We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Herengracht 21

Save Saved
You added B&B Herengracht 21 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Herengracht 21
Herengracht 21, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best price
Ranked #80 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Warm and Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was a true pleasure staying at Herengracht 21. We stayed in the Canal room with a wonderful view of the canal. As noted by others, Loes and Tony are fantastic hosts, who are there to care for their guests. They provided tasty breakfasts suited to our tastes. Our room was neatly decorated and very large by Euro standards. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay, and B&B Herengracht 21 will be our lodging of choice if we are fortunate enough to return to this great city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Herengracht 21 is a lovely, delightfully-located bed and breakfast that wins the holidaymaker over with charm and personalized attention. What's more, it provides distinctive accommodation at a very reasonable price - no small feat in this very expensive city.

One of Herengracht 21's most appealing assets is its location - an easy ten minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. While the accommodation's neighborhood gets its fair share of foot and boat traffic, it nevertheless feels tranquil and there's no problem obtaining a good night's rest in one of the two rooms on offer.

Perhaps the accommodation's marquee room is the one overlooking the canal; we, however, had the non-view room, but this didn't feel like much of a compromise. It came with an absolutely lovely and spacious living area, complete with couch, cable TV, sink, and much natural light. Spending time in this room proved most relaxing and it came to characterize our stay at Herengracht 21. Accompanying our room was a loft that has been converted into a bathroom and bedroom. On the plus side, the loft was sunnier than expected, aided by a skylight that also helps with airflow. On the downside, however, the toilet and shower facilities were a bit cramped, though the shower did offer plentiful hot water. In addition, during our first night we encountered a bit of a dilemma as the evening was quite warm. While opening the loft's many windows provides much relief, the neighborhood mosquitoes can wreak havoc. Closing the windows, however, forced us to either turn on the loft's noisy air conditioner or the fan. We chose the latter which did provide much needed relief.

Breakfast at Herengracht 21 is another enjoyable part of one's stay, though it may not be to the liking of those who want to break breakfast croissants with strangers. But never mind as the food on offer is nicely presented and remarkably fresh. We enjoyed delicious breads, gouda and goat cheese, a selection of eggs, strawberries, tomatoes, and jams as fresh as Mother Nature can produce. The coffee, too, will be sure to satisfy.

The warm and helpful owners of Herengracht 21 seem to take great pride and delivering quality in everything they do. The accommodation is tidy, creatively decorated, and comes with numerous nice touches. One concerned the fact that we had already checked out, but needed to leave our luggage in a safe place before leaving on a cruise later that afternoon. The owners graciously invited us to leave our luggage at the B & B and retain the key until our departure time. The trust afforded us was greatly appreciated.

Lastly, given the relative high cost of quality lodging in Amsterdam, a few words are in order as it regards Herengracht 21. Our stay for two nights was priced at 250 euros. To our way of thinking, this represents very good value for money- just another reason to consider Herengracht 21 during your next visit to the dynamic and culturally rich city that is Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to secure the "view" room if possible, though the room with the loft is not without it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this small B&B in May of 2013. The hosts, Tony and Loes, were both very nice and they were accommodating to our needs. We rented the canal-view room which provided wonderful views. The bedroom features three large windows, so the views of the canal and the quiet street below were ample and beautiful. The location is ideal, just a short walk to the train station, to the City center, and to the quiet and charming Jordaan neighborhood. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights the end of April. Our first visit to Amsterdam and the Netherlands.

We loved Herengracht 21. We had the canal room, which has a great view overlooking the canal, is spacious and comfortable. However, the best part was our hosts, Loes and Tony. They are warm, welcoming, helpful and fun. Loes was always quick to reply to initial emails about reservations and date adjustments. Nothing seemed to be a problem then or during our stay. The welcome we received when we arrived and the time we spent with them during our visit were like being with old friends again. They are a wonderful couple and helped make for a great visit to Amsterdam.

The B&B itself is in a great location, an easy 10 minute walk from Centraal Station and within easy reach of many of the Amsterdam sites. Yet, the location itself is in a quiet neighborhood, a wonderful spot after a long day of walking or waking in the morning to the canal view and chirping birds. Even though, within a couple of blocks in any direction we found plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars, etc...and great places to walk and enjoy the canals and unique Amsterdam architecture.

We've visited a number of places in various parts of Europe and have enjoyed them all in some way or another. Many I would return to and some not. Amsterdam and Herengracht 21 are both high on the list of places we would definitely visit again...and hopefully soon. Loes and Tony, thank you very much for a wonderful visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, HI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the canal room for 5 nights in September. What a perfect way to begin our trip! The location is perfect - only a short walk from the train station, yet in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood that is within a short walk to good restaurants and a laundry. We easily walked to all major attractions and then got away from the crowds when we returned each night.
Breakfast was great - eggs, bacon, beautiful breads, coffee, orange juice, granola, unique cheeses - everything fresh and served in an upbeat, fun, art-filled room. (The whole house was that way.). Loes cooked, served and answered any questions with a smile, and Tony was just as charming whenever he was home from work.
The canal room was large and luxurious with very comfortable beds, a hot water maker, teas, coffees, and even robes to relax in - what a treat! It had large windows that looked out on the canal and provided very good light. The bathroom was spacious and beautiful.
You will be so happy if you stay here!

Room Tip: The canal room is large and atmospheric. It is definitely worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So, my three girlfriends and I rented this place for a few days while in Amsterdam. Location wise, totally great as it is close to everything. Two apartments here, one out front with a canal view, and the back has a little living area, and the bedroom upstairs from it. The front space is great. Big bathroom (small shower) and the beds super comfy with a great view of the canals. My friends that got the back room, not so happy as the shower is in a closet and the toilet in another closet, with the wash basin outside the door in the sleeping space. Their bed was right under the ceiling, so they slept downstairs on the couch, as to sit up, a bit close to the ceiling..... Breakfast was good... they cooked for us one day, and the next, since we had to catch a train early, left us some yogurt and bread. The owners were helpful with questions and recommendations.

Room Tip: Book the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend + a friend and his girlfriend.

Location was perfect only a stones throw away from Amsterdam Central + city centre.
The rooms are perfect we stayed at the front of the house with the canal view which was perfect waking up every morning to the fantastic view.
My friend had the back apartment with a launge room with TV + tea, coffee facilities and the upstairs with the bedroom.
The breakfast consists of different veriaties of bread with cheese and ham. Scrambled eggs with bacon. Not a big breakfast but very nice.

The couple who run the B&B are very friendly and helpful. Both speak perfect English which made everything much easier.

Would definitely recommend this place worth every penny.

Ruben and Zuzana

Room Tip: I would choose the Canal room as you get the fantastic view. The back room is just as good but doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Herengracht 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Herengracht 21

Address: Herengracht 21, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your B&B Herengracht 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Herengracht 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.