We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Inn old Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn old Amsterdam
Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This B&B was close to the train station and an easy walk to all places we were wanting to visit while in Amsterdam. The bar below the room did not impact our stay at all. We had a room at the front of the building and shared a bathroom with the hosts...which we were a bit concerned would be uncomfortable but ended up not being a problem at all! The breakfast was self serving...you take your dishes from your room and load up your plates, and then eat in your room and do your own dishes. The breakfast wasn't always stocked with what we needed, however. The first morning it was great, the second morning there was no milk left for our muesli, as well as no meat or juice left. Other than that everything was wonderful. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable, and robes were provided which was nice for going to and from the bathroom. The host was extremely helpful and pleasant as well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    23
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
53
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Inn Old was a great surprise! Very cozy, big room. Even the bathroom, wich we had to share with the owners, was ok, very clean. The breakfast, wich is served in the room, was delicious. Our room was in the front side of the building, so it was really noisy on the weekend... I think it's the only problem, but if you take some drinks in one of the good pubs nearby you won't have problems to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Inn Old Amsterdam last month. We had reservations for three nights, but a few days before our arrival Daniel contacted me about a mix-up with the booking - he had double-booked our first night so it wasn't available for us. While this was disappointing, he did find us alternate lodging for the night, and he did what he could to make the transition as smooth as possible for us (made the reservation for us at the other place; let us leave our luggage with him and he transferred it over there for us since it was outside the city center; covered the difference in room price; etc).

I was somewhat disappointed with the room though. We had reserved the upstairs studio which, according to the website, has a great view of the Waag and Nieuwmarkt Square, with lounging divans, etc. Well guess what... there are TWO studios upstairs (no mention of this on the website, I just double-checked) and we got the back one with a boring view of rooftops, and a super low ceiling over the bed. Not the end of the world, but false advertising leaves a very bad taste in my mouth. The shower in this room was funky, it was very open (make sure you're VERY comfortable with your roommate!) and at the top of the spiral staircase, with only a 3-foot wall separating the shower from the stairs... so needless to say the stairs got rather wet from the spray, making them quite slippery. A shower curtain is definitely in order here.

As for breakfast, I'm not sure if I missed it? I was told it would be put out in the morning but I never saw anything put out other than the yogurts that were always in the shared fridge. I was up and out by 9:00 AM or so each morning which doesn't seem unreasonably early to me, but maybe that was too early for their breakfast. As for the egg boiler mentioned in other reviews, it was not to be found in this back studio, and the coffee maker was very odd so there was no hope of us working it (the info in the room said it would be explained upon check-in, but it hadn't been). We ended up buying breakfast out each morning which was alright, just know that you may have to do the same.

On the positive side, the Inn's location was great, right on the Nieuwmarkt Square which hosted a different market each morning, several bars/cafes right there, less than a 10 minute walk from Central Station, walking distance to everything. The studio was spacious and the bed was great, one nice big bed instead of two singles pushed together, and quite firm. And Daniel and Nikki were very gracious hosts. I just wish the second studio had been explained, and that the booking mistake hadn't happened.

Room Tip: If you pick "the" studio, ask if it's the front one or the back one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Inn old Amsterdam. Nikki and Daniel are more than helpful with tips and problem solving and certainly not intrusive. The relaxed atmosphere fits perfectly with the Amsterdam way of life. We really enjoyed putting together our little breakfast and having it in the room. The selection of cheeses is lecker lecker! Everything you need is there and you can set your own schedule...eat and sleep when you want. And you really can walk everywhere from this location.
Yes, the stairs are narrow, like in every original house from the 15th or 16th century in Amsterdam. Duh, this is history, isn't it? If you're that fat then stay in the InterConti.
And what about the club(s) downstairs with live music and the great view of the square with it's daily markets and events? If you're going to Amsterdam for a "quiet, quaint" vacation, think twice. We loved the excitement and, after crawling into bed afer 2 or 3 each night, slept like babies with our earplugs and the little room fan purring in the background.
This is the "Inn" place to be! An added bonus would be the pizza and a bottle of fine Italian wine for a nice price at Daniel & Nikki's Italian Concept store around the corner.

Room Tip: There's a room on the backside that's probably quietest...but not with the great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

A stylish B&B, with a central location. We stayed for two nights and found the atmosphere warm and friendly. The room was well equipped with everything we needed, including special touches like bathrobes, guidebooks, and electricity convertors. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend stay at the Inn Old Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Inn Old Amsterdam is in a fantastic location but we probably wouldn't stay there again. Yes, there is a noisy pub downstairs but the noise did not go on very late and we had no trouble falling asleep. We've been all over Europe and I think the Inn's staircase (which you must climb to reach reception) is one of the narrowest, rickety sets I've ever climbed. The bathroom leaves much to be desired... there is nothing separating the floor of the shower from the toilet area mere inches away. I know this is sometimes normal in Europe but this was one of the least pleasing setups I've experienced. Breakfast was pretty much non-existant... there was some bread, stroopwafels and juice set out... There were eggs with a note that said our room had an egg boiler in the pantry. The egg boiler looked to be about 25 years old and was broken. I'm sure there are probably better inns and small hotels (which I prefer over big-box type places in Europe) in good areas for a similar price. It just wasn't that great... and I rarely give negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Inn Old Amsterdam was the perfect accomdation for our couple weekend.

Right from the booking I was very impressed, Daniel was very helpful and had great communication with the booking, payments, directions and was helpful to allow us early check in :)

Very warm, friendly welcome when we arrived. The room was everything we needed, the size and facilities were perfect, it was clean, warm and well decorated.

It is a great value for money and it is so close to tourists attractions, museums etc. but far away enough from the noise. A short walk from station and Daniel was very helpful with directions - Perfect location especially when on a short weekend visit!

We are looking to return here again.

A small note for improvement could be the breakfast, could do with a little more, or a better selection, but what was available was fresh and healthy.

Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Inn old Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn old Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.