We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very new and clean and huge rooms with really low price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“very new and clean and huge rooms with really low price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

It is really good hotel with this best price. The room was huge for an Amsterdam city hotel. I will stay in this hotel if they continue offer this price. It is close the city center with clean and cozy decoreted rooms. I stayed a lot of Amsterdam hotels in different areaz but this is the best one..

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    727
    120
    30
    19
See reviews for
137
1,006
73
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Towels are numbered...

This hotel was alright for £65/€77 a night, 3 lifts for a bit of light gambling, nice homey feel, good security and the best thing... See through door on the shower room, makes you feel like a moviestar knowing u could be being watched, and on the other side watching my girl in the shower through 1 of a choice of mirrors was spot on. Only problems..whichever guy on was on the reception thought they were high level senior management and €15 for a sandwich.
Seriously overpriced hotel in many ways but top drawer in others

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Lovely hotel with very new feel. Nice pool; ok service; EXCELLENT breakfast. Too far from city for my liking (or at least the local tram stop)- it cost €15 to get a taxi to the hotel from Liedensplein on Friday night! If you needed to stay near the airport or the main motorways ( or didn't need to be central) this is a brilliant choic. Of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

we stayed in this hotel last weekend and had a great time! The location may not be very central but the city centre is easily accesible by tram and travelling on public transport adds to the tourist experience!

The hotel itself is beautiful, very stylish and elegant and definately matches up to the photos. The room is spacious enough for two people and the beds are comfortable. I can understand people being wary of the window into the bathroom/shower though, however you soon get used to it!

I would recommend visiting the SKY BAR for cocktails and a 10 Storey View, the cocktails are lovely if not exactly cheap! We had breakfast and bar snacks in the hotel and the food is great.

The staff are courteous and helpful, they recommended places to go and eat in town, and also gave us tram number and directions. We also made a visit to the Salon for beauty treatments and the Beauty Therapist was friendly, chatty and the treatments were excellent!

On the downside, there was a fire alarm at 1.30am on the last night of our stay. I would not call the way the hotel staff dealt with this professional. We ended up waiting outside the hotel until 4am, the fire service was not called and no explanation was given.

however, I would call this the only negative part of our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam, we got a fantastic last minute deal at Expedia and it was well worth the money. If you don't mind not being right in the city centre, but would like a comfortable, elegant experience, this may be the hotel for you!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Location:
The hotel is located to the South-West of the city centre - but still within the city. By London standards, it is still very central: the tram ride takes about 10-15 minutes to get into the centre. The tram stop is Surinameplein, and it's on lines 1 or 17. #1 is the fastest route. It takes about 5 minutes to walk from the hotel to Surinameplein.

Rooms:
The hotel is entirely non-smoking, which is brilliant in a country like the Nertherlands. The rooms are spotlessly clean and modern. The bed is very comfortable, and the air conditioning works well and quietly.

Bathroom:
The bathroom is modern, and has a bath and a separate shower area. The dividing door between the bathroom and the main room is made of sliding glass - so it's fine if two people are sharing who are intimately acquainted, but it would be less suitable for two friends on holiday. The toilet is entirely separate, and has a solid door.

Check-in:
We arrived early in the morning - around 09:30 - and since the hotel was not full they did not make any issue, or even mention the fact that we had arrived several hours early. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and the room was ready immediately.

Breakfast:
There is a fair selection for the breakfast, but it is not excellent. There is no egg/omelette station, but there is a supply of scrambled and boiled eggs. There is fresh fruit, cereal, bread and cold cuts. There are also fried products, including low-quality sausages.

Facilities:
The advertised free wi-fi throughout the hotel was not working. The network could be found, but when a connection was attempted it failed every time within the rooms - and only in the lobby it was possible to connect. Even then, the connection was very unstable, and standing next to the router it still failed every time a few seconds after connecting.

There were two computers in the lobby with internet access which were free to use for guests.

The swimming pool is free for guests to use, but the sauna and steam room are not. The pool area had a rule whereby guests were not allowed to walk in outdoor shoes - and the area outside the door to the pool had a rule wherey guests were not allowed to walk in bare feet. A normal policy, yes - but the problem is that the changing rooms are entirely separate, with no direct access from the changing room to the pool. This meant that - in order to comply with their regulations - after using the pool it was necessary to stand precisely on the threshold of the door between the pool area and the dry reception area, and hop on one leg with the door open while drying the other foot with a towel in order to change into one's shoes. No other combination of action or location would have satisfied them that we complied with their rules. This needs to be reviewed!

General comments:
The hotel is very nice, but it is understaffed. During breakfast, there were no clean tables available - and the reason was because there was only one girl serving, whose job it was to book in guests, clean tables and re-set them - among other things. We had to clear a table ourselves and then look for hard-to-find clean cutlery. The girl was rushed off her feet: not her fault, it's just that they needed more staff.

Overall:
We paid under £100 per night for two people, and compared with the advertised rack rate of €245 per night it was great value. The important things were excellent: rooms and cleanliness. Therefore I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the hotel for six days and were very happy with the hotel. The hotel itself was worth the money. I have been in many five star hotels that have been much worse.

The hotel was located about 4-5km from the Central station. There are two trams that go straight to there in about 20minutes. Lelyaan station with metro, train and tramstops is also near so it is easy to trip from airport and back. It is easy to get everywhere from there. So we quite liked it compared to hotels in the city center. There are also two big parks close, the Rembrant park and the Vonderpark.

The rooms were just like in the pictures. They were modern, clean and nice to stay. The beds were excelent. There were a few problems too, parts of the room were not that well built but those were minor details.

Service was excelent for us, but service did depend on the person. The Skyy bar was nice, a bit empty always but stil nice place to go and get a few drinks.

The hotel is worth your money atleast for now because they are building more stuff around it so I think that when it is finished it´s prices will go up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

I agree with all the positive comments regarding this hotel - it was extremely comfortable. Staff very courteous and helpful- and they let us check in by 11am which was fantastic!

The only downside was that they are so close to the airport but have no shuttles - they said they are working on it so hopefully soon

The tram/bus/metro [Lelylaan] is at least a 10 min walk away so bear that in mind

There is just a shower, no bath but thats ok for a short stay. The glass bathroom door is fine, makes no difference!

The mini fridge is really a little drawer, but for 2 days you can manage. We didnt have the breakfast (17 euros), and had tea in our room- but apparently the room service for breakfast is free I think -so a nice treat!

They had great offers at the wellness centre- massages and back scrubs for 40 euros etc, so worth a try

Lastly, regarding location - it is just on the ring around Amsterdam, and definitley not in city centre. But city centre is 15 mins away on tram and really wasnt an issue for us.
We got this hotel on an amazing special (£100/night) and had no issue comprimising a little on location - but really 15 mins is no biggie and we spent all day out anyway!

Best part was FREE wifi!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.