We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toro Dorado

Toro Dorado
Spuistraat 3C-D, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 421 8695
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #833 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $220
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Description: Great Steaks & Seafood in a cozy unpretentious atmosphere yet embraces comfort and great food in the ancient city centre of Amsterdam The Netherlands.
south queensferry
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Decided on this restaurant as it was just along from our hotel. My husband and I both had a lovely steak.The waiter was very attentive bringing over a sample of the different steaks explaining the difference between each. All in all a very good steakhouse.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    172
    93
    33
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Wednesday night, but busy with a vibrant atmosphere. We all had steak and all were cooked to perfection. The steaks come with chips and a side salad (and optional sauce, I can recommend the peppercorn). The scallops were a great starter. All in all a great meal out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“At Toro Dorado you can get a steak cooked to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

At Toro Dorado you can get a steak cooked to perfection. They have steaks for all tastes including the Japanese Wagyu meat. It is also within walking distance from Damrack or from Central Station. They have a good selection of wines; old and new world. Their spinach and asparagus side dishes are also delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“3 great meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

everytime iam in Amsterdam I have dinner here,1st night lamb chops great,2nd night salmon great,3rd night rib eye good, all meals were cooked well, ive never had bad service,the place is clean, the staff was on the mark when I had any ?

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrific service and gristly fatty steak, overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had a meal for 4 here and 3 of us were disappointed. The steak was average at best , but doesn't come with anything so you have to pay for additional items , such as chips. You apparently get a salad , we got a side plate to share between 4 of us. We had one very poor steak , priced at 28 euros, when we took it back to ask for a new one. It was at this point they told us that this steak was fine , but we'd asked for it to be cooked medium rare and that this was why the steak was gristly and very fatty. They were incredibly patronising when discussing it with us and said that they were going to cook the same steak again and that it would be fine when cooked. We said we didn't think so , but they weren't interested in that at all. They left us waiting for a long time and then brought out a different steak cooked the same , that wasn't gristly. They still wouldn't accept that it as a poor quality 28 euro steak and we're incredibly rude. The jacket potato was very dry and had been sat there for at least 2 days. The salad was rubbish and there wasn't enough dressing on it. Reel shame , we have eaten there before but will never go back. Try any other steak house is Amsterdam and you'll have better than this for a lot less money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Dorado also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Toro Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toro Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.