We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style & substance, but not a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
“Style & substance, but not a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is a new hotel that provides modern, upscale rooms for a good price. It puts on a good breakfast and has good conference facilities. The main issue is the location.

The hotel makes a good first impression. A proper four-star. The reception staff were efficient, helpful and flexible. The décor in the hotel is based on “fashion”, so I guess you could call it “upscale funky”. Lots of bold colours.

We loved the room. Fairly spacious, well lit, modern, new-looking, clean. Big comfortable bed. Interesting fabrics and design. Modern, luxury bathroom, with separate WC. Lots of closet space & counter space. Excellent coffee-making facilities, fridge, ironing board.

Our room did not have an interesting v iew, but then we were on a lower floor. Quiet, even though close to the motorway.

Free wifi. (A huge factor when choosing a hotel, I find.) The TV had a number of English channels, and channels in other languages. However, the TV had an unusual channel-display system that included an annoying slight delay when changing channels.

The breakfast spread was extensive, varied and classy, although not perhaps in the luxury range. Eggs scrambled or boiled. Various sticky buns. OK coffee. Very nice fruit and juices. It’s not cheap if you order it separately (€14 I think) so try to get it included. The cuisine produced by the kitchen here, as you might expect from a “fashion hotel” is quite good. I had lunch here twice, and it felt positively luxurious.

The conference facilities and services are excellent.

The fitness centre is more than a typical hotel gym, but less than a proper health club. It has a 15 m pool and a small facility with about 12 expensive-looking cardio and strength machines. These are free for hotel guests. I didn’t see dumbbells or barbells, but maybe they’re there -- they wouldn’t let me look. The sauna costs €10. When I was ready to go in to train, I was subjected to an off-putting inspection, lecture and serious attitude. Save yourself the trouble: Bring a clean towel and clean your shoes thoroughly before attempting entry -- and don’t look them in the eyes. They’re clearly looking for reasons not to let in the hotel guests. It’s not an extensive, welcoming facility. There is no other gym nearby, as far as I can see. Indeed, there is almost nothing at all nearby (except the highway). So if working out is important to you, find another hotel.

The first thing you notice about the WestCord Fashion Hotel is its location. It’s in a part of Amsterdam that no-one really goes to. It’s about 500 metres from something called “World Fashion Centre”, but that is hardly a site worth a special trip.

The parking was a whopping €25 a night, even though the hotel is located along the motorway in the middle of nowhere. If they are trying to get motorists to stay here, this seems like a strange way to do it.

The location is convenient only in the sense that it’s on the A10 northbound near the S106 (Cornelis Lelylaan). So getting here by car from the motorway is not that difficult. Still, the A10 is hardly an “open road”. The hotel is about 3 kms from the A4/A10 motorway interchange, one of the busiest in the entire country. Come here at rush hour (from Schiphol or anywhere else) and you are certain to be caught in a serious traffic jam. Nor is the hotel particularly close to Schiphol, despite what they tell you.

You might think, well, I’ll park my car at the hotel and take public transport into the centre of town. That is conceivable, because tram 1 and tram 17 do come out this far. However, you have to walk several hundred metres to get to these stops. Surprisingly for Amsterdam, no tram stops beside the hotel. If you plan to come back after a night on the town, you have to rely on Nightbus 353, which stops at Lelylaan Station. From there, it’s about a 500 m. walk to the hotel in what seems to be a relatively safe neighbourhood. I really urge the hotel to issue guests with a sheet of paper with simple and precise instructions on how to get to Amsterdam (and back) by public transport.

When we were there, the hotel was filled with Italian bus tourists. There were others, but it was mostly this at breakfast. Somehow this hotel suited this particular group perfectly.

This hotel is perfect for motorists who want to stay near Amsterdam, but don’t need to go to the centre of Amsterdam at all. The location didn’t work for me personally. While I would definitely recommend the hotel itself (5/5), I would not recommend its location (1/5). My “yes” is therefore a qualified one and my rating tries to balance these two factors.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    644
    107
    27
    17
See reviews for
125
845
66
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

At least a 20 min tram ride from the centre and on a dual carriage way which would definitely be a bit risky were you to be coming back late at night. Whilst the staff weren't unfriendly I only saw one staff member for a big hotel. The decor was bizarre with random naked mannequins adorning the halls and a glass door to the bathroom which in one sense was romantic but certainly not if you are using for more functional means... To sum up, best avoided.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We wanted to stay in a clean, modern and easy access hotel on our first trip together to Amsterdam and Westcord Fashion was the right choice. We really liked the photos of the hotel while booking via booking.com and the hotel definetely was no disappointment at all. Such a clean and comfortable room. A great, big bed and two chairs with a coffee table in between could fit in the room. Amenities contain tea/coffee which is definetely a plus. Lobby, bars and other public areas are very fashion and fun.
Location is not like in the middle of everything but taking one bus and 10 min trip take you to the heart of the city. If you imagine that you can easily go on foot around Amsterdam, transportation doesnt cost a thing.
Staff was good.Helped us with whatever we need. We wanted to book a one day tour from the hotel and they did really good job with that also.
One not cool thing about the hotel was the music noise coming from the Sky Bar (I think 11th floor or something) but it was ok after a while because we dropped dead everyday after long hours of discovering Amsterdam.
I cant really remember any other bad thing about this hotel. We really enjoyed staying there and recommend to evryone.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel is around 30 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam (5-10 minutes walk, 20 minutes on the tram) but offers unbelievable quality for the price. The rooms are modern, luxurious and spacious. We had a drink in the Skyy [sic] bar, it's OK up there but a little disappointing. Otherwise we brought in supplies from the city everyday (there is a small drawer with a couple of wine bottle sized compartments for your own use as part of the mini bar). There is a large Albert Heijn supermarket, next to Magna Plaza and near the tram stop at Dam Square for both lines 1 and 17 (that go to the hotel) so this is ideal.

The nearest tram stop is Derkinderenstraat, not Surinameplein as others have said. You need to exit the hotel on level -2 and then turn left, under the motorway bridge and then right at the roundabout. The tram entrances are under the next bridge on the left-hand side

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This is a really good hotel and is excellent value for money for Amsterdam. The rooms are a good size and were very clean. The hotel is a bit out of town with nothing much in the local area but the tram stop is only 10 minutes walk away with the tram ride around 10 minutes into the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

It is really good hotel with this best price. The room was huge for an Amsterdam city hotel. I will stay in this hotel if they continue offer this price. It is close the city center with clean and cozy decoreted rooms. I stayed a lot of Amsterdam hotels in different areaz but this is the best one..

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Towels are numbered...

This hotel was alright for £65/€77 a night, 3 lifts for a bit of light gambling, nice homey feel, good security and the best thing... See through door on the shower room, makes you feel like a moviestar knowing u could be being watched, and on the other side watching my girl in the shower through 1 of a choice of mirrors was spot on. Only problems..whichever guy on was on the reception thought they were high level senior management and €15 for a sandwich.
Seriously overpriced hotel in many ways but top drawer in others

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.