We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Inn old Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn old Amsterdam
Nieuwmarkt 5, Amsterdam 1011 JP, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A rare find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Inn Old Amsterdam is a fantastic place to stay--a 'hidden gem' if there ever was one. Daniel is a gracious and helpful host and I would also recommend a coffee or meal in his wonderful 'Il Sogno' restaurant located just around the corner. The room is comfortable and cute, has plenty of space and lots of little home comforts. The location is great--not too touristy but close enough to walk to most major attractions. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
52
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Inn Old Amsterdam is the perfect place to stay in this city. It's central to just about everything and easy tram rides from everything else. Daniel was an amazing host... he went above and beyond expectations to make our stay memorable. This is not for people who prefer the Courtyard Marriot or Hilton Garden Inn; but if you want affordable, comfortable, truly local accommodations and hosts who care about you, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We loved staying here but there are a couple of caveats people should know. First, the stairs are very narrow up to the apt. Second, there are high ladders to the bedroom loft in the apt, so older people would not be able to handle it. But it is lovely, and Niewmarkt is a rather exciting place to stay. It's between the Red Light District and Chinatown, but is quite safe. There is a subway stop right there, and many nice cafes. It seems like it's going to be noisy, but we were able to sleep very well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We love this beautiful studio :)
we've been there for two days...Daniel it was a person very kindly :) he can help you for everything and he leave you your privacy !!!

we will go back soon there and try his pizza!! and visit better Amsterdam for more days!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

yes yes this was a wonderfull weekend @ inn old nice vieuw on the market while i was having a excellent breakfast, everything is very clean and the beds are really comfortabel, daniel the owner is very friendly and he will answer all your questions what you can do in Amsterdam our what there is to do @ that moment, hope too go back soon, thnx daniel greetings Ron :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic time, we were met by ron, who showed us to our b and b. He was pleasant and helpful. The b & b was really smart and comfortable, it met all our needs. Even giving us the opportunity to save money by buying in our food. Everything is local supermarket, cafe's coffee shops n bars. It was really nice to have somewhere that felt like home to return to after the hustle and bustle of amsterdam. No one bothered us throughout our whole stay, however we had a contact number if we needed help. I would recommend this to families n friends. Thank you we had a wonderful stay, and will mosyt definatley b returning

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flying Fish Cove, null, Christmas Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Kind and welcoming host, charming and neat room, ideally situated in the heart of old a'dam at the lively square Nieuwmarkt. Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, fresh breakfast buffet upstairs, all necessary facilities in the room.

Room Tip: For those who have a very light sleep earplugs recommendable, as a bar is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, Amsterdam 1011 JP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Inn old Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn old Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.