We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but Slow Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daalder

Daalder
Lindengracht 90, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6248864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,611 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $109
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dear Guest, So ... It 'guides season "is over! And we can be satisfied. Our place in the Gault Millau, we consolidated nicely with 15 points and also in Nice was written both in print and online again praised us. And last but not least, we got a nice mention as pleasant restaurant with very tasty dishes and an excellent wine list in the Michelin Guide. So that's nice! Now we go back just do what we like ... People deliver a top gourmet evening in a relaxed environment for a relaxing price.   With warm culinary regards,   Frans van Dam & Wilke Durand
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good Food but Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We dined there on Christmas day. The place is small like most of the resturants in Amsterdam which don't serve many tables. Food was very good with a touch of oriental flavor and we enjoyed it. However the service was extremely slow. The waitstaff were very friendly though.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    86
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really cool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you happen to be in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam and looking for a place to unpack and have a bite, this is the place! Typical Dutch atmosphere and great for people-watching! The menu allows for just enough choice without overwhelming you, and judging from the orders served around us, everything looked real tasty! Our choice of meal was typically Dutch - kroketten, simple but well prepared and equally tasty! Highly recommended and it seems very popular with the locals alike! Not too touristy at all, given the location.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine in a local neighbourhood near central Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This restaurant is simply great. I did not have a reservation, and the restaurant was booked out, but they staff offered me three choices to eat there, including the one I selected where the booking was not till later. The wait staff were friendly and attentive and interested in the food. The restaurant is small but cosy, with a kitchen on view style. But in the end its all about the food and this the best part. The herring appertiser was stellar with the fish accompanied by a range of beets in different styles but mostly as meringue-like wafers. The chicken was also good but I was most impressed by one of the chefs who saw I was not ordering a large meal and came by with an extra soup for me to try (complimentary too). So whats not to like? The wine choice was varied and interesting. The location is a couple of canals over from the main train station but a pleasant, safe walk. Having eaten at many restaurants over the years, I have to rank this one very near the top of my all time list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific food, excellent service, informal atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Best risotto I ever had, topped off with a touch of truffles and crispy rice. Duck was perfectly cooked. Fun atmosphere. Service by people who clearly cared. Hope to come back when I visit Amsterdam next time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will never forget the Brussel Sprout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Delicious three course dinner in stylish surroundings. Modern techniques and culinary skills working with excellent produce and friendly service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daalder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.