We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos

Gauchos
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 69, 1017 PW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 206270580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #533 of 3,031 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $79
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinean, South American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Food was brilliant but a little overpriced for the portions you get. Very nice chilled out atmosphere though

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Parminder22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
224 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“MEAT EATING HEAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Having been to Gauchos in London many times, I knew what to expect - we ordered a ribeye medium and a filet rare -both cooked to absolute perfection with one chunky chips and one french fries ( no complaints). But it is the steaks that are the star of the show -so succulent -so juicy and so tasty. Nice bottle of Malbec to accompany the great steaks. Service was fine & in the end I had to admit to the server that I thought the steaks better than in London. A nice place to go after a hard walking day doing the Museums.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Succulence and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I’ve been to Amsterdam numerous times and have sampled all kinds of food and restaurants in that amazing city – but never a steakhouse-style place. Until now. And boy, did Gauchos deliver the goods! Probably the tastiest, most succulent steaks my partner and I have ever eaten, accompanied by Hoegaarden beer (for him) and house red (for me). An outstanding main course, cooked medium-rare exactly to order; for me, quite an eye-opener. We left after an unhurried evening, very contented.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peterdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just what you expect from Gauchos - superb steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We had seen lots of Argentinian restaurants around Amsterdam which prompted our craving for steaks. Our guidebook reminded us of Gauchos (we go to the one in London so we know we'd get a great steak here).

Our waitress showed us the steaks that they have to offer and explained the differences. She was very chatty and friendly. Our steaks arrived and each one done to perfection. The chimichurri sauce was delicious and we also ordered the pepper sauce which had a nice heat to it. We also had the French fries with garlic & parsley sauce/dressing which was tasty but not enough (that was the only criticism).

The kitchen was understaffed and the restaurant managers had to step in to help but they still produced great food.

We had the 3 chocolate dessert and strawberry with chocolate sauce, icecream & whipped cream which my niece was very disappointed it only had 2 small strawberries (we felt this was very mean portion).

Altogether we enjoyed our meal and was looked after well by the staff.

Helpful?
Thank E-traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chatham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went in here on the off chance and was really suprprised! Had avoided this restuarant on acciount of the touting for trade as this puts me off. However, humble pie eaten! It was so much better than expected. The steak was divine and cooked to prefection and a joy to be able to have a baked potato as opposed to chips!. Service friendly,unhurried and attentive in an unobtrusive way. There are hunrdeds of steak houses in the city and this is one that is worthy of a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 53WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing