We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Guest Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Central Guest Rooms to your Saves list
Central Guest Rooms
Vijzelstraat 71, 1017 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Sasha Bed & Breakfast) (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Sasha's B & B was brilliant. We only stayed the one night my girlfriend and i in a lovely spacious room that had an en suite shower and a huge spacious bed.

The room is very good for those people on a budget, in the whole of central Amsterdam to have a double room with a private bathroom from my research the best prices were around 120/200 Euros not 75 which is what i paid.

In terms of location it is also ideal with a 15 minute walk on average to most of the attractions in central Amsterdam. Sasha himself was also very welcoming and accomadating. There was also a nice flat screen TV with a wide range of channels which is ideal if you have a couple of hours in the room for example before going out on an evening.

I was looking for a nice room for one night in Amsterdam at a reasonable price and Sasha's delivered, however those who like the atmoshpere, service, facilitles etc. of a proper hotel i would suggest Sasha's isn't for you. I am not sure if there was an option of breakfast, as we never asked and it was never offered to be fair, but we were more than happy sorting ourselves out.

All in all two very happy Customers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Stayed here for one night. It was a bit difficult to find the entrance and there was no one there when we arrived. Had to call a number then the man came to let us in.
The room was clean, lovely bed,, flatscreen tv. Curtains let in a bit of light and the traffic from the street could be heard in the morning.Shared bathroom with the room next door. Bathroom ceiling a bit mouldy but it was modern.
Breakfast isn't provided but there is a kitchen you can use with tea and coffee provided which was really nice.
For 50 euros it was great value, and near to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We booked this B&B because it was centrally located and was on a par price-wise with most good hostels in the centre of Amsterdam. Location wise it was excellent for a short break as it was 20 mins walk from Dam Square and 10 mins walk from Rembrant Square with a tram stop right outside the front door.

However, we found that the website was not a true representation of the rooms and service provided. We booked a room with a shared bathroom going on the photographs on the website, and were rather disappointed to discover that the room we were allocated was tiny, incredibly dark and looked straight onto the main road. This is not so bad as if we had had the other room with a shared bathroom we would have been overlooking a nightclub which got quite loud on a Friday night.

The room and bathrooms, though small, were clean. However there was no cleaning service during our stay and for a change of towels an additional cost would be incurred. Only one window and light worked in our room (the others were broken) and the noise from the road was quite loud. We would not have been able to sleep with the window open if required. In addition the walls were really thin and we could hear our neighbours and could smell the smoke from the kitchen below where guests are permitted to smoke.

Although Sasha appears to be facilitating via email, in person he is rather abrupt and not on hand for questions or last minute changes to check in/out times. Though he will store your bags free of charge.

Also, the stairs going up to the rooms are extremely narrow so only bring small bags and do not consider staying here if you have trouble climbing stairs as these are particularly challenging even for the fittest!!

(A photo of our room is attached)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Nice clean place in a good location of the city, walking distance to many places including rembrandt square. However it was very small, like many other places in Amsterdam but the house keeper was professional and our place was clean with no disturbance. It is on a main street so noise from outside if you don't mind. Winding staircase.

The shower didn't have enough pressure and the sink was small, again like many other places in Amsterdam. Its a good place if you/re by yourself or girlfriend, our room wasn't big enough for 2 guys. I guess he had another room or 2 that was bigger but only thing he had available for us was the small room. This is just a place to lay your head at night or early morning depending on what you like to do. That's it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Words can not describe how bad this hotel was.

Before arrival, we were contacted by the hotel and asked to meet at a set time in light of the fact that hotel has no front desk. Unfortunately in spite of us being their on time, no one from the hotel turned up to meet us and thus were left in the street for nearly an hour until eventually a member of staff opened the door.

Following on from this we were shown to our room, which was very small consisting of just a lumpy looking bed with bedding which appeared 'used' to but it politely. Shocked by how dirty it was, we were even more shocked to discover that it was infested by mosquitos. Not just one or two, but hundreds - if not thousands. The walls were crawling with them. The gentleman who showed us to the room expressed his concern that the noise of these might keep us awake, he didn't seem too worried about the prospect of us being eaten alive. To the credit of the guy showing us the room, he did explain that the owner was out of town and that he had tried unsuccessfully to contact him. The guy then explained that if we wanted he would allow us to cancel the room without charge and find something else in the city. We took this option and checked into the IBIS. Unfortunately however it seems that the guy forgot about this conversation and still proceeded to charge our credit card. Obviously we have contacted booking.com to get this money back. Its just a shame its another hassle to have to deal with because of this appalling hotel.

Dont stay there. It is really the most awful place you could ever hope to see.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

nice, clean, comfortable, bed was huge, sheets were clean, tram stop literally 2 steps away, would have been nice to see the owner once but was nowhere to be seen, great location near to everything and renbrant sq just round the corner...........overall a very pleasant stay in amsterdam .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

It's easy to miss this B&B (or should I say "B") as it is not really signed at all! There is only a Large wooden door as you walk down the street! This started me off with the giggles, then the never ending staircase made me completely hysterical! It seemed to wind up and up never stop! Dont pack heavy bags, or you'll never make it! Sasha was friendly, if a little mysterious. We only saw him for 10 minutes when we arrived. There is no breakfast but there is free tea and coffee. The room was lovely, one of the refurbished ones I think, with a large TV with free cable. The location is fab and we didn't use public transport the entire time we were there. The price is reasonable for the area too, much cheaper than the other hotels I looked at. This place is understated and basic, but perfect if you want a long weekend break with no travel issues. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Guest Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Guest Rooms

Address: Vijzelstraat 71, 1017 HG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Sasha Bed & Breakfast)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Central Guest Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sasha Bed And Breakfast
Sasha Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Guest Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.