We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
North Wales
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great Cats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice little boutique style hotel within easy reach of a number of the sights. The staff were very friendly and charming and were able to suggest some interesting and good local eateries. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment but we saw other diners eating and their breakfasts looked appetising. There are also two very welcoming and friendly cats in residence (staff of course).
Our view from our room wasn't great, but we weren't in Amsterdam to stay in our room. The room itself, one of the upgrades, was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a little on the small side and some of the spare space in the room itself could have been lost and given over to the bathroom.
My wife and I were using Amsterdam as a base to travel to other cities so the hotel could have been a little closer to the station for our purposes, but if you are staying in Amsterdam to see Amsterdam this is a good location.
Word of warning for those of limited mobility - this is Amsterdam, therefore the buildings are narrow and so are the stairs which are also steep. If this is an issue you will have to find either a super expensive deluxe hotel or a bland international chain which may have a lift.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    176
    43
    18
    6
See reviews for
95
334
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our first taste of Amsterdam and definitely not the last. The Boutique was clean friendly & comfortable , the staff were lovely and the choices at breakfast were plentiful , the resident cats were a homely welcome too !❤️ We would definitely stay again as it very central. We didn't have a view in our room but we saw enough on the river tour. Bathroom was tiny, with a loo in the shower - bit bizarre.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We only had a day and a half in Amsterdam so being able to get around the city efficiently was a must and this place delivered! It was a couple blocks from the trams and the 98 bus (which takes you to the airport), and a simple 10-20 minute walk to just about all the tourist spots. Anya was so welcoming, she helped us find all the places we wanted to see and watched our bags while we went exploring, she even carried them up the stairs to our room. Oh and she makes the best pancakes! They were quite possibly the highlight of our trip!

The room was small, but cozy, and the bathroom even smaller but we didn't mind this since we were out most of the day. The bed was quite comfy after a long day of walking and even though we were on the first floor right next to the stairs it was still quiet. Everything was really clean the only problem was keeping the bathroom dry after a shower in the smallest shower ever! All-in-all this was a wonderful hotel and staying here definitely made our stay in Amsterdam that much more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our room's view made up for the space we lacked. Natalie, Mama and Anya made us feel truly at home and like family. Breakfast was wonderful! If we ever get back to Amsterdam we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Pros: Everything except the cons. Location was great. It’s next to the tram and next to one of the major canals of Amsterdam. The hotel itself was beautifully designed. Breakfast was to die for, especially the pancakes of Anya.

Cons: There is no lift and the stairs are narrow and very steep, typical of classic Dutch Houses. Bathroom is also quite small.

OVERALL, 2 thumbs up for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Friendly and relaxed welcome from our host who insisted on carrying heavy bags up/down narrow stairs. Good breakfast with freshly cooked pancakes - all varieties and eggs/bacon. We were really made to feel welcome and felt part of the old city.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room rather than the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.