We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, Amsterdam 1017PM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“very friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

we were looking for a hotel for one night in Amsterdam and stayed with our two kids at the Boutique Hotel View. Customer service was great, when I booked a triple bed room, Natalie got back to me saying that it was cheaper to get a double, as it has a sofa that can be used as a bed, which saved us some money. She also emailed me lots of information on parking in Amsterdam (we opted for 8€ P+R a bit futher out from the centre).
The location is fantastic, right in the centre, by the canals and near the park but pretty quiet. When the staff saw that we arrived with 2 small children (2 years and 7 months), they swapped our room, so we didn't have to climb up on the 3rd floor- which was very appreciated. The room was great, ideal for a short stay. We were very lucky having a balcony and the hotel also provided a fan as there was a heatwave during our stay. Breakfast was a typical dutch affair and available for €10, which we opted for as we just wanted to eat in the hotel.
When we arrived back in Scotland, I got an email from the hotel, saying that the cleaner found a toy that we left behind and wanted to verify the address to make sure it would be sent to the right place- that's what I call super customer service (note: we stayed in a hotel in Scotland for two nights this year and left behind two items...I know, I know we should probably check better before we leave- and that hotel hotel charged us 6£ for postage and didn't find one of the items, so that gesture from the Boutique Hotel View was extra apreciated!!!).
I can really recommend the hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: room 203 has a balcony with a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    147
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
83
270
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a great time staying at the hotel, with very nice staff members, personal service and very pleasent rooms. The staff at the hotel were very helpfull and friendly and were avialable at all times. Benny's pankcakes were the best we ate in Amsterdam and Natalee the manager was exceptionally helpfull and kind. The rooms were cleand every day by Ana. The location is perfect, just near Leidesplein and overlooking one of Amsterdam's canals. We highly recommend to stay at the Botique View Hotel.

Room Tip: Liaise with the hotel directly. If you need two rooms for the family, ask for the Blue and purple wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield,Mo.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just stayed there 1 night in August. Room 204 overlooking the canal. Unfortunately, Amsterday had a heat wave in the 90's that weekend and there is no air conditioning. Very, very hot. They did give us a fan and we had the windows opened all the time. The room was small, but okay for us as we were not in there much. They could use a better hair dryer. It was pretty pathetic. The staff was very helpful and took our large suitcases up and down the steep stairs for us. Couldn't have been nicer. Great location and easy walk to the Reiks Museum and many outdoor restaurants and bars. Also, close to the train line. We found a Peruvian restaurant over looking a canal and sat and enjoyed dinner and a few wines.

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out our room at the boats on the canal. Small, but worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Easy bus ride from the train station, no transfers. First we noticed that the building had secure access which was good. Also the reception was very friendly and helpful. First downfall is the steep staircase, and no lift. I think this is typical for canal houses though, and maybe it even ads to the charm! We were there one night. Wish we'd have just grabbed what we needed from our suitcases and left the bulk of our stuff with reception.

The small rooms are quite small even in the main building (we stayed in the main building, though there is another building which is the annex, based on reading other reviews). We were on the top floor and could see that our room was the smallest on the floor based on the fire escape floor plan. :) Again, perhaps this is charming? Cozy with your significant other(s)? If you need elbow room, I think you have to stay further from the canal area.

Our room, facing a courtyard, was very silent. No A/C, but cool enough at night at the peak of summer with the window open to catch the breeze.

We used a foreign credit card and got charged >8% over what the reservation (easytobook.com) stated. I am somewhat sure this is because they charged us the conversion from USD to Euro rather than just charging our card in Euros and letting our bank do the conversion. Check into this up front, and use the local currency so avoid this huge fee (either in charging, or with cash).

Location was excellent - the canal area is pretty compact and we had no trouble walking (unencumbered with suitcases) around the whole area.

Free Wifi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Couldn't think of a better location, close to everything, tram lines, 197 airport bus, park etc., but at the same time on a quiet spot. The team did everything to make us feel at home, the breakfast was great and the room was large and comfortable. Will deffinitely stay their again on my next trip to Amsterdam. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wonderful hotel in a great location. Within walking distance of all the hustle and bustle but far enough away to get some rest and relaxation. Our room choice couldn't have been better, it was large, comfortable, quiet at night, stylish and had a balcony with a canal view. We were greeted on our arrival with a smile and a cup of tea as we were so hot from our walk across town with our luggage. The staff were friendly, polite and couldn't do enough for us. I can highly recommend the pancakes for breakfast. Staff didn't rush us out of the door on our day of departure and allowed us until lunch time to leave which was great. We will definitely return, thank you Hotel View.

Room Tip: Room 203 comes highly recommended. There are stairs to climb to this room but it's well worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My friend darryl and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in may .It was in a great location near all transport links but we explored everywhere on foot because it was so central .Natalie was so welcoming and made us feel completely at home , so did the cats ! Breakfast pancakes made to order by Natalie in the morning were to die for -absolutely FAB ! Steep stairs to rooms but typical of amsterdam houses .Our room was very spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed. If we return to amsterdam we wouldn't consider anywhere else to stay. We were desparate to taste authentic dutch food and asked Natalie to recommend a restaurant ,she said it was hard to find an authentic one and offered to cook us a meal in her own home-thats service !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, Amsterdam 1017PM, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.