We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Get the Deluxe rooms. Small but have everythin u need. Rooms have an en-suite but with a twist. The Walls are frosted glass and Right beside the bed. So not for partners who are not comfortable with each other. Most rooms overlook a small version of a red light but hey if u don't wanna c that sort of thing don't go to Amsterdam. Location - perfect. Rooms are adequate and clean. All together would recommend

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    644
    107
    27
    17
See reviews for
125
844
66
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
antwerp
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We enjoyed our stay- new hotel, clean, spacious rooms, easy access to city center, and the design is interesting. Don't expect a charming boutique hotel, but for us it was really comfortable and functional.
The pool is also probably a plus, though we never really got around to seeing it- we came to see the city, not hang around in our swim suits..
If you arrive by car we recommend the parking lot of the World Fashion Center, it's dirt cheap and they even give free tickets to the tram!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The hotel, is new and modern, the decor is MODERN. The rooms are big by European standards and comfortable. The problem is that the staff doesn't know anything and don't bother to find out for you. Internet in the room was free, no free breakfast.

Take Tram 1 from the central train station to get there. You will need to walk 5-6 blocks to reach it from the stop.

I think I would look for a hotel more near the center of town. I'm not recommending this hotel only because of the pathetic staff, the hotel itself was good.

The business center is a computer on the far end of the check in counter.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November 2009. It had only just been opened. Gorgeous hotel, very clean, lovely bed and very nice bathroom including a nice deep bath and shower. Didn't eat in the hotel but food looked good. Service was great and the swimming pool was perfect! The location of the hotel is only about 10-15 mins on the tram to the square or 10 mins by taxi which wasnt a problem for us. We liked it so much we have rebooked for this year!
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Beautiful hotel, great location ... disappointing service.

If you are looking for a clean, beautiful hotel ... WestCord Fashion hits the spot! However, the service offered for the expensive price tag is poor ... we waited 20 minutes for teabags, three days for batteries (for the TV remote control), and were told that milk could be provided for tea at cost of £7.50.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Okay, so it's a bit out of the way in a weird rubbly part of town. DOESN'T MATTER! For comparison, I will tell you about my and my fiancé's experience here and at another hotel in the middle of town. The middle of town hotel had the feel of a tourist dump catering to the hoi polloi whereas this hotel feels like a sleek getaway. Every detail is CUTE. :)

My fiancé and I are young, urban people in the music industry. Fashion Hotel treated us like special guests, they were kind from the get-go. The hotel in the center whose name I won't mention? I got the feeling they gave us a room off to the side just for the looks of us, asked us if they could see our room keys, and didn't file our special "extra person" fee and in dealing with it, we ended up missing our last opportunity to go to the zoo.

Fashion hotel is clean, cute, and SEXY! Well-designed, thoughtful, upscale but inviting. I loved it, and on our second Amsterdam vacation we often woefully thought of it. :)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is a new hotel that provides modern, upscale rooms for a good price. It puts on a good breakfast and has good conference facilities. The main issue is the location.

The hotel makes a good first impression. A proper four-star. The reception staff were efficient, helpful and flexible. The décor in the hotel is based on “fashion”, so I guess you could call it “upscale funky”. Lots of bold colours.

We loved the room. Fairly spacious, well lit, modern, new-looking, clean. Big comfortable bed. Interesting fabrics and design. Modern, luxury bathroom, with separate WC. Lots of closet space & counter space. Excellent coffee-making facilities, fridge, ironing board.

Our room did not have an interesting v iew, but then we were on a lower floor. Quiet, even though close to the motorway.

Free wifi. (A huge factor when choosing a hotel, I find.) The TV had a number of English channels, and channels in other languages. However, the TV had an unusual channel-display system that included an annoying slight delay when changing channels.

The breakfast spread was extensive, varied and classy, although not perhaps in the luxury range. Eggs scrambled or boiled. Various sticky buns. OK coffee. Very nice fruit and juices. It’s not cheap if you order it separately (€14 I think) so try to get it included. The cuisine produced by the kitchen here, as you might expect from a “fashion hotel” is quite good. I had lunch here twice, and it felt positively luxurious.

The conference facilities and services are excellent.

The fitness centre is more than a typical hotel gym, but less than a proper health club. It has a 15 m pool and a small facility with about 12 expensive-looking cardio and strength machines. These are free for hotel guests. I didn’t see dumbbells or barbells, but maybe they’re there -- they wouldn’t let me look. The sauna costs €10. When I was ready to go in to train, I was subjected to an off-putting inspection, lecture and serious attitude. Save yourself the trouble: Bring a clean towel and clean your shoes thoroughly before attempting entry -- and don’t look them in the eyes. They’re clearly looking for reasons not to let in the hotel guests. It’s not an extensive, welcoming facility. There is no other gym nearby, as far as I can see. Indeed, there is almost nothing at all nearby (except the highway). So if working out is important to you, find another hotel.

The first thing you notice about the WestCord Fashion Hotel is its location. It’s in a part of Amsterdam that no-one really goes to. It’s about 500 metres from something called “World Fashion Centre”, but that is hardly a site worth a special trip.

The parking was a whopping €25 a night, even though the hotel is located along the motorway in the middle of nowhere. If they are trying to get motorists to stay here, this seems like a strange way to do it.

The location is convenient only in the sense that it’s on the A10 northbound near the S106 (Cornelis Lelylaan). So getting here by car from the motorway is not that difficult. Still, the A10 is hardly an “open road”. The hotel is about 3 kms from the A4/A10 motorway interchange, one of the busiest in the entire country. Come here at rush hour (from Schiphol or anywhere else) and you are certain to be caught in a serious traffic jam. Nor is the hotel particularly close to Schiphol, despite what they tell you.

You might think, well, I’ll park my car at the hotel and take public transport into the centre of town. That is conceivable, because tram 1 and tram 17 do come out this far. However, you have to walk several hundred metres to get to these stops. Surprisingly for Amsterdam, no tram stops beside the hotel. If you plan to come back after a night on the town, you have to rely on Nightbus 353, which stops at Lelylaan Station. From there, it’s about a 500 m. walk to the hotel in what seems to be a relatively safe neighbourhood. I really urge the hotel to issue guests with a sheet of paper with simple and precise instructions on how to get to Amsterdam (and back) by public transport.

When we were there, the hotel was filled with Italian bus tourists. There were others, but it was mostly this at breakfast. Somehow this hotel suited this particular group perfectly.

This hotel is perfect for motorists who want to stay near Amsterdam, but don’t need to go to the centre of Amsterdam at all. The location didn’t work for me personally. While I would definitely recommend the hotel itself (5/5), I would not recommend its location (1/5). My “yes” is therefore a qualified one and my rating tries to balance these two factors.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.