We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daalder

Daalder
Lindengracht 90, Amsterdam 1015 KK, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 624 8864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 2,223 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $31 - $77
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Dear guest, The past year was a great year for Daalder ... We got ourselves a listing in the Gault Millau 2014 with no less than 15 points ... and won the GaultMillau Price Fun Award ...All this praise led to a visit of the Michelin Guide ...and...they were absolutely delighted! Daalder's goal in 2014 is to become: The simplest 'Michelin Star Cafe' in the world . Obviously without Michelin star prices and the star behaviour. This year we want to exceed the expectations, by serving even less dishes with an even higher level. So,you choose whether you want to eat an 3-4-5 or 6-course menu and leave the rest to our Chef's. The new concept is a big succes, so to meet the high demands, now you can also book for lunch at Daalder; for even more beautiful prices at the same beautiful level. lunch: daily exept Saturdays ) Lunch 2- course menu € 23.50 3- course menu € 29.50 4- course menu € 36.50 diner 3-course menu € 36.50 4-course menu € 42.50 5-course menu € 50.00 6-course menu € 57.50 With Warm Culinairy Regards, Frans van Dam & Wilke Durand
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

First of all, for the reviewers who had an issue with the rare steaks, you shoukd carefully choose the types of restaurants you dine in if everyone at your table objects to rare steaks...Couldn't disagree more with those bad reviews...We were vacationing in Europe for our honeymoon and Amsterdam was our very last stop. We choose Daalder based on a recommendation from our bed n breakfast innkeepers. We consider ourself huge foodies and wanted a top notch meal for our last night. We couldn't have been more pleased with each dish for our 4 - course chefs selection menu. It kept getting better as the dishes came out. Highly highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    154
    49
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor Services”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I like to concur with Lorraine H Dublin. I would like to add that our first impression of Dutch restaurant hospitality was disappointing to say the least . We have on many occasions dined on a chef's set menu, but as a paying customer I have never experienced beef, been served up without any recognition of my preference for,rare,medium or well done. I also find it rude and very unprofessional for staff to pass smart comments back to their customers, i.e when serving up our dessert the two waiters made remarks, that it was " well cooked".
Fortunately enough our last impression of Dutch restaurant cuisine and service was to an excellent standard when we had a very nice meal and service the following day in another restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was very disappointed with the meal in Daalder restaurant last week. I had been phoned in advance to say that the hotel was putting on the Chiefs menu. One of starters contained fish, after we had told the waitress that one in our group was allergic to fish/shellfish. The main meal was steak, cooked rare. This was not suitable to the majority at the table and we felt we should have been asked what way we wanted the steak cooked. To say that the meal was small is no understatement. There was a sliver of onion and some pureed sauce – but that was it. As we were not told in advance what the meal was we were not aware that we would need to order sides of veg, which we certainly needed. We ordered fries as we were all still hungry. The meal was well gone before the fries appeared. We told the waiter that we were not satisfied with the meal, mainly due to the fact that the meat was so rare, and when our deserts arrived they made comments about how the desert was not undercooked. This certainly gave us the impression that they did not take our comments seriously, and moreover seemed to be talking about us amongst themselves, and were happy for us to know this. This showed a very unprofessional approach, especially when they were trying to present “haute cuisine”. I would not recommend this restaurant. It is pretentious and the basic look/character of the place did not match the style of food being provided.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We did not have a reservation and had tried a restaurant nearby and were turned away. When I asked for a recommendation they sent me here. I think we were very lucky to get the only empty table here and I am so glad we did. The meal was excellent - creative, varied, super combinations of texture and flavors. We chose the 3 course meal that the chef creates and we were all so very pleased with the evening. Wine was wonderful too. If we had been in NY City this meal would have been in a swanky place with stuffy waiters and would have cost much, much more. The staff was friendly and warm. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Service. Tasty Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

In truth I was a little disappointed after reading great reviews but we found the service great and food off the a la carte menu tasty.
I think we should have gone for the set menu with several courses as our choosen courses were on the small side but stil the pluses far out weighed the negative.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daalder also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Daalder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daalder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.