We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Value Your Own Health - Do Not Stay Here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Central Guest Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Central Guest Rooms to your Saves list
Central Guest Rooms
Vijzelstraat 71, 1017 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Sasha Bed & Breakfast) (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If You Value Your Own Health - Do Not Stay Here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Words can not describe how bad this hotel was.

Before arrival, we were contacted by the hotel and asked to meet at a set time in light of the fact that hotel has no front desk. Unfortunately in spite of us being their on time, no one from the hotel turned up to meet us and thus were left in the street for nearly an hour until eventually a member of staff opened the door.

Following on from this we were shown to our room, which was very small consisting of just a lumpy looking bed with bedding which appeared 'used' to but it politely. Shocked by how dirty it was, we were even more shocked to discover that it was infested by mosquitos. Not just one or two, but hundreds - if not thousands. The walls were crawling with them. The gentleman who showed us to the room expressed his concern that the noise of these might keep us awake, he didn't seem too worried about the prospect of us being eaten alive. To the credit of the guy showing us the room, he did explain that the owner was out of town and that he had tried unsuccessfully to contact him. The guy then explained that if we wanted he would allow us to cancel the room without charge and find something else in the city. We took this option and checked into the IBIS. Unfortunately however it seems that the guy forgot about this conversation and still proceeded to charge our credit card. Obviously we have contacted booking.com to get this money back. Its just a shame its another hassle to have to deal with because of this appalling hotel.

Dont stay there. It is really the most awful place you could ever hope to see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

nice, clean, comfortable, bed was huge, sheets were clean, tram stop literally 2 steps away, would have been nice to see the owner once but was nowhere to be seen, great location near to everything and renbrant sq just round the corner...........overall a very pleasant stay in amsterdam .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

It's easy to miss this B&B (or should I say "B") as it is not really signed at all! There is only a Large wooden door as you walk down the street! This started me off with the giggles, then the never ending staircase made me completely hysterical! It seemed to wind up and up never stop! Dont pack heavy bags, or you'll never make it! Sasha was friendly, if a little mysterious. We only saw him for 10 minutes when we arrived. There is no breakfast but there is free tea and coffee. The room was lovely, one of the refurbished ones I think, with a large TV with free cable. The location is fab and we didn't use public transport the entire time we were there. The price is reasonable for the area too, much cheaper than the other hotels I looked at. This place is understated and basic, but perfect if you want a long weekend break with no travel issues. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

December 2009. Got the room on the top floor with own bathroom. It is clean, pretty large for Amsterdam standards, sufficient light. Slept very well for two days and heard no noise from other people or the outside. TV, fridge, lights, shower, heating, all worked fine.

The staircase is still being worked on(no carpet in the upper part), but who cares for that price...

I had only paid the standard room (EUR 50), but because the people who had rented the large room cancelled and there was some confusion around my reservation, I got "upgraded", which was very nice.

In our case, very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I came to the hotel very tired from morning flight and wanted to get some sleep before going out at night but I couldn't as the hotel is being reconstructed right now and there was strong noise from drilling, hammer etc.
Then room is extremely tiny. You don't have place where to put your clothes, you can do 1 or 2 steps maximum. Bathroom is even worse, you don't have space to turn around especially if you are not really really slim. Moreover you cannot lock bathroom (only room) so other people can access it.
There is also a small kitchen but we cannot use it as the hotel was being reconstructed at that time. Maybe that was the reason why it was cheaper as it is really in the centre and other hotels are more expansive. I believe when this work is done the price will be higher but the bathroom will still remain very tiny.
It says bed and breakfast but we got no breakfast at all, no receipt of the payment.
I would advise to use this hotel only if you want to stay in centre and save some money and you dont mind lack of comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We recently stayed at this bed and breakfast. We saw Sasha once the 2 days we were there for. (He has a salon right next door.) Our bedroom was small, but it had a great view of the street. There's also a TV in the room, free internet (which we didn't use, didn't know where it was) but didn't really have the time for it either, free coffee as well. The bed was squeeky, but other than that it was great. The bathroom is updated, small, but clean. I would recommend anyone to stay here. It's a central location to walk to Rijksmuseum/VanGogh or to the Red Light district. Def check out the Heineken brewery while in Amsterdam! Also, when you get to the Central station, you can walk from there or take the bus, do not take a taxi! (Make sure you have a map of Amsterdam before going there, it's about 3 euros to buy over there. You can probably get something free online or cheaper I'm sure)

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Guest Rooms

Address: Vijzelstraat 71, 1017 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Sasha Bed & Breakfast)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Central Guest Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sasha Bed And Breakfast
Sasha Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Guest Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.