We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looked for it and found it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Westermarkt 29 | Near Anne Frank Huis, 1016 DJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 623 3133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $21 - $34
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
1 review
“Looked for it and found it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

We walked Jordaan district chaotically and slowly to end up in this place after dark, as we planned, being guided by always helpful natives. We ordered samosas (very tasty), masala chicken and lamb vindaloo, the spiciest thing they had (i was actually warned by the waiter). it was all very good, served on hot plates. if you want to try vindaloo, get a yogurt and a large beer, too, as it is spicy as promised.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    274
    55
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok Indian food. Better options available in Amsterdam though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW

Pros:
1. Quick service
2. On main road, near tram stop
3. Mango lassi was great and the sweet dish of kulfi and ice-cream was the star of evening.

Cons:
1. Very small place.
2. Food is okay but when you see certificate of excellence and still get that quality, u feel bad not for yourself (because you know that it take precision to serve the same quality of food every time) but for those who got to eat Indian food only here while on their trip to Netherlands.

Summary: Not bad but will not come again unless a very close friend recommends again.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“nice Indian but spicy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 NEW

Found this place around the corner from our hotel. Since we are vegetarian pleased to see they had several options for us. But I don't eat spicy and we were told that my Dal soup would not be spicy. It was, and my husband had to eat it. Not spicy does not exist here.
It is a very small restaurant so don't be surprised if you can't get a table. When we were there it was obvious that there were regulars eating there. Definitely means the restaurant is worth it.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

A busy little place, so you need to book. Great service and fantastic food! Will definitely make a return visit very soon.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely meal here or chicken tikka and a curry. Staff were very helpful and pleasant, and also very attentive. Not that expensive either. We were out late (10pm) on a Saturday and found it difficult to get food in many other places, but they served us no bother. When we left at 11.30pm there was a lot of other people still there who didn't seem any rush. Would recommend and would eat here again.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh-i-Noor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.