurants and shopping but doesn't feel too touristy. I did have the best room, a triple on the second floor with a little balcony and views of the canal. Breakfast was absolutely incredible and served with such friendliness and care. Everything was fresh and amazing for only 10 euro. I paid 17 euro for a breakfast that was terrible earlier in the week at a higher level hotel. Snacks, drinks, coffee always available to purchase at the front desk. The staff gave us super great advice on where to eat with locals.

Room Tip: advise a triple if you can afford it room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What an excellent little hotel. All the staff are incredibly friendly and could not be more helpful. The location is brilliant - and only a €4 bus ride from the airport. Breakfast is excellent, make sure you sample the pancakes. Nothing was a problem, and their recommendations for evening dining were brilliant. Amsterdam is such a friendly city, we were so impressed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice little boutique style hotel within easy reach of a number of the sights. The staff were very friendly and charming and were able to suggest some interesting and good local eateries. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but we saw other diners eating and their breakfasts looked appetising. There are also two very welcoming and friendly cats in residence (staff of course).
Our view from our room wasn't great, but we weren't in Amsterdam to stay in our room. The room itself, one of the upgrades, was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small side and some of the spare space in the room itself could have been lost and given over to the bathroom.
My wife and I were using Amsterdam as a base to travel to other cities so the hotel could have been a little closer to the station for our purposes, but if you are staying in Amsterdam to see Amsterdam this is a good location.
Word of warning for those of limited mobility - this is Amsterdam, therefore the buildings are narrow and so are the stairs which are also steep. If this is an issue you will have to find either a super expensive deluxe hotel or a bland international chain which may have a lift.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our first taste of Amsterdam and definitely not the last. The Boutique was clean friendly & comfortable , the staff were lovely and the choices at breakfast were plentiful , the resident cats were a homely welcome too !❤️ We would definitely stay again as it very central. We didn't have a view in our room but we saw enough on the river tour. Bathroom was tiny, with a loo in the shower - bit bizarre.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.