We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My mum booked this hotel as a suprise for our honeymoon and she said she booked it on merit of other peoples reviews. I just wanted to write and say that this is a lovely little hotel on the canal bank. Natalie is amazing and hilarious! we arrived early after the overnight ferry and as she made us feel so at ease and welcome! When our room was ready (upgraded) she helped us with our bags - putting my hubby to shame with her lifting skills!

The room was lovely, spacious and beautifully decorated and the bed (yes it is two pushed together) was so comfy we missed breakfast! The shower curtain is a little close but its a shower at the end of the day.

Its just a short walk to the parks and back into Amsterdam. We walked to and from the train station which took us about 40mins at a leisurely pace.

As said by everyone the stairs are very steep and the steps are narrow and there are a lot of them so be prepared.

Thank you Natalie for being so friendly and helpful even though we did not see much of you at all! I hope you are enjoing your new chair - ask Natalie about the spool chair it is lots of fun!

Pippa & Russ Bradbury

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    191
    48
    19
    7
See reviews for
99
367
37
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I spent the first two nights of our honeymoon at this hotel and we were very pleased. We arrived extremely jet lagged and before the check in time but Natalie made sure we sat down and relaxed with some coffee before ushering us into our room (early and ugraded!). The stairs are narrow and steep (no elevator) but if you plan to travel is Europe get used to it. Was no problem for us as we had backpacks but Natalie grabbed mine and hauled it up to the top floor! Breakfast was very nice as well with a good assortment of traditional Dutch meats, cheeses, and breads in addition to an omlet or pancake of your choice. The location is good as we wanted something a little quieter and it is off the main road by a couple of blocks. Rooms are dated but comfortable and pretty standard for the price. We walked to the museums and the Vondelpark and the tram stop is very close also. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Budget rooms are VERY small so see if you can get an upgrade unless traveling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

After much research, my husband and I decided to stay at the Boutique Hotel View. We stayed in the portion that is down the street from the "lobby". The room was on the main floor and it was fairly large. I loved the decor in the room, it's simple but very trendy. The only two items that we were not too keen on were: 1. The bed, it was two twin beds pushed together into a queen sized. 2. The bathroom, the shower is not enclosed so the water goes everywhere in the bathroom. However, they do come and clean up the room quite quickly. On a side note, the hotel is located across from a bar, which is very nice - especially in the downstairs. With that being said, bar close must be 3AM because it was pretty noisy every morning around 3AM outside. Since we were on the main floor, we could also hear everyone going up and down the steps. The staff is very friendly and willing to help out with any questions you may have. We were able to take a bus from the train station to the hotel, which dropped us off fairly close to the hotel. We took the bus to the airport and that took about 35 minutes. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent some time looking for an Amsterdam hotel with good reviews in this particular area (had friends staying nearby), this one looked great. Looking through the reviews and photos after returning from the trip I can see why people would be happy, but if you end up with a small double room I fear you may be disappointed for the price.

My room was tiny, not much bigger than the double bed within it. Certainly not a room that you'll be able to relax in. The bed was ok, although the mattress needed replacing and had been supplemented by double layers of blankets by the staff.

Nice hotel, shame about my room.

Room Tip: Avoid the small double rooms unless you can get a substantial discount. Its good for sleeping, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location was perfect, we stayed in a deluxe double room which was large and clean, it had a comfy sofa and had a lovely comfortable bed. The view was beautiful overlooking the canal, we could open the large windows wide which felt like we almost had a balcony. Nathalie was very welcoming, friendly and really helpful as were all the staff. The feel of the hotel was very relaxed and pleasant. The bathroom was small but adequate. It was unbelievably easy to get to, we caught the No.197 bus right outside the airport which arrive approx every 15 mins and took just 20 mins costing just 4 euros and then literally a few mins walk to the hotel and of course the same getting back to the airport, which was great as we could relax and enjoy our last day. The area of Leidesplein is brilliant with plenty bars restaurants to choose from and it a pleasant easy walk into the centre of amsterdam and other attractions.This hotel was lovely and enhanced our first experience of amsterdam! We would definately recommend it and use it again, much nicer than staying right in the centre of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Preferably choose a deluxe double rather than the much smaller double rooms and the room at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very nice and welcoming hotel and B&B.
Welcoming because the staff and Nathalie the owner really try to make you feel comfortable and at home. It comes natural as they are very charming, easy going and open hearted (plus dog and cat ad the extra sweet touch).
I stayed for four nights at the B&B just a few doors from the hotel. The room was spacious, nicely decorated (great colour) and with a big modern bathroom attached and i was allowed to keep my bicycle inside (thanks for that).
It is also perfectly situated just about 2 minutes walking distance from Leidseplein and in walking distance from most of the sight seeing sites in A'dam. I only can recommend this sweet, mellow place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Of all the places we stayed during our European holiday this was by far our best experience. We had a double deluxe room which was very spacious, clean and comfortable, bathroom was slightly on the small side but that didn't bother us all. Nathalie & her staff were so welcoming & very helpful. The hotel's location was perfect, from the airport we took the 197 bus to Leidseplein stop which only took around 20 mins and then walked for about 3 mins to the hotel, convenient when you are travelling with lots of luggage! There's a variety of restaurants & bars to choose from nearby all serving great food for all budgets. We had breakfast everyday at the hotel as we enjoyed the pancakes so much! I strongly believe that our wonderful experience in Amsterdam was mostly due to the fact that the service we received at this little hotel was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.