We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Upon reading other great reviews, we decided to book this hotel for our 2 night stay in Amsterdam. We were not disappointed!

After a bad experience from unfriendly Parisians, Amsterdam was a definitely a refreshing change (with the exception of Maurya Indian Restaurant - Don't go there!) Although we arrived 2 hours early, management was kind enough to let us check in and offered us refreshments as we waited for housekeeping to finish. They also helped carry my 50lbs worth of luggage up 2 flights of narrow stairs, free of charge, there was no way I would've made it up there by myself lol..

Room- We took other reviewer's advice and for a little more, booked a deluxe canal view double room. Decorated in pink (my fave!) and brown, it was such a cute and spacious room! The view was gorgeous, that and on top of the hospitality made this hotel extremely romantic and cozy.

The room was very clean. The sheets and towels were all fresh. The bathroom was simple. Although the bed was a little dusty but a lot of buildings in Amsterdam are older and the opportunity to stay in the cute Dutch buildings is an experience by itself. Overall, the room was very comfortable to stay in.

Like another reviewer said, the service was first class! The owner, Natalie (?), made us feel right at home, but we still had our privacy. Breakfast is served until 11am in the morning, for late-risers like us, it was really nice to be able to roll out of bed and walk down the stairs for made-to-order scrambled eggs! For 10euros, you get eggs of your choice, baguettes, toast, an assorted variety of fruit, cheese, sliced meat, coffee, juice, milk, and yogurt.

The hotel is in a great location, you can literally walk everywhere and yes to the Red Light District or just hop on a tram right outside the hotel. (I would NOT wear heels though, the cobblestones will destroy your poor feet.)

Overall, the hotel is safe, clean, romantic, great canal view, centrally located, good genuine service, decently priced, and just overall pretty awesome. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: for a little more, get the Deluxe Canal View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    173
    39
    18
    6
See reviews for
93
314
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 via mobile

Chose this hotel as not many apartments are available. I wanted something clean, close to the town centre, but not on a main road with too much noise. The staff were extremely friendly & wished my husband a Happy Birthday (I requested a room with a view for a birthday surprise).

Negatives: 3 flights of very steep stairs to get to our room. We are reasonably fit, so not a problem for us, but if you have an injury or are unfit, request the 1st floor only.

The top floor can get very hot (not sure about the others). Windows can open & this relieves the problem, but if facing the street you need to close them at night due to
street noise - so bit of a catch 22.

Breakfast was good & cooked for you by request as well as continental options available (breakfast costs extra).

Oh, the beds are 2 singles pushed together, but they were pretty comfy & once your eyes are closed you don't know the difference

Overall, happy

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

we had some beautiful days with the whole family ( 5 persons) we loved our hotel, the nice owners and the charming building in the middle of amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

So I looked literally for weeks to try and find a small, reasonably priced place on the canal in Amsterdam. In the end, I finally decided on Boutique Hotel View. I chose it because of the reviews and proximity to Leidseplein and various tram connections.

To be honest, we experienced one of the strangest moments out of all our travels during check in. Upon arrival, we noticed this sketchy guy lingering outside the hotel. We went inside, and he followed and he went to his room. When the hotel cleaner came down, they were complaining there was blood and weed all over the hotel room and the strange guest was to leave immediately. There was a small altercation since the guest seemed pretty wasted and agressive but he eventually left. The hotel staff apologized for the noise and repeatedly asked if they could do anything for us while we waited. They helped us get our things to our room after the strange guest had left and gave instructions on internet usage etc. Please don't form a bad impression of this hotel because of our experience. I am including it to show the hotel staff handled it perfectly by always were asking if we were OK. We did not not once feel as if we were in danger. Some people travel to Amsterdam thinking they can smoke weed, drink anywhere and do whatever they want. Because the hotel would not tolerate such behaviour and obvious use of drugs speaks volumes about the type of establishment they run.

The hotel is sweet on the outside, very much what anyone would expect in Amsterdam. It's right on the canal and the lobby/breakfast/check in area is quite lovely, albeit small.

Our room was small, I mean really tiny. I've travelled all over the world including many places in Europe but this is the smallest ever. The decor was brown and bright pink, but I liked it. There was a double bed, a small desk and a closet for hanging clothes. There was also a place to put your suitcase. With all this laid out, there really was no walking around space. The wall opposite the bed was literally 2 feet away. Although small, we did not mind it and managed to settle in. The bathroom was ok, just a walk-in shower with a curtain and the floor tended to get wet while showering. There was free wifi, which was great and appreciated.

Hotel location was excellent, right on the canal with a nice view. There was some construction going on in the area while there and the noise was tolerable. It was unfortunate to see a portable toilet on the road every time you looked out the window but not the end of the world. Hotel was a 3 min walk to Leidseplein square with many restaurants, shopping and bars. The tram connections are amazing from Leidseplein and you can pretty much get anywhere from there. I would recommend getting a tram pass to cover the amount of days you're in Amsterdam. The tram personnel monitor whether you are passing your cards when entering and exiting the tram and will confront you if they don't see you swipe accordingly. We got the tram everywhere and adored the hotel location for this very reason.

Breakfast was great and tailored to the small amount of people staying in the hotel. It was not a massive spread but there was always enough each time we went downstairs. The view over the canal while eating was lovely. Breakfast included fresh croissants, breads, meat, cheese, yogurt, fruits and cereal. It's unfortunate the breakfast is 10 euro extra but we didn't mind paying and appreciated the convenience. In the end we only had to pay for 2 mornings of breakfast. The hotel covered the rest given our strange check in experience. We appreciated this very much; a nice gesture on their side.

Hotel stairs are steep so keep this in mind if you have mobility issues or large suitcases. The staff will help you however. The stairs are quite typical of Amsterdam homes and I liked them.

It really is a nice hotel and I'm glad to see it getting more reviews, and good ones at that. I forget his name, but the front desk guy was great in chatting with us, offering us suggestions on where to eat and answering our questions on Dutch way of life.

Give this place a try. It's local, small, convenient and well worth it.

Room Tip: A large room with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueView, General Manager at Boutique Hotel View, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Many thanks for your great feedback.

The Boutique Hotel View staff is fully trained regarding health, safety and fire procedures.
When unwanted situations occur as mentioned in your review, we always judge the situation and try to operate in a highly professional way.

We are looking forward to welcome you as our guest again in the future.

With Kind Regards,

Udo Schipper
General Manager
Boutique Hotel View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

The hotel is in a top spot, walking distance to key areas. Rooms are well laid out and have all requisite amenities. The central stair case is very noisy as it squeaks very loudly so you hear everyone get home or leave of a morning. There was also early morning construction going on (in fact drills etc were left in the walkways to be stepped over with luggage. I mention this casually to the front desk when I checked out and was surprised to be told that I was wrong and I wasnt noisy - guess it was in my head... I will not return

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueView, General Manager at Boutique Hotel View, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Many thanks for the positive feedback regarding Boutique Hotel View, we really appreciate it when a guest takes the time to write a review about our beautiful Hotel.

In the period of your stay we indeed were busy with the construction of a new open kitchen.
Because we are a Hotel, the construction company was instructed that they can start in the morning from 11 o’clock.

I’m really sorry that you still experienced some inconveniences regarding noise, but I hope you understand that we did everything in our power, to make the arrangements that our appreciated guests had the least inconvenience regarding the placement of the open kitchen.

I really hope that we can welcome you as our guest in the future.

With kind Regards,

Udo Schipper
General Manager
Boutique Hotel View
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I stayed at your lovely hotel for 4 nights with my husband Rob from 26/03/2011. We had a great time - the hotel was comfortable and Natalie your breakfasts were fantastic, especially the eggs cooked to order. The room we stayed in was spacious and quiet. The hotel was perfectly situated and we could almost walk to everywhere we wanted. Thank you for being so helpful. Hope your new kitchen is taking shape. We will come back one day.

Room Tip: book a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We arrived and we were greeted with a very friendly smile and warm welcome by the owner. Made to feel at home immediately!
Very modern, cosmo feel nothing was to much! Great location and would definatley recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueView, General Manager at Boutique Hotel View, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for leaving your kind review on Tripadvisor.
We hope to Welcome you back soon!
Greetings from Amsterdam. Udo & Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.