We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Herengracht 21

Save Saved
You added B&B Herengracht 21 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Herengracht 21
Herengracht 21, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best price
Ranked #77 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here with my girlfriend + a friend and his girlfriend.

Location was perfect only a stones throw away from Amsterdam Central + city centre.
The rooms are perfect we stayed at the front of the house with the canal view which was perfect waking up every morning to the fantastic view.
My friend had the back apartment with a launge room with TV + tea, coffee facilities and the upstairs with the bedroom.
The breakfast consists of different veriaties of bread with cheese and ham. Scrambled eggs with bacon. Not a big breakfast but very nice.

The couple who run the B&B are very friendly and helpful. Both speak perfect English which made everything much easier.

Would definitely recommend this place worth every penny.

Ruben and Zuzana

Room Tip: I would choose the Canal room as you get the fantastic view. The back room is just as good but doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CapeTown : South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I think this accommodation is in the better part of the city - many very good restaurants (and the central station) within easy walking distance- for us it was ideal for our 3 day stay we wished we coutd have extended it by another week.
The owners wife Loes was away but her husband was fabulous without being in any way over-bearing - the location could not have been more ideal and we had a really fantastic 3rd introduction to Amsterdam - our 3rd level room had a really good view over the canal (careful when you change as you are in full view of the constant tourist barges) - however it is not a heavily touristic area (definately no red lights )

Our stay left us wanting to re-visit and we would definately choose this accommodation over the other researched accommodation. (The price is much the same as the hotels) but the personal service is very good and in my opinion the accommodation is really good value for money

The only downside was the rowdy students partying a few houses away (out of control of the owners) - the glazing in the windows isoriginal 18th century and may not be replaced with modern double glazing - as an architect I respect this grace to these ancient and graceful buildings and am happy to forfeit a few hours sleep for them.
.

The staircase to the 3rd level is very narrow- but such are the stairs in these very old buildings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights following a cruise. It has two rooms - one in the front and one in the back. We had the canal room in the front. The room was very large and decorated with antiques and artwork. Being a canal house the stairway to the room was narrow and steep. Fortunately Tony carried the luggage up to the third floor room. The owners Loes and Tony were great, providing lots of helpful information and terrific breakfasts. Breakfasts included a variety of breads, fresh fruit, cheese, bacon, made to order eggs, coffee, tea and juice. It was in a quiet area but close Central Station and the heart of Amsterdam. We are in our early 60's and we walked everywhere from here. It was very reasonably priced and we definately would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This restored traditional canalhouse offers two excellent and modernly outfitted rooms, one in the back house and one in the front house, overlooking to canals. The house is a traditional 16th century house with relatively steep and narrow staircases but this is all part of the charm. The hospitable couple offers a fantastic breakfast with fresh juice, eggs, delicious farm bread and organic cheese from the market - and with your newspaper from your country! Besides this the service is terrific, beds are great, rooms are spacious and beautifully fitted with arts, antiques and curiousities gathered over the years in Europe.

Fantastic with kids as well - once you agree to the few stairs - the lady of the house has IKEA children chairs and change mats, cots etc upon request. Location is next to perfect; 5 minutes walk from Central Station and in the heart of Amsterdam and the red light district. Although just outside the red lights and within the heart of traditional bakeries, organic markets, delis and great restaurants. Since the couple has lived on this location since they were in their young twenties and they are still huge foodies, they know all the best restaurants and cultural places and events in town.

Musea tickets can be arranged online and all is made easy - I highly recommend this place, its boutique, its beautiful, its quiet, its very romantic and besides this its personal yet private. What more do you want from a Bed & Breakfast?

Room Tip: Backroom is great for families or people traveling together: upstairs its got two single beds as one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed in this wonderful and cosy b&b on the last weekend of March, I felt like a princess for 3 nights in the beautiful Canal Room!
The owners, Loes and Tony, are very nice, helpful and so discreet! Loes even took my suitcase upstairs (the staircase is very narrow and a bit challenging if you're not used to it :-)
Breakfast is served in the lovely dining room downstairs, with yummy differents breads, fresh fruit and cheese.
Very close to the train station!
I'm hoping to return one day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This B&B is a real treat, the owner Louis is lovely, the breafast is fantastic and the location unbeatable! I would highly reccomend staying here. Louis was very helpful right from the booking, emailing us with details on how to find the hotel and asking if we had any requirements. We went for the room at the front of the of the building overlooking the canal and it was really beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A great place to stay in Amsterdam instead of a hotel , the owner Louis was very nice and her house was beautiful .We stayed in the room at the back ,the stairs were a challenge so not for anybody who's not good on their feet .Our room was like a duplex apartment bedroom upstairs in the attic room (a bit snug) , living room below , again very nice furnishings .Louis looked after us well at breakfest and was a great hostess . Location was great , centeral but away from the busy streets . I would probaly stay in the canal view room if I were to visit again .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Herengracht 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Herengracht 21

Address: Herengracht 21, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your B&B Herengracht 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Herengracht 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.