We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this place also” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos - Spuistraat

Gauchos - Spuistraat
Spuistraat 3e, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 206257272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 2,579 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $68
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Gauchos in the Spuistraat is a modern grill restaurant in the center of Amsterdam. Casual overseer, "Latin Heat" and an extensive menu original meat and fish dishes from the grill.Excellent opportunity for private dinners and large groups.Located close to the Central Station and the parking is in front (garage De Kolk)Gauchos Spuistraat is open 7 days a week from 17:00.
kusadasi
Level Contributor
140 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I like this place also”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Good food ,good service,helpful staff.Prices are reasonable but becareful with your choice especially with the grams of the meet,otherwise you spoil it you can not eat.Very close to the Central Staion.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    52
    28
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great steak....ride 'em cowboy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really relaxed dining experience . We ate there in February 2014. Everything was easy.....simple menu with almost impossible choices to make, we could have chosen almost anything from the list. Just looking around dinner envy reared its head until our meals arrived, then totally satisfied.
Great friendly staff and good value for money. David D

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I have visited the place because of recommendation I have received from friend of mine. Definetely good choice for nice food in Amsterdam. It was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Carnivores, come !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I first went to this chain of restaurants over 20 years ago, now still occasionally with carnivorous friends.

Then you got great Argentinian steak in four varieties and 3 sizes, a bottle of Argentinian Trapiche wine on the table to encourage you to order alcohol and there was a selection of other dishes too.

Now the four varieties of steak (still Argentinian, still excellent) come in 5 sizes (you can now order 1000g), the Argentinian wine list has long since dropped the bottle-on-the-table Trapiche and grown in length and quality to include more upmarket gran corte (as well as a malbec from my favourite winery Colome) alongside cheaper stuff. The decor style along with the overall atmosphere is unchanged and the list of 'other dishes' has grown, but still very much steak-oriented (there are also spare ribs, grilled chicken and surf&turf for example but you won't be giving vegetarians much pleasure by bringing them here).

Service was excellent. Customers mostly tourists when I last went early on a Saturday evening and while we got in without reserving an hour later the restaurant was full.

As an unexpected bonus I can report this restaurant must have had non-Dutch plumbers in recently: There's hot water in the washrooms !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

There are several restaurants in Amsterdam in this chain and, in my opinion, this one is the best. Steak was OK, nothing special, but at the top end of the price range for the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - Spuistraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos - Spuistraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gauchos - Spuistraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.