We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent. Best curry i have ever tried.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Westermarkt 29 | Near Anne Frank Huis, 1016 DJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 623 3133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 2,331 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $22 - $34
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent. Best curry i have ever tried.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The chicken with curry and cheese bread plus the indian tea with milk is just too good. It provides fresh vegetable as well so if you feel fired (while it is very tasty) in your mouth you can eat them to alleviate the feeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    262
    52
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not bad but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had high expectations of this restaurant as it was ranked highly on trip advisor, sadly it did not live up to its promise. Compared to a standard old style indian restaurant it was very good but quilty Indian cuisine has now become abundant in London and compared to say "Masala Zone" or "Dishoom" it didn't come up to scratch. The service was great and the staff friendly, for amserdam it was good considering that it is not a city known for its culinary delights but in the grand scheme it was disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite Indian restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Love love love this place and the waiters are super cool.

Fantastic food but go early or book.

This is our favourite restaurant and we cannot wait to return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best Indian food since India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Came here to celebrate some good news with my girlfriend. The service is miles ahead of Dutch standards. Waiters were courteous and charming. The food is truly excellent, and many of the accompaniments were complimentary. Came out at under 50 eurobucks, which is amazing for how much amazing food we had, and how much we drank. I can't say enough about how sweet this place is. Sits at the top of my Amsterdam list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had ordered delivery food from Kohinoor twice in the past 3 months. Even though we are Indian, and cook most of the stuff we like at home, there are still dishes like naan and tandoori that cant be made at home and on one such occasion we decided to order from Kohinoor. Of the dishes we ordered, we loved the panner and butter chicken, tandoori and naan were good too. The person who took our order on the phone, after realizing that it was our first time, offered a tasting of a panner dish as we were confused among two dishes, which was a nice gesture!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh-i-Noor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.