We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos - Reguliersbreestraat

Gauchos - Reguliersbreestraat
Reguliersbreestraat 18, 1017 CN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 626 3500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #861 of 2,288 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $30 - $92
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Gauchos in the Regulierbreestraat, within walking distance from the Rembrandtplein, is a modern grill restaurant in the centre of Amsterdam. An informal atmosphere, 'Latin warmth' and an extensive menu with original grilled fish and meat dishes.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pricey but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We went here on our first night in amsterdam. Being meat lovers we were excited to try here and we were not disappointed. The service was very good they left you alone and didn't rush you.

The food was very good on the whole. The starters were not amazing but still very nice however the mains are brilliant. I had steak which was cooked to perfection which I don't often get as I have it blue. I was more than happy to share it with my fiance as it was huge! He is also a big meat eater and had the unlimited ribs, which were the nicest ribs we had tasted.

The desserts were also good but the fruit that went with my cheesecake was still frozen.

On the whole although it is expensive it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    21
    19
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“one can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The meat was not the standard of Argentinian " churrasco". There are many other better options around.
The service is good, friendly atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Surprsingly sophisticated in a tourist area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Gauchos is just off Rembrantplein which is a big night-club, tourist area, but actually this is a very well thought out room with good (and attentive) service. The steaks are excellent wth a choice of cuts and sizes, the room is well desgned and modern, not like some of the other Argentinian places around the city. On busy nights (Fridays/Saturdays/public holidays) you likely need a reservation but its worth it. We went twice on this trip and while the deserts ar eperhaps a little bit of a let down, its worth it for the steaks (completely!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“THICK THICK Argentinian steaks to perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Want a genuine Argentinian steak cooked to perfection. This is the place.
Classy surroundings with exceptional service.
As they state, the steaks are flame grilled and turned only once during grilling. As has been done for generations. Thick and juicy with very little fat, if any. Choice of many cuts, look at the menu of their webpage.
We both had rump steak, about 5 cm thick, medium rare. Wow. I can still taste it.
Worth a trip because you will go back. I did after 5 years and it hasn't changed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Awful service ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Awful service ,steak burnt and they got our order wrong, jacket potato hard , never going here again. London gauchos much better

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - Reguliersbreestraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos - Reguliersbreestraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gauchos - Reguliersbreestraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.