We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal small hotel, great location and charming host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel View

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel View
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ideal small hotel, great location and charming host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

A highly recommended hotel for a short stay. We stayed as a group of 7 friends and found the location great, the rooms beautifully clean and the owner/manager very charming and helpful. Try her special omelettes for breakfast! The small doubles are quite small; the large double (OK for 3) being more comfortable. Stairs are steep as this is an authentic Amsterdam canalside house. All in all we had a great time and would certainly return to this hotel in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    364
    166
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
91
303
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

The hotel is well positioned, close to Leidseplein and the night-life. We didn't use tram; we took the bus only to go to the airport (and the bus stop is near to the hotel too). The room was little but comfortable and the receptionist was very kind and helpful with us. We recommend it for a few days stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great hotel - just returned from my second visit there and will stay there again on my next trip to Amsterdam. It is in an excellent central location and yet isn't noisy. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is good. Very clean. Lovely cozy, comfy beds. I would advise to book a delux room though as the standard rooms are on the small side and can get a little claustraphobic. The rooms with canal view are particularly nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights over Valentines and had a wonderful time,great location and the room was also very good but the service from the hotel really was 1st class,when we returned home i discovered that i had left a t-shirt in my room,i emailed the hotel and they said they would return my t-shirt & pay for the postage!

So overall a great hotel,with a great breakfast at a great price!!!

Would definetely recommend!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueView, General Manager at Boutique Hotel View, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your time at boutique hotel View and would like to thank you for leaving your complimentary review on Tripadvisor
We Look forward to having you as a guest again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

This lovely hotel is situated in a quiet area but right on the doorstep of the hustle and bustle. We loved it! We had a luxury double with a 'garden view', but this was mainly brick wall so book a canal view if you want a pleasant vista. The room was stylish with really comfy beds, and the service was fab. And no there isn't a bar but there's a counter full of all sorts of drinks you can buy anytime. This is a 2* B&B so know what you're booking! Breakfast is okay but you can buy nicer elsewhere. All in all a fab stay though and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Stayed here for my birthday weekend and had the most fantastic time.
Situated overlooking a canal a short stroll from the lively Leidseplein area and the Rijksmuseum it was no hassle to wander all around the main 'canal loop' from here.
Originally we booked a 'small double room, canal view', and after one night were offered a free upgrade to a much larger room with en-suite, with a wonderful view, because, as the delightful owner Natalia said....'it's for your birthday!!!'.
We hadn't booked breakfast but it looked and smelled great. We have stayed in many places in Amsterdam but this is the nicest yet. In fact we have already decided to stay here next time and hopefully every time we visit providing we can be accommodated of course!!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

Just returned from 3 days in Amsterdam with my beloved. You'd be hard pressed to find a better located place to stay, smack in the middle of everything. So easy to get there from Centraal Station, which in turn is so easy to get to from the airport.
Situated about 100m from the main square at Leidseplein which has so much going on at any hour, on any day of the year. In easy walking distance from The Dam square and all major attractions, theatres, bars, eateries and the wonderfully intimate jazz club, Alto.
The hotel is in a typical Dutch canal side building which means narrow and tall. The hotel has just been completely refurbished to very high standard. As pointed out in other reviews the stairs are akin to scaling the North Face of the Eiger. Clamp-ons optional. The room we had, 101, was clean, tidy, well made up every day, modern fitments but, and a big but, very cramped. We had a glimpse into the next door room, 102 and it was quite vast, so I'd suggest you check when you book as to what you are getting. We were invited to a party in the hotel the first night we arrived and were greeted as friends and shown the utmost hospitality by the owners. On the subject of which the owner/manager was the most incredibly helpful, generous and kind person. I cant think how she could of done any more to make the stay better.
I would of been quite happy to mark this as 5 for all aspects but the size of this particular room (101) was a let down, as was the view of every-ones back yard. The rooms facing the front are right on the canal front so you'll have a great view, maybe a better view would of made up for our small room? All in all, its a great place in a great location in a great city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel View

Address: Leidsekade 77, 1017PM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boutique Hotel View 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique Hotel View is a boutique hotel with contemporary styling that is wonderfully nestled within an historic Amsterdam canal house. From the hotel you have a stunning view of the beautiful canals of Amsterdam. The Boutique Hotel View is designed around our guests. It is in the cultural heart of the city, on the Leidsekade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boutique Hotel View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.