We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Natalie is the highlight. A great cook, friendly helpful service and willing to go out of her way to help. We felt taken care of, safe, well located, comfortable and would definitely come back and recommend this cute hotel to everyone.
Our request for a kettle was immediately addressed as was our need for a printer and a space for an adolescent visitor. They also gave great recommendations for meals, sights and routes. I have never had this service in a large 4 or 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: We had a quiet back room but the room with the balcony and view would be our first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    162
    38
    17
    6
See reviews for
90
297
30
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

A group of us stayed in this Hotel (Guest house) we were given double rooms as triple rooms.
Two beds joined together with a sofa bed as the third bed. With the third bed laid out there was not enough room to get to the toilet as you had to climb over the sofa bed. This would have also proved dangerous if we needed to get out of the room in an emergency. The toilet smelt like a urinal. We could not sleep with the noise outside. Although this did not seem to be an issue for the rest of our party who were at the back of the building.
The double room offered contained a bed against a wall with only enough room at the side of the bed for one person to walk. We were moved to a different room when we complained.
This accommodation was not commensurate with the price paid, and when we challenged the manager/owner she was very unhelpful, We had booked three triple rooms and got two doubles and a single and she insisted on charging us for accommodation that she admittedly could not provide.

On the positive side the beds were comfortable and clean. The decor was modern and the location was ideal. I would not recommend this accommodation you could stay at a better class of hotel for the price.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo,ND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My daughter and I were in Amsterdam for a week while I went to a medical conference. I wanted to stay in a location where my daughter could go to the museums while I was at my meeting. I couldn't have selected a better location. We were one block from the leidesplein, so plenty of restaurants, bars, shops, and dance clubs. We were on the tram line which made city travel easy. The hotel is clean and contemporary. Located on one of the canals, this picturesque hotel is a delight. Natalie, the owner, adeptly manages the reception desk AND makes breakfast. She is a wealth of information on the local spots and made our stay a lot of fun. We would definitely stay there if we visit again!

Room Tip: Just tell Natalie what you would like, close to the street, a good view, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011 via mobile

I was on a budget (problems with credit cards abroad), and Natalie really helped me with deciding where I should visit. As a lone traveller, the staff made me feel so at home. Mylarge room
Overlooked the canal in what I consider the best district.
Free Wifi (a godsend) and fared so much better than the 5 star hotel I was booked into for the remainder of my stay. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Just back from a 4 night stay in this lovely hotel off the Leidse Plein. Great central location means it's easy to walk everywhere, but trams stop just around the corner. The 197 bus from Schiphol saves on the taxi fare too! We - a family of two adults and 16 year old- stayed in a 3 person room with twin beds and a comfortable fold down sofa bed. The room was spacious and clean, and the ensuite, although very compact, was fine for our needs with shampoos and shower gels provided. The owner Natalie has a warm and humorous personality and thrives on multi-tasking- she can make apple pancakes, eggs and bacon, set tables, answer the phone and still manage to chat to her guests all at the same time! Breakfasts are highly recommended, great value, and set us up for days of exploring the city by foot and bike. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Boutique Hotel View, which manages to be centrally located but still removed from Amsterdam's tourist hoardes. We had the Princess Room, with a small balcony overlooking the canal. Owner Nathalie did everything she could to make us comfortable, including carrying our luggage up three flights of stairs and whipping up great homemade pancakes in the morning. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Boutique Hotel View is a fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam. Natalie, the manager, is very friendly, makes the best pancakes and omelettes and is always ready to help if needed. Also her staff is kind, competent and the atmosphere in the hotel is agreable and familiar. The rooms are very clean, convenient and - although it's in the heart of the city - silent. We can just recommend the hotel to anyone and see no negative points.
Oliver Martin, Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.