We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food and delightful wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daalder

Daalder
Lindengracht, 90, 1015KK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6248864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,460 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $112
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dear Guest, So ... It 'guides season "is over! And we can be satisfied. Our place in the Gault Millau, we consolidated nicely with 15 points and also in Nice was written both in print and online again praised us. And last but not least, we got a nice mention as pleasant restaurant with very tasty dishes and an excellent wine list in the Michelin Guide. So that's nice! Now we go back just do what we like ... People deliver a top gourmet evening in a relaxed environment for a relaxing price.   With warm culinary regards,   Frans van Dam & Wilke Durand
Touring The World
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and delightful wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A lovely restaurant in a beautiful corner of Amsterdam. The staff are knowledgeable, the atmosphere is relaxed and the chef really knows his stuff. We were a "difficult" table of 4 with 1 vegetarian and 1 non fish eater and they coped admirably. We all had the 5 course menu which was adapted skillfully for those of us with restrictions. The portions were perfect, the flavours subtle and clever and those that were drinking said the wine pairings were absolutely perfect. I've eaten in Michelin starred restaurants that did no better than this. We will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone who is serious about their food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    88
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I had the most incredible meal at Daalder this weekend. The service was informal yet efficient and friendly. The atmosphere was relaxed and cosy and food was a culinary delight! We had the 5 course menu with wine pairing. Each course was absolutely delicious and the wine chosen was a perfect match for each course. This chef and his team definitely know what they are doing and it was fantastic. Thank you for a wonderful experience and I can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow! What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We wandered into this restaurant & got lucky! Even though the place was jammed they had an open table for 4. There are no menu "options" your only choice is the number of courses you choose to receive.

We were a little afraid...as sometimes the "unique foods" end up over the edge outside of a pleasing range of flavors. But we took the risk and were surprised and delighted with every course and every bite!

Make reservations...because this place is going to have a very busy future based on the outstanding food & service we received!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First night in Amsterdam and a real WINNER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Based on reviews in Tripadvisor my wife and I choose Daalder for our first dinner in Amsterdam. What a fabulous meal and wonderful service. We chose the four course offering and every course offered new and exciting favors. We strongly recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting Amsterdam who appreciates well chosen food prepared so as to excite your taste buds. Nothing fancy about the place, I wore a sport coa, but there was everything from a shirt and jeans to a few of us with a sport coat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great place to go for some thing different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

A real special little treat. No menu as such, they just bring you nice things to eat. All helped along with staff who know what they are doing. All in all a real good evenings eating.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daalder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.