We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Indian food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh-i-Noor

Koh-i-Noor
Westermarkt 29 | Near Anne Frank Huis, 1016 DJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 623 3133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $23 - $36
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Free wi-fi in both retsuarants . 1. Westermarkt 29.1016 Dj. Amsterdam.2. Rokin 18. 1012 Kr amsterdam.
Sierre, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Before going to Amsterdam I reviewed quite a few restaurants here on TripAdvisor. I wanted to experience various ethnic foods. Koh-i-Noor was rated one of the top Indian restaurants in Amsterdam so I decided to try it out with my girlfriend. WOW! We were very impressed! The service was great and the food delicious. The restaurant is VERY small so make sure and reserve ahead of time. She and I didn't reserve so we were asked to wait at the bar next door. They came and got us when our table was ready. Very nice! Since I don't like coriander I asked that it be put on the side for my friend...no problem! All-in-all it was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    544
    228
    50
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food Ive ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Ive been to Amsterdam a few times and ever since that first meal, I come back here every time. Dutch people are nice, but the family who owns this restaurant makes sure that you are all taken care of. Perfect for all occasions. I live in Murray Hill in NYC, which they nickname Curry Hill because of the number of Indian Restaurants but I'd rather be at Koh-I-Noor anyday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Short changed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

If this is the best Indian in Amsterdam, I wouldn't like to try any other, food quality was poor, they focused on quantity rather than quality, I had the mixed plate to start, poorly presented and poor quality, my wife had onion bhaji, both mains were poor, they came with a pile of rice which had mixed veg through it which we found strange, and also an uninspiring salad which didn't look fresh and wasn't touched, we seen loads of salad going back to the kitchen untouched, there was no need for it.
The bill came to about 63 euro, I gave them 100, change came back 10 short, as soon as I pointed this out to the waiter he knew straight away how much short he was, looked deliberate to us, I wouldn't ever return here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sardool s, Owner at Koh-i-Noor, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am surprised to read all this. When you and your wife were here you were saying all the time"it is very good etc". Now because of one mistake from one waiter everything is BAD. Anybody can make a mistake.I know it is bad but it was not done intentionally.As you said that waiter /we knew exactly how much short it was. It is not right
as I came back from outside ( you know that) and i have seen the change myself then i shouted at the waiter to give correct change. He did the same and we all of us ask SORRY so many times .
Also, when you were complaining about this, you heard from other customers in the restaurant that "this is not that kind of people and restaurant.".We are doing this restaurant business for more than 32 years and nobody has ever questioned our honesty and integrity. Sir, with all the respect for your ten Euros, we would not cheat any customer even for 10 cents. Because of your review, I had to shout on the same waiter for this mistake, he got really upset and left the restaurant and went home. I am not sure if he will be coming back to work.

If we were like that we could never exist so long. ANY ONE MAY COMPLAIN ABOUT OUR QUALITY BUT WE DON"T ACCEPT COMPLAINS ABOUT OUR HONESTY as we are maybe the only restaurant who have been giving free food to homeless for years now. If we had to cheat someone, we would have never engaged in such noble activities...even then we are sorry for the mistake (not done intentionally).

At last, if you are not satisfied with our reasons, if you are still in Amsterdam, please come back and collect the amount you paid or send us your bank details and we will transfer back the money to you.

Best regards from Koh-i-noor management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The food was ok, but nothing special. We've had much better Indian food elsewhere. The portions were large and the prices relatively low. But I don't understand how this resultant has achieved a rating among the top ten in Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Nice and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We visit Koh-i-Noor and we really like, the prices are acceptable, service was great. everything was wonderwull.
It was very clean also.
I recommended to everybody

Thanks a lot
Talat SEN and Olga Barteneva

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh-i-Noor also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Koh-i-Noor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh-i-Noor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.