We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel, friendly staff, and excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great modern hotel, friendly staff, and excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were looking for something that was a bit modern but still affordable and this hotel is just that. Staff were really friendly, there was always someone there to give us directions and advice. The location couldn't be better. Everything is just a 15 minute walk away, Dam Square, Central Station, Red Light District, Ann Frank House, shopping, nightlife, there's also a tram stop near the hotel if you don't feel like walking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    191
    48
    19
    7
See reviews for
99
367
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here while visiting my sister, such a warm greeting from a lovely and helpful hostess and her two gorgeous cats! Room was immaculate, modern and boutique-like. slightly too hot thanks to no air conditioning, but two large fans were supplied and so the room was cool when they started to take effect. Delicious breakfast with made to order pancakes served by a hunky waiter. Highly recommend for the over and above levels of service :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I agree with most reviewers that this hotel provides great service. They're incredibly friendly and quite helpful but that's where the benefits of this hotel ends.

I booked this hotel as a last minute decision to visit Amsterdam on my annual trip to Europe. As all the other preferred hotels were booked out, I decided to give this hotel a try given all the positive reviews here. The photos on their website looked decent enough and given the cheap rates, I went ahead with low expectations.

Unfortunately, my expectations were not low enough. The canal in front of the hotel smelled and the street did not look particularly inviting. The rooms were up this incredibly steep stairs (lucky we had help with our luggage, again, I must praise the service as it is well deserved) and were very dimly lit. I honestly couldn't tell if it was clean or not so I just hoped for the best. The view I got from my room was of a line of rubbish bins so needless to say, I did not open the windows to enjoy my view.

The entire room also had a overbearing smell of pot. I understand that's what Amsterdam is all about but I didn't need to be reminded of it when I'm trying to sleep.

I think the worst part of the room was the bathroom. It did not have a proper shower area so water would spill all over the floor and onto the toilet. It was also so small that you couldn't really turn around without knocking something. Luckily I was only there for 1 night, this is definitely not suitable for a longer stay.

Verdict: If you're 18, backpacking through Europe then this place is fine. For anyone else, I recommend get in early to book a proper hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Exellent hotel close to Leidseplein, very nice rooms and clean. Breakfast okay, not very extensive. I know Amsterdam is expensive, so is this hotel, but good value for money compared to other hotels. No elevator. Very friendly staff, recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a WONDERFUL Time we had in Amsterdam and the BOUTIQUE HOTEL VIEW was a big part of it. The location, just off LEIDSESTRAAT is a fun place with lots to do. Restuarants pubs, ice cream, and a delicious bakery just up the street at PRINSENGRACHT was a hit.
The staff is superb at the BOUTIQUE HOTEL VIEW. They went out of their way to accomodate every request and then some. Very friendly, always a smile and we felt they sincerely were eager to lend a hand.
We stayed in the small canal view room and small it was. We compared it to a large cruise ship cabin, but when in Europe, and they say it's small, we were not surprised. It was very nicely appointed and clean, always fresh towels and soap and vacuumed. There is so much to see and do in Amsterdam, we knew we weren't going to be in the room much anyway. THE BIG SURPRISE WAS I EXPECTED TO MAYBE HAVE TO STRAIN TO ACTUALLY SEE THE CANAL, BUT NO.... WE HAD A GREAT VIEW OUT THE WINDOW AND SAT ON THE END OF THE BED SOAKING IT ALL IN.
THEN THERE IS THE BREAKFAST. ONE OF THE CHARMING LADIES MAKES WONDERFUL PANCAKES OR OMLETTES OR BOTH AND KEEPS ASKING WHAT ELSE YOU WOULD LIKE IN THEM. IF YOU CAN'T THINK OF ANYTHING ELSE SHE STARTS OFFERING DELIGHTFUL OPTIONS.
WE LOVED OUR STAY AND WOULD DO THE SMALL CANAL VIEW AGAIN, BUT HEY, SLURGE AND GET THE DELUXE CANAL VIEW ROOM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights 23/24 July as we were going to a gig at The Paradiso (only a 5 minute walk from the hotel). We were made to feel so welcome from the minute we walked in the door.
Eric was really helpful in giving us tips on where the 'locals' go, and we had chats about bands/music, along with having a laugh about our English ways! Natalie was so chilled and a great hostess. She has a hotel to be proud of. Not just because of it's location, but because the rooms are lovely, it has a relaxed atmosphere and the breakfasts are great.
Our room was on the third floor (which was up three flights of steep/narrow stairs) and Natalie carried our very heavy bag with the greatest of ease, and wasn't out of breath when she got there!?
The hotel is a great place to stay if you want somewhere near to all the action, but just tucked away enough to be quiet. We felt as though we had stayed with really good friends in their house.
When we return to Amsterdam, we will be booking to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.