We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect :) Thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn old Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Inn old Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn old Amsterdam
Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Perfect :) Thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Inn Old Amsterdam was the perfect accomdation for our couple weekend.

Right from the booking I was very impressed, Daniel was very helpful and had great communication with the booking, payments, directions and was helpful to allow us early check in :)

Very warm, friendly welcome when we arrived. The room was everything we needed, the size and facilities were perfect, it was clean, warm and well decorated.

It is a great value for money and it is so close to tourists attractions, museums etc. but far away enough from the noise. A short walk from station and Daniel was very helpful with directions - Perfect location especially when on a short weekend visit!

We are looking to return here again.

A small note for improvement could be the breakfast, could do with a little more, or a better selection, but what was available was fresh and healthy.

Thank you :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
52
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

On arrival I really liked this place, it is close to the centre of town, Centraal Station (& the red light district, FWIW). Warm welcome. Nicely decorated 14th century building. However, on the ground floor is the Cotton Club (a pub, open til 1am), the first floor has the room above the pub overlooking the square and the owners room at the back (you share the bathroom but this is ok, just be aware of it). The second has the two studio appartments, one also overlooking the square above the Club and the other above the owners room. We really liked staying here but for us the noise from the club kept us awake far later than we wanted after a big day. You need to be used to noise and/or comfortable with earplugs (or out til the pub closes) for me to recommend the room. Comments on the steep stairs are very valid, but the owner does offer to help with luggage. Breakfast is lots of cheeses, fruit, bread and crackers. Chocolates too ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Short walk from the station, great location and good base to explore Amsterdam. Nikki is a great host, very helpful and accommodating. We had a great time and will return for another stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Me, my girlfriend, cousin, mom and uncle were on May 2011 at Inn Old Amsterdam, and we have had a very good weekend. Room and studio were well-furnished and the beds are very confortable. Daniel and his girlfriend are nice and friendly persons. I suggest you to stay in the Hotel/B&B and to don't pay attenction to all comment about rumors in the square... (is very quiete to sleep in the apartment at the second floor). Cheers

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

granted, I have never stayed anywhere else... but still, I am convinced that this is the best! AMAZING location! On Nieuwmarket with many great bars and restaurants (Choa Phraya for Thai was delicious). in the city centre and just blocks from the red light district, but far enough away that you wouldn't know it if you didn't walk in that direction. Clean, comfortable with very friendly and helpful hosts. Would absolutely recommend it to a friend and will definitely stay here again when coming back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and son in the amazing studio room for 3 nights.
The location is perfect and the area offers many good places to have a lovely family diner. All is within walking distance.
The hosts, Daniel & Nikki, were very friendly and hepfull!

We will defintely come back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragança Paulista, Brasil
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Incredible location, wonderful, spacious and confortable room, the kindest host.
You can trust the website photos. The room is exactly as shown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn old Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn old Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwmarkt 5, 1011 JP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Old Amsterdam is located in an historical monument full of character (1645) on the Nieuwmarkt, a vibrant residential quarter with bars, restaurants and outdoor cafes. Our house looks out onto the most important gate of the city of Amsterdam (1488), the Sint Anthonispoort, now known as De Waag.For our guests we have fitted up a comfortable room with a kitchenette on the first floor, and a large studio with private bathroom, toilet and kitchen on the second floor.Just as in the past, the city gate is a good base from which to visit the historic centre, the many attractions, festivals, festivities and shows in Amsterdam. Nearly all at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Inn old Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn old Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.