We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky sensation ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daalder

Daalder
Lindengracht 90, 1015 KK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 624 8864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $76
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Dear guest, The past year was a great year for Daalder ... We got ourselves a listing in the Gault Millau 2014 with no less than 15 points ... and won the GaultMillau Price Fun Award ...All this praise led to a visit of the Michelin Guide ...and...they were absolutely delighted! Daalder's goal in 2014 is to become: The simplest 'Michelin Star Cafe' in the world . Obviously without Michelin star prices and the star behaviour. This year we want to exceed the expectations, by serving even less dishes with an even higher level. So,you choose whether you want to eat an 3-4-5 or 6-course menu and leave the rest to our Chef's. The new concept is a big succes, so to meet the high demands, now you can also book for lunch at Daalder; for even more beautiful prices at the same beautiful level. lunch: daily exept Saturdays ) Lunch 2- course menu € 23.50 3- course menu € 29.50 4- course menu € 36.50 diner 3-course menu € 36.50 4-course menu € 42.50 5-course menu € 50.00 6-course menu € 57.50 With Warm Culinairy Regards, Frans van Dam & Wilke Durand
Mill Valley, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smoky sensation ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Second time visiting Daalder and both times had great meals. Chef is a master at smoking whether its almonds or pork. Interesting way of deconstructing foods to deliver fresh flavors

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    165
    54
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“'a very nice surprise'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

One of my friends who cooks like a star recommended me to eat at Daalder. He called Daalder a restaurant where he, 'fell twice of his chair'. Not because of bad chairs but because of very good food. Yesterday we had a 3 courses arrangement for 36 euro's and it was very good. The taste is surprisingly original good and delicious. If you love food and like to be surprised it is a very nice surprise. Good wines also!! Thanks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good Food but Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We dined there on Christmas day. The place is small like most of the resturants in Amsterdam which don't serve many tables. Food was very good with a touch of oriental flavor and we enjoyed it. However the service was extremely slow. The waitstaff were very friendly though.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you happen to be in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam and looking for a place to unpack and have a bite, this is the place! Typical Dutch atmosphere and great for people-watching! The menu allows for just enough choice without overwhelming you, and judging from the orders served around us, everything looked real tasty! Our choice of meal was typically Dutch - kroketten, simple but well prepared and equally tasty! Highly recommended and it seems very popular with the locals alike! Not too touristy at all, given the location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine in a local neighbourhood near central Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This restaurant is simply great. I did not have a reservation, and the restaurant was booked out, but they staff offered me three choices to eat there, including the one I selected where the booking was not till later. The wait staff were friendly and attentive and interested in the food. The restaurant is small but cosy, with a kitchen on view style. But in the end its all about the food and this the best part. The herring appertiser was stellar with the fish accompanied by a range of beets in different styles but mostly as meringue-like wafers. The chicken was also good but I was most impressed by one of the chefs who saw I was not ordering a large meal and came by with an extra soup for me to try (complimentary too). So whats not to like? The wine choice was varied and interesting. The location is a couple of canals over from the main train station but a pleasant, safe walk. Having eaten at many restaurants over the years, I have to rank this one very near the top of my all time list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daalder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.