We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gauchos - Korte Leidsedwarsstraat

Gauchos - Korte Leidsedwarsstraat
Korte Leidsedwarsstraat 69, 1017 PW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 206270580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #885 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $87
Cuisines: Argentinean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Chatham
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went in here on the off chance and was really suprprised! Had avoided this restuarant on acciount of the touting for trade as this puts me off. However, humble pie eaten! It was so much better than expected. The steak was divine and cooked to prefection and a joy to be able to have a baked potato as opposed to chips!. Service friendly,unhurried and attentive in an unobtrusive way. There are hunrdeds of steak houses in the city and this is one that is worthy of a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    36
    1
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Been to this resturant twice, both times the service and food was very good, next time i will book a table further ino the resturant as i always seem to be close to the door probably becasue i never book. Plan on going again this year as i will be traveling on holiday with the family.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

After being deprived of steak for a few months, this place was recommended to my by Hotel Aalders. I was NOT disappointed. Attentive staff, stylish decor and excellent food! My steak was cooked to perfection as was the baked potato.
I got the three course special and it was well worth the value.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Melt-in-mouth steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

By the way this is not Spanish! This is Argentinean!

What can you say Argentinean and Steaks go well together. The places looks, and feels nice with an open kitchen you walk past. Since it is pretty much on Leidseplein it was a bit busy but we ended up with a table for 6 without a problem.
Service was OK, I think it was just our waiter that seem to have forgotten about us or just did not want to spend too much attention on us.
But overall the food was excellent. The surf & turf (half a jumbo king prawn) was good, with the steak perfectly cooked and butter soft melting in the mouth.... sorry it was that good!
Reasonably priced, but this is after all in the middle of Amsterdam near Leidseplein.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great steak but average salmon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Took my bird there for Valentines Day. My steak was absolutely amazing! Cooked to perfection. Her salmon was over cooked and dry. The crepes for desert for bloody good too! 100 euros for the meal so not cheap, maybe a little over priced.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gauchos - Korte Leidsedwarsstraat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gauchos - Korte Leidsedwarsstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gauchos - Korte Leidsedwarsstraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.