We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great canalhouse B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Herengracht 21

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Herengracht 21 to your Saves list
B&B Herengracht 21
Herengracht 21, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great canalhouse B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights following a cruise. It has two rooms - one in the front and one in the back. We had the canal room in the front. The room was very large and decorated with antiques and artwork. Being a canal house the stairway to the room was narrow and steep. Fortunately Tony carried the luggage up to the third floor room. The owners Loes and Tony were great, providing lots of helpful information and terrific breakfasts. Breakfasts included a variety of breads, fresh fruit, cheese, bacon, made to order eggs, coffee, tea and juice. It was in a quiet area but close Central Station and the heart of Amsterdam. We are in our early 60's and we walked everywhere from here. It was very reasonably priced and we definately would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This restored traditional canalhouse offers two excellent and modernly outfitted rooms, one in the back house and one in the front house, overlooking to canals. The house is a traditional 16th century house with relatively steep and narrow staircases but this is all part of the charm. The hospitable couple offers a fantastic breakfast with fresh juice, eggs, delicious farm bread and organic cheese from the market - and with your newspaper from your country! Besides this the service is terrific, beds are great, rooms are spacious and beautifully fitted with arts, antiques and curiousities gathered over the years in Europe.

Fantastic with kids as well - once you agree to the few stairs - the lady of the house has IKEA children chairs and change mats, cots etc upon request. Location is next to perfect; 5 minutes walk from Central Station and in the heart of Amsterdam and the red light district. Although just outside the red lights and within the heart of traditional bakeries, organic markets, delis and great restaurants. Since the couple has lived on this location since they were in their young twenties and they are still huge foodies, they know all the best restaurants and cultural places and events in town.

Musea tickets can be arranged online and all is made easy - I highly recommend this place, its boutique, its beautiful, its quiet, its very romantic and besides this its personal yet private. What more do you want from a Bed & Breakfast?

Room Tip: Backroom is great for families or people traveling together: upstairs its got two single beds as one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed in this wonderful and cosy b&b on the last weekend of March, I felt like a princess for 3 nights in the beautiful Canal Room!
The owners, Loes and Tony, are very nice, helpful and so discreet! Loes even took my suitcase upstairs (the staircase is very narrow and a bit challenging if you're not used to it :-)
Breakfast is served in the lovely dining room downstairs, with yummy differents breads, fresh fruit and cheese.
Very close to the train station!
I'm hoping to return one day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This B&B is a real treat, the owner Louis is lovely, the breafast is fantastic and the location unbeatable! I would highly reccomend staying here. Louis was very helpful right from the booking, emailing us with details on how to find the hotel and asking if we had any requirements. We went for the room at the front of the of the building overlooking the canal and it was really beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A great place to stay in Amsterdam instead of a hotel , the owner Louis was very nice and her house was beautiful .We stayed in the room at the back ,the stairs were a challenge so not for anybody who's not good on their feet .Our room was like a duplex apartment bedroom upstairs in the attic room (a bit snug) , living room below , again very nice furnishings .Louis looked after us well at breakfest and was a great hostess . Location was great , centeral but away from the busy streets . I would probaly stay in the canal view room if I were to visit again .

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our first ever trip to Amsterdam. And it was a mere 5 minute walk from the station! Lois greeted us when we walked in front of her home, and said though it was too early to enter our room, she was able to let us leave our bags and said we could come back at 1pm. She gave us a map of central Amsterdam and a couple umbrellas in case it rained (it had rained the night before we arrived). So from there we had lunch and walked all around and came back just after 1pm and she had carried our heavy luggage up to our room for us! The room was very large, with a very large bathroom full of marble. Bathtub AND shower. This used to be the owners suite, so you can imagine it is as good as they could make it for themselves. The bed is super comfortable, as good as any 5 star hotel out there. The shower has one of those huge shower heads directly above you, and it just rains down on you. Didn't try the tub. The view from the canal room is so great, you can see tour boats and other private boats going by. And I saw a swan gliding up the canal the morning we left. Breakfast is delicious, she served a selection of fresh fruit, freshly baked breads including amazing croissants, two different kinds of cheeses, and she offered to cook us eggs, which we accepted, and bacon (though the bacon was just microwave bacon, but still good). The only downside of our stay was the wifi internet reception was pretty much impossible to catch from our room. I had to carry my laptop down to the breakfast room very early on our first morning there so I could write an email to friends and send some photos. But that isn't a big deal as we didn't come there to use the internet! Also there are glass doors between the bathroom and bedroom, with no handles to pull them closed, and the wind blew them open, so we put a shoe there to keep them closed when someone was using the bathroom.

The room has a window that can be opened, which was very nice for fresh air and breezes, and to get the ambience of life on the canal - they advertise air conditioning, but I think they only have that available during the warmer months and not in September. Lois and her husband (he works and said the B&B was his wife's business) were both very friendly, but I wished we could have stayed with them longer so I could talk with them more. The house is huge, they have a two level apartment for rent as well, which we didn't stay in.

We would stay again in a heartbeat! And I highly recommend the canal room to everyone looking for that classic canal view from your room. We slept very well there, it was super quiet at night.

Room Tip: Choose the canal room if you can get it - the view is superb and for 2 people it's huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 10-day trip to Amsterdam and we stayed at the Herengracht 21 B&B for a total of 7 nights. We stayed three nights in the canal room and four nights in the 'back room' so we're in a good position to evaluate both options.

Apart from the fact that the Herengracht 21 looks cosy and typically Dutch, the main reason I chose it as a place for my wife and I to stay was because pre-departure, Loes, the owner's e-mail communication was excellent. Always friendly, always business-like, always prompt. Right from the start, I got the impression that Loes ran a tight ship. And so it proved to be.

Husband and wife team, Loes and Ton, are simply the perfect hosts. They are both passionate about their home and their city. They can help you plan your day trips and your walks around Amsterdam and they offer an extensive library of guide-books on both Amsterdam and Holland, which you are of course welcome to borrow.

The cooked breakfasts are excellent. (cheeses, bacon, eggs, fresh orange juice, rolls, croissants, etc) and Ton - being a keen sailor - even has a small boat moored in front of the house. Our trip around Amsterdams canals with Ton at the helm was something we'll never forget.

"Our home is your home" sums up Herengracht 21 perfectly.

So what about the two rooms on offer? The back room is a two-floor duplex with a living room on the first floor and a comfy bed, shower and toilet on the second. We liked this room better because it was like having your own self-contained flat in the heart of Amsterdam. The only thing it lacks is a view of the canal, which of course the canal room has. To open the curtains and gaze on to that lovely stretch of canal is a perfect start to the day. It's a very close call, but I think the back room just edges it.

You are also just a short walk to Centraal station and from there you can be in places like Delft, Alkmaar, Hoorn and Haarlem in 15-45 minutes thanks to the excellent Dutch rail network.

There are plenty of markets, restaurants, shops and bars within the vicinity as well.

Stay at the quirky, cosy Herengracht 21 and you are getting a feel for Amsterdam that I don't think you would get staying at some five-star hotel chain.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Herengracht 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Herengracht 21

Address: Herengracht 21, 1015 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Herengracht 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Herengracht 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.