We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide South Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in the deluxe canal view room. Wonderful views of the canals and surrounding area. Easy walking distance to everything you would want to see, or if you don't want to walk, take the tram.
The hotel is very clean, rooms spacious and bright. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, especially Natalie. Be warned though, the stairs are very steep (it is an old canal house after all!), but the staff will carry your bags up to your room.
If we go back to Amsterdam we would definitely stay here again. It's a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    166
    38
    17
    7
See reviews for
90
297
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We really liked our staying. Dragana from the reception helped us a lot since the beginning of our trip. We had a such a great time in Amsterdam thanks to this wonderfull boutique hotel. We got also some really private room on the street. Will come back for sure

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numansdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went by boat from Loosdrecht to Amsterdam and stayed voor one night. We could park our boat just in front of the Hotel, from our room we had a view on our boat and of cours the canals.
The hotelpeople were very hospitable and breakfast was very good.
One point of attention is the fact that the water during showering wasn't warm enough, somtimes cold.
I would go here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed only one night but wished it had been longer. We could not have asked for a warmer welcome from all the staff and the help up the very steep stairs with the bags! Our room was small but had lovely big windows overlooking the canal. The location was perfect and in easy walking distance to the big museums, shopping and many restaurants, as well as the trams and canal buses. Breakfast was fantastic and we would stay again. My 9 year old said that he wanted stay there again if we went back to Amsterdam! Thank you to all at the Boutique Hotel View

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view. Small rooms are very small, so if that bothers you pay the extra fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights prior to our cruise. We wanted somewhere in a good location which wasn't too expensive, was small and had character, and the Boutique Hotel View was perfect. As recommended by the owner, we caught the 197 bus from the airport for 4 euro. Getting our bags on the bus was easy, the trip took 30 minutes, and then a 2-3 minute walk at the end to the hotel.We had booked a small canal view room, but I would say it's the smallest hotel room we've ever seen. Just a small double bed up against the side wall, 1 chair and a dressing table. It was on the 2nd floor and the 2 female staffers carried our large bags up the 2 flights. The stairs circle around and are very narrow and steep. The women had no trouble carrying them up. We would have found it impossible with my bad back.. Upon seeing the room and thinking, where are we going to put our suitcases, the owner said we could have a larger room on the 3rd and top floor (Room 303). It didn't have the large window as in room 204, but had a combined bath/shower and plenty of room for our bags, so we gratefully accepted the free upgrade.The bed was 2 singles pushed together which made for a very comfortable nights sleep. The room had a pedestal fan which we didn't need, but I would imagine in very hot weather it would be. As in most of Europe, there was no tea and coffee in the room, but available any time in the breakfast room for 1.50. Breakfast was excellent value for 10 euro. It consisted of a small buffet, tea and coffee and eggs or pancakes made to order. The pancakes in particular were delicious.The room and hotel were spotless, service excellent, free computer and wifi. They even booked and printed our Anne Frank tickets for us. If you want a big American style hotel with lots of facilities, stay elsewhere, but if you'd like to stay in a 100 year old building, you can't go wrong with this friendly and spotless hotel. I'd only steer clear if you were elderly or had trouble with stairs (we're 58 and 62 and managed easily).

Room Tip: I'd not recommend one of the smaller rooms as they really are tiny, but you may be lucky with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was quite small, although it was clean and well kept. We did see a larger room that was very spacious and . The smaller one was more in our price range. The staff was also very nice. It was in a nice location right near a canal and the bus stop. The breakfast served in the morning was well worth it. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Amsterdam is expensive and finding a hotel that will not break the bank is a challenge. That said, Boutique Hotel View is not cheap, but is much better value than so many other hotels. Location is very good - everything you want to do and see is walkable - and it is great to walk alongside a different canal each day to take in the architecture and ambiance of the old city.
The lady who owns the hotel and her staff were very good and the breakfast was excellent.
Our "small double" was very small indeed - our 3 night stay would have been more comfortable in one of the larger rooms. Bathroom too was very small. The steep narrow staircase matched the small room - not surprising given the narrow design of the old building - a challenge to get bags up to your room, but help from the staff was at hand. Repairs being done to the building during our stay marred the pleasure and the canal view. Be aware that there is no air conditioning. On balance, it is still a good hotel and recommended.

Room Tip: The small rooms are very small indeed - worth paying more for a larger room if staying for more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.