We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The human touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kobe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The human touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The plusses - The staff at the hotel are incredibly genuine and friendly. Two of the mornings I stayed there I got to hear the ladies sing along with the radio and one morning I got to hear one of them practice her ukulele. Adorable. As others have mentioned, the pancakes (especially the apple ones) are very good and the location of the hotel is ideal for visitors. I like the human feeling of the place and would definitely stay there again.

That said, please understand that the room was so so - Although perfectly comfortable, the regular rooms are rather basic. The sheets and pillows were clean but need replacing, the carpet needed some vacuuming, the wifi is super slow, and the room pretty much feels like a dorm room. My friend stayed in a slightly nicer room, but still nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. But be prepared for steep,narrow steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    208
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
105
386
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is one of the best small hotels that I've stayed in in Europe. It is right around the corner from the bus to/from the airport for 4 euros. It is in a lively neighborhood with theaters, bars, restaurants and shopping but doesn't feel too touristy. I did have the best room, a triple on the second floor with a little balcony and views of the canal. Breakfast was absolutely incredible and served with such friendliness and care. Everything was fresh and amazing for only 10 euro. I paid 17 euro for a breakfast that was terrible earlier in the week at a higher level hotel. Snacks, drinks, coffee always available to purchase at the front desk. The staff gave us super great advice on where to eat with locals.

Room Tip: advise a triple if you can afford it room 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What an excellent little hotel. All the staff are incredibly friendly and could not be more helpful. The location is brilliant - and only a €4 bus ride from the airport. Breakfast is excellent, make sure you sample the pancakes. Nothing was a problem, and their recommendations for evening dining were brilliant. Amsterdam is such a friendly city, we were so impressed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice little boutique style hotel within easy reach of a number of the sights. The staff were very friendly and charming and were able to suggest some interesting and good local eateries. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but we saw other diners eating and their breakfasts looked appetising. There are also two very welcoming and friendly cats in residence (staff of course).
Our view from our room wasn't great, but we weren't in Amsterdam to stay in our room. The room itself, one of the upgrades, was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small side and some of the spare space in the room itself could have been lost and given over to the bathroom.
My wife and I were using Amsterdam as a base to travel to other cities so the hotel could have been a little closer to the station for our purposes, but if you are staying in Amsterdam to see Amsterdam this is a good location.
Word of warning for those of limited mobility - this is Amsterdam, therefore the buildings are narrow and so are the stairs which are also steep. If this is an issue you will have to find either a super expensive deluxe hotel or a bland international chain which may have a lift.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our first taste of Amsterdam and definitely not the last. The Boutique was clean friendly & comfortable , the staff were lovely and the choices at breakfast were plentiful , the resident cats were a homely welcome too !❤️ We would definitely stay again as it very central. We didn't have a view in our room but we saw enough on the river tour. Bathroom was tiny, with a loo in the shower - bit bizarre.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only had a day and a half in Amsterdam so being able to get around the city efficiently was a must and this place delivered! It was a couple blocks from the trams and the 98 bus (which takes you to the airport), and a simple 10-20 minute walk to just about all the tourist spots. Anya was so welcoming, she helped us find all the places we wanted to see and watched our bags while we went exploring, she even carried them up the stairs to our room. Oh and she makes the best pancakes! They were quite possibly the highlight of our trip!

The room was small, but cozy, and the bathroom even smaller but we didn't mind this since we were out most of the day. The bed was quite comfy after a long day of walking and even though we were on the first floor right next to the stairs it was still quiet. Everything was really clean the only problem was keeping the bathroom dry after a shower in the smallest shower ever! All-in-all this was a wonderful hotel and staying here definitely made our stay in Amsterdam that much more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel La Boheme
#48 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#96 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,298 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#31 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Restaurant Larende
#32 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#44 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Budget Places, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.