We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vondelpark Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Vondelpark Suites
Save Saved
You added The Vondelpark Suites to your Saves list
Vondelkerkstraat 12, 1054 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Vondelpark Suites. We were there with a group of four friends so we had the place to our selves. Els is an amazing host, very helpful and informative. The en-suite rooms are very clean and comfortable. Large variety of food for breakfast is available. There are lots of books & maps for guests to use. Location is good with tram (number 1)stops outside and Vondelpark. There is also free Wi-Fi which worked very well.
Would definitely recommend this place.
If you are taking taxi from airport to get there, cost should be approx 35 Euros and make sure the meter is on. (We had been overcharged)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Located in a very quiet side street, right by the Vodel Park, and very good tram service to the centre (also walking distance to central Amsterdam - about 20 minutes walk).

The room was comfortable, good sized and decently furnished, with a small kitchen and very clean bathroom, well-appointed if a bit small.
The breakfast was good (very fresh rolls/croissants, yoghurts, fruit, cheese & ham) and our own espresso-style coffee machine in the kitchen so we could keep any left-over breakfast for a snack later with fresh coffee!
The only (slight) criticism is that the furniture is somewhat basic and the television could do with up-dating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

I highly recommend Vondelpark Suites. The location is perfect, not too far from the center of things but quiet and not in the midst of the hubbub. The tram number 1, half a block away, takes you in just a few minutes to the heart of the city. The park itself, half a block away, is lovely, with ponds and little lakes. The room was really nice, decorated with cool little touches and exotic objects, and it has kitchen facilities too. The owner is very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Philippines
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Located on a quiet street at the entrance to Vondelpark. There are two rooms to choose from. I took both for my wife and myself and our two adult sons. Comfortable,completely equipped and twice the size of your average hotel room. Every morning Ms.Sprangers brings a complete breakfast of juice,yogurt,bread,cold meat,cheese and cereal. The park is 5 minutes away and well worth a stroll. At the corner of the street is the Number1 tram which gets you to Dam square in 15 minutes. AH market is just a short walk from the hotel
Stay here if you visit Amsterdam,you will be very pleased

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed in the Suites for 2 nights in May during the wonderful tulip festival. The location, the service from owner was wonderful. She accommodated my gluten free needs for breakfast (which was excellent) & helped us with directions and any information that was needed. If you have issues with stairs then this is not the place for you, but other then that the room was clean and well suited our needs. The Tram was very close and we walked to several museums with no issues. You can't beat the price on this B&B in this exciting city!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Location - We were looking for a bed & breakfast close to main tram lines, able to accommodate 5 adults and we found it. The #1 tram is located right near the b&b making it a 15 minutes tram ride to the city center. The b&b is located on a quiet residential street which neighbors Vondelpark, it was perfect to retreat back our quiet room after spending the day in the hustle & bustle of the busy city center. A grocery store is located near buy.

B&B Room - The b&b only offers two rooms which we both booked. The are located on the 2nd floor. The "east" room is bright and spacious, It faces the residential street and offers a small balcony. 3 adults slept comfortably in this room. It also offers a kitchenette which we found useful. The "west" room is large with an incredibly comfortable bed. It faces a court yard type area in which you are able to see in everyone elses windows and no balcony. It also has a kitchenette. 2 adults fit comfortably in the 'west' room. The only thing is the owners son's live on the floor about and at times they were a bit loud. There is no safe in the rooms, but only the owner and her 2 sons reside in the building so I wasn't worried. Wireless internet is also available at no cost.

Food - Breakfast was brought to our door every morning at 8:30am, it included croissants, yogurt, granola, meat/cheese, strawberries, orange juice and milk. Perfect for us and is a great alternative if you aren't wanting to spend 15 euros/each to eat out every morning.

Staff - Els, the owner made us feel right at home, very friendly and accommodating. We were able to come and go as we please.

Overall - We stayed for 7 days and it met all our needs, seeing as we booked for 7 nights we only paid for 5. For 50 euros/person you can't go wrong, this is an excellent deal with great service. We'd stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed for 7 nights with a young family.
4 beds in a room which were comfortable, but not much room to do anything else. However, you would not stay in your room if you are in amsterdam for a week. Very near the tram, so you would be in the city centre in 15 minutes.
Supermarket very near, kebab and indian restaurants very near.
Attached kitchennete, did not use much.
Breakfasts could be a lot better. Although we were four, but it appeared that the breakfast was for two( two cereal packs every day...and none after public holiday...If I was running a b and b, then I would certainly stock up).
Very near vondelpark...a very good place to spend half a day.
Do I regret staying there: No
Will I stay there again: No
Is the price reasonable: No doubt about it. 700 for 4 people for 7 days...cannot beat this.
Was it quiet: Yes
Will I recommend it: yes, if you want a cheap and a decent place.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Vondelpark Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vondelpark Suites

Address: Vondelkerkstraat 12, 1054 KZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two private and quiet rooms very close to the Vondelpark. The rooms have private bathrooms and kitchenette and are located on the first floor. The Rijks Museum, Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museum are just a short walk through the Vondelpark. Shopping areas, restaurants and good public transport within reach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vondelpark Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.