We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O-Cha

O-Cha
Binnen Bantammerstraat 1, 1011 CH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020-625.99.58
Improve this listing
Ranked #750 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Southport, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I were in Amsterdam in September and found this place by accident. It looked plain (and is) but was full of happy customers. The food is first rate and the service friendly and warm. A fun place for a quick and delicious dinner.
So good we were back the next night (unfortunately our last on this visit).
Ian + Lyn Australia

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    17
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent spot in city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Went here based upon a recommendation and was not disappointed. Food is authentic and high quality and reasonable. Two entrees with spring rolls and rice was 25 euros.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Thai in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

By far the best Thai restaurant in town. Don't go here if you're looking for a romantic candle light dinner, since this restaurant is not that stylish and romantic. Go here if you like good, spicy and tasty Thai food. Without a doubt the best food for a very small price you'll find in Amsterdam. The three Thai ladies will welcome you with a smile. There are a lot of Thai restaurant nearby, but it's crap when you compare them to Ocha!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice food,but too busy inside, no alcohol.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Me and my boyfriend ate here I think 2 months ago. O-Cha is a traditional thai restaurant with great food, no beers or other alcohol. We had a good meal and it's not to expensive. Go there and taste for yourself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place for Thai food in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Best place for Thai food in Amsterdam. Do not expect much of a restaurant as it all looks very cheap and informal. Do not expect to stay here for much longer than 45 minutes. The main reason for one to visit this place is the food. And I can assure you the food is heavenly. Most recommended are the curries (red or green) and the different kinds of soup they serve.

Oh and one last thing. One might have to really look for it since it is located a bit off route. However it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O-Cha also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to O-Cha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O-Cha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.