We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos - Spuistraat

Gauchos - Spuistraat
Spuistraat 3e, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 206257272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 2,486 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $41 - $68
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Description: Gauchos in the Spuistraat is a modern grill restaurant in the center of Amsterdam. Casual overseer, "Latin Heat" and an extensive menu original meat and fish dishes from the grill.Excellent opportunity for private dinners and large groups.Located close to the Central Station and the parking is in front (garage De Kolk)Gauchos Spuistraat is open 7 days a week from 17:00.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

There are several restaurants in Amsterdam in this chain and, in my opinion, this one is the best. Steak was OK, nothing special, but at the top end of the price range for the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    33
    19
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average Steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Steak was somehow.. very plain.
Meat was lacking flavour
Side dishes very similar

Dessert - was ok - extremely sweet leche

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great place for steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We sat on the terrace and enjoyed a great dinner. I had been missing a good steak and knew that Gaucho's was one place that I was assured of a great tasting steak - and they did not disappoint! Great food, good value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Glad we called in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a great meal here on a whim, a little bit on the expensive side for what we had but then again we were right in the centre of the city just away from Dam Square, we both had the Saint Maarten (Chicken and Ribs Combo), well cooked and very tasty, the house red wasn't great but the Caipiranhas and the service were!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I've been to this restaurant quite a few times now (and my husband far more times than me) and I/we have NEVER had anything but an excellent steak - the prices may not be the cheapest but I'm pretty sure they're not the most expensive either - in this case you get what you pay for, great food and excellent service (always). I must admit our last visit was not the most peaceful as a rather large, rather noisy stag party arrived just after we'd ordered our food - however they were good natured and didn't interfere with anyone else (apart from noise levels) thus we enjoyed our meal as much as ever.................keep up the good work Gaucho's

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - Spuistraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos - Spuistraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gauchos - Spuistraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.