We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and setting; very nice hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Herengracht 21

Save Saved
You added B&B Herengracht 21 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
B&B Herengracht 21
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Herengracht 21, Amsterdam 1015 BA, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best price
Ranked #68 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
North Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and setting; very nice hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this small B&B in May of 2013. The hosts, Tony and Loes, were both very nice and they were accommodating to our needs. We rented the canal-view room which provided wonderful views. The bedroom features three large windows, so the views of the canal and the quiet street below were ample and beautiful. The location is ideal, just a short walk to the train station, to the City center, and to the quiet and charming Jordaan neighborhood. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights the end of April. Our first visit to Amsterdam and the Netherlands.

We loved Herengracht 21. We had the canal room, which has a great view overlooking the canal, is spacious and comfortable. However, the best part was our hosts, Loes and Tony. They are warm, welcoming, helpful and fun. Loes was always quick to reply to initial emails about reservations and date adjustments. Nothing seemed to be a problem then or during our stay. The welcome we received when we arrived and the time we spent with them during our visit were like being with old friends again. They are a wonderful couple and helped make for a great visit to Amsterdam.

The B&B itself is in a great location, an easy 10 minute walk from Centraal Station and within easy reach of many of the Amsterdam sites. Yet, the location itself is in a quiet neighborhood, a wonderful spot after a long day of walking or waking in the morning to the canal view and chirping birds. Even though, within a couple of blocks in any direction we found plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars, etc...and great places to walk and enjoy the canals and unique Amsterdam architecture.

We've visited a number of places in various parts of Europe and have enjoyed them all in some way or another. Many I would return to and some not. Amsterdam and Herengracht 21 are both high on the list of places we would definitely visit again...and hopefully soon. Loes and Tony, thank you very much for a wonderful visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, HI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the canal room for 5 nights in September. What a perfect way to begin our trip! The location is perfect - only a short walk from the train station, yet in a beautiful, quiet neighborhood that is within a short walk to good restaurants and a laundry. We easily walked to all major attractions and then got away from the crowds when we returned each night.
Breakfast was great - eggs, bacon, beautiful breads, coffee, orange juice, granola, unique cheeses - everything fresh and served in an upbeat, fun, art-filled room. (The whole house was that way.). Loes cooked, served and answered any questions with a smile, and Tony was just as charming whenever he was home from work.
The canal room was large and luxurious with very comfortable beds, a hot water maker, teas, coffees, and even robes to relax in - what a treat! It had large windows that looked out on the canal and provided very good light. The bathroom was spacious and beautiful.
You will be so happy if you stay here!

Room Tip: The canal room is large and atmospheric. It is definitely worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

So, my three girlfriends and I rented this place for a few days while in Amsterdam. Location wise, totally great as it is close to everything. Two apartments here, one out front with a canal view, and the back has a little living area, and the bedroom upstairs from it. The front space is great. Big bathroom (small shower) and the beds super comfy with a great view of the canals. My friends that got the back room, not so happy as the shower is in a closet and the toilet in another closet, with the wash basin outside the door in the sleeping space. Their bed was right under the ceiling, so they slept downstairs on the couch, as to sit up, a bit close to the ceiling..... Breakfast was good... they cooked for us one day, and the next, since we had to catch a train early, left us some yogurt and bread. The owners were helpful with questions and recommendations.

Room Tip: Book the front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend + a friend and his girlfriend.

Location was perfect only a stones throw away from Amsterdam Central + city centre.
The rooms are perfect we stayed at the front of the house with the canal view which was perfect waking up every morning to the fantastic view.
My friend had the back apartment with a launge room with TV + tea, coffee facilities and the upstairs with the bedroom.
The breakfast consists of different veriaties of bread with cheese and ham. Scrambled eggs with bacon. Not a big breakfast but very nice.

The couple who run the B&B are very friendly and helpful. Both speak perfect English which made everything much easier.

Would definitely recommend this place worth every penny.

Ruben and Zuzana

Room Tip: I would choose the Canal room as you get the fantastic view. The back room is just as good but doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown : South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I think this accommodation is in the better part of the city - many very good restaurants (and the central station) within easy walking distance- for us it was ideal for our 3 day stay we wished we coutd have extended it by another week.
The owners wife Loes was away but her husband was fabulous without being in any way over-bearing - the location could not have been more ideal and we had a really fantastic 3rd introduction to Amsterdam - our 3rd level room had a really good view over the canal (careful when you change as you are in full view of the constant tourist barges) - however it is not a heavily touristic area (definately no red lights )

Our stay left us wanting to re-visit and we would definately choose this accommodation over the other researched accommodation. (The price is much the same as the hotels) but the personal service is very good and in my opinion the accommodation is really good value for money

The only downside was the rowdy students partying a few houses away (out of control of the owners) - the glazing in the windows isoriginal 18th century and may not be replaced with modern double glazing - as an architect I respect this grace to these ancient and graceful buildings and am happy to forfeit a few hours sleep for them.
.

The staircase to the 3rd level is very narrow- but such are the stairs in these very old buildings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights following a cruise. It has two rooms - one in the front and one in the back. We had the canal room in the front. The room was very large and decorated with antiques and artwork. Being a canal house the stairway to the room was narrow and steep. Fortunately Tony carried the luggage up to the third floor room. The owners Loes and Tony were great, providing lots of helpful information and terrific breakfasts. Breakfasts included a variety of breads, fresh fruit, cheese, bacon, made to order eggs, coffee, tea and juice. It was in a quiet area but close Central Station and the heart of Amsterdam. We are in our early 60's and we walked everywhere from here. It was very reasonably priced and we definately would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Herengracht 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Herengracht 21

Address: Herengracht 21, Amsterdam 1015 BA, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Herengracht 21 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your B&B Herengracht 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Herengracht 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.