We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Boutique Hotel View, to celebrate our Silver Wedding, and the hotel came fully up to our expectations. The location is excellent, and the level of service was outstanding - Natalie does a remarkable job, combining managing arrivals and departures while simultaneously looking after breakfasts. Our room was on the third floor at the rear, and was comfortable and quiet. There were a couple of minor snags in the room, but the only reason for mentioning these is to report the rapidity with which the maintenance man arrived to fix them, and the gratitude of the staff for being informed of the problem. This hotel will definitely be our choice when we next visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: A room at the rear is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    166
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
91
303
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. What really makes it special is the personal and attentive service from Nathalie and other staff who really go out of their way to help. We enjoyed our stay very much and are planning to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed everything about our trip.
The hotel is lovely, clean and comfortable, would be difficult if you have a disability as it's over 3 floors and no lift.
The staff are fab, very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is continental with a good choice but you could also have scrambled eggs and bacon or delicious pancakes, both are made to order.
The hotel is very close to tram, bus and canal transport, to carry you around this beautiful city.
Lots to do and see, the Diamond factory tour is free and you get to see and possibly hold some fabulous diamonds!
There are museums galore, the difficult bit is choosing which one to visit next.
Transfer from and back to the airport couldn't be easier, take the bus197, it cost us 4€ each way and only takes 20 mins, it stops at the end of the street.
Lots of good places to eat, we liked 'The Hole In The Wall' Irish pub, it has a good atmosphere and good food.
We will go back.... Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney NSW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Do not book here if you are expecting the usual bland blancmange hotel chain. Do book if you want to experience friendly Dutch hospitality delivered with a warm welcome.

Be warned, there is no lift and the rooms are accessed via steep stairs typical of old Dutch buildings. No worries with luggage though as owner Natalie easily handles your bags upstairs. A stay here is a real Amsterdam experience you'll be eager to tell all your friends about. The atmosphere in the common reception & breakfast area is so "heel gezellig" you will feel like family immediately. Don't go out for breakfast as Natalie provides so much fresh ingredients you will not find better value. There is ample selection of breads, cereals and fruits and natural Dutch yoghurt. Eggs are cooked to order and Natalie's pancakes seem to have a legendary status that I cannot disagree with. Simply delicious!

Rooms are comfortable and above all very clean. Staff are friendly and conscientious.

Oh, and the view? Yes, Boutique Hotel View is right on the "hoek" of the canal with perfect Amsterdam canal views.

Tip: Catch the 197 bus direct from Schiphol to Leidseplein, a short 3 minute walk to the hotel. Cost is just Euro 2.40.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have nothing to complain about this hotel, except for stairs to rooms they are narrow and steep but you will find that with the older hotels. We were welcomed with a warm friendly and helpful smile. Reception staff carried our luggage to our room which we were very grateful for. Beds and pillows were comfortable, rooms clean and tidy. Breakfast layout is Danish but really good if you like that kind of food. Homemade pancakes we had the apple pancake OMG! Homemade pastries as well fresh fruit. Morning staff very friendly. The hotel is right near a canal and walking distance to most main attractions not to far to walk to tram stations and resturants. If we were to return to Amsterdam we would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing steep staircases ask for first level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Incredibly friendly & nice staff and delicious pancakes for breakfast! The staff were extremely helpful when we accidentally left items in our room on departure. Also a great location with a beautiful view of the canal and a nice scenic walk home each night. The room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was amazed at how wonderful and friendly the staff was at Boutique Hotel View and if I make it back to Amsterdam (which I will) I will stay at this hotel. When we first got to the hotel the front desk was incredibly warm and friendly, and made it clear that if we had any question to ask. And that warmth and helpfulness continued with all the staff. The location worked out well for us and I would (and have already to friends) recommended this hotel. The only issue someone might have is the stairs and no elevator (which is very common in Amsterdam from what I heard), so if unable to navigator stairs due to mobility issues you would want to stay in lower floors. That being said, the lady at the front desk insisted on carrying our two 50 lbs bags to the third floor for us. When my partner offered a tip, she said "no, you're are at my house now". (Like I noted the staff is Amazing)!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.