We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Luxurious but other guests & some staff rude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Blackpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Luxurious but other guests & some staff rude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I have just got back from the Fashion Hotel and I didnt expect it to be as nice as it was. The hotel is very nice, as soon as you see the building you think "Wow"....even though the surrounding area is still under development.
A friend and I went for Trance Energy which was held in Utecht. It was the best event I have ever been to....

On arrival the lady behind reception (Ramone) was really nice. She told us our room had already been paid for but I booked it on booking.com and when I checked, it hadnt. We tried to pay and she said no....the room has definately been paid for, so we were happy with this :-)
The rooms are lovely, minibar in the room is pretty expensive. About 3.50 euros for a can of beer and about 6.00 euros for a redbull. The bill for us at the end was 87 euros....!
The beds are comfortable and the bath is great. Nice deep bath to have a soak in.

Tram ride to Dam Square is about 10 mins on a number 1 Tram and about 15 mins on a number 17. You can buy a travel card from the hotel reception but for us this was a waste of money as we always got taxis back. (20 euros in a taxi) DO NOT be ripped off by some of the taxi drivers who will say 30 euros. Just tell them you got one the night before and it wasnt that much.
Everyone in Amsterdam is always trying to sell you the most expensive thing.... Like when you buy a drink... they will say: "Large?" Or when you buy food they will say: "A drink maybe? A beer?" or when you buy cigerettes they will say: "A lighter...?".....If you get the idea....

Now then, the SKYY bar is amazing.... very nice view from the bar itself. 2 of the bar guys Christian and Micheal were really nice. Made us some cocktails and try and looked after us. (Tried to get us drunk) Haha.

Room service wasnt up to much at all. The carbanara I ordered was not nice. My friend ordered a fruit salad aswell which was a bit grim. The bill for this was ridiculous too.

We went to Trance Energy on the Saturday night and went back to a friends apartment afterwards and stayed till around 11am. When we got back to the hotel in our taxi, the reception staff looked at us like something they had wiped off our shoes...... Because we had been out all night and our make up and hair was a mess they just ignored us when all we wanted was our room key. The other guests were also staring and whispering and looking at us as if to say.... "They cant be staying here look at the state of them".... we didnt look that bad at all but we had obviosly spent all night at a Trance event which was miles away, sweating like mad so we werent going to look our best. The reception staff just stuck their noses in the air and ignored us. In the end I said.... can we have our room key please and the guy actually looked shocked that we were staying there.

I just think sometimes people like that are really shallow and it got my back up!!! I dont judge people on the way they look and I am not stuck up.

When we got up to our room the maid was cleaning it and just froze on the spot and said- "Can I help you?" And I just said, Yes this is our room..... she told us to go away and come back?? And I said- "No, we need to sleep and this is our room..." The room wasnt even a mess and she had already changed the bed. She stomped off in a mood but it was the fact that she was pretty rude when we walked in and she looked like she was up to something...... Perhaps not but thats the impression I got.
Because we had room service the day before, the maid had put our tray outside our room to take away with her but she left it.... about 2 hours later just as I was falling asleep from a long night, a man knocked on the door extemely annoyed at me...
He was asking me to move the tray..... I couldnt understand what he meant and they I realised he meant the room service tray (Because the maid left it outside) I just explained to him that I hadnt put it there in the 1st place..... he took it away but he was very angry that it was there and blamed me...!!

I got disturbed again 3 times after that by maids etc and woken up (Even though the do not disturb sign was on the door)
I was happy with the hotel and service 100% until the Saturday and then it seemed to go downhill. Perhaps its different people at weekend??

On the up side- Amsterdam is great. Visit the Grasshoper :-) Try the 10 euro cocktails as they are amazing and if you go at Easter and like good music....go to Trance Energy, its life changing.

I would say stay here if you dont mind travelling into Amsterdam, but please....dont be rude to other guests. Its not really fair and it ruins their stay.... there really isnt any need, even if you are rich or from a good background (Like I am- not the rich part) there is no need to stick your noses in the air at people.
The same goes for the staff. Treat everyone the same...... Just because someone looks a bit better in their suit rather than in ugg boots and shorts because they have been out all night, it doesnt mean that they should be treated differently. This is the ONLY thing I didnt like about the hotel, so this part let it down- What a shame....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    831
    137
    33
    21
See reviews for
176
1,192
85
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My husband and I with another couple stayed a the Westcord last weekend for 3 nights. We found the hotel to be clean and the rooms to be large. A few points to mention are there are no drawers in the bedroom which is a bit of a pain. The door to the bathroom is clear glass so if you are staying with a friend they can see you showering. The toilet however is in another place so that bit is OK. The towels are minute. Free Wi-fi is great. The reception staff are OK but could do with more people and they could be a bit friendlier. The breakfast is a good selection but not enough waiting staff during breakfast so the tables are not that clean if you arrive late. The bar on the 10th floor does great cocktails. It is about 20 mins from the centre of town by tram.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for Christmas, the journey from the station to the hotel was treacherous due to the recent snow and took us about 30 mins walk not a great start, also no taxis outside station so be warned.

The hotel interior is very stylish and modern, reception staff checked us in early with no fuss nearly 2 hours before we were expected which was relief after that walk.

The rooms are very modern and stylish, pictures on the hotel website don't do it justice, plenty of multi lingual channels on lcd tv to keep you happy if thats your thing.

You should visit the bar on the top floor a little pricey but you do get a grat veiw of the surroundings at night.

Journey to amsterdam centre is about 10-15 mins from the hotel on a tram, (5 min walk to tram stop even in the snow), purchase a travel card from reception this will save you some pennies and make sure you swipe when getting on/off tram or it could invalidate your pass, so we were told.

Now the buffet breakfast is to die for, this was included in our stay very filling and some thing for everyone, try the waffles and pancakes...Mmm

Now a word of warning if you get a little peckish while in town around the corner from the britiish bulldog about a minute walk on the left is restraunt offering all you eat ribs avoid like the plague we found the staff very rude and the food sub standard in our opinion.

Apart from that great hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The hotel was nice and great value, but if you are the kind of person who spends most of your time out of the hotel and is going to be heading home later at night then this may not be an ideal place for you to stay. You have a 5 min walk to the closest tram station, then about a 25 min tram ride in to town. If PT is not your thing the cab fare is pretty expensive - we ended up catching a cab home every night... Also, the hotel surrounds are very dull - there is nothing to do and no local shops nearby to pick up essentials etc. Rooms were very nice and clean - only problem we found was that water ends up all over the bathroom floor as there is no catchment for the shower.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The hotel it so new that the block its on it still being finished. There was no disturbing construction though when I was there. The hotel is literally brand news, which makes for a nice comfortable stay, and some snags - eg shower didn't drain away properly.

It you get there before people come home from work who live in the apartments on the same block, at the time of writing (March 2010) you can park free on the street at night and avoid the hotels 30 euro parking fee. Reception said that the city is introducing street parking in the future....

The hotel is next to the Amsterdam Ring but faces in to a new courtyard and over to the park. Its not a destination hotel but its not meant to be. Pool and gym looked nice - I would use them next time know I know they are there.

Comfortable, reasonably priced and free WIFI included. Good for a business stay. Would go back but not for leisure stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Very good hotel. Paid £100 for 2 nights (half price deal.) Location reasonable for price, though construction works nearby meant that you have to walk along a road for a bit, though I think this is now resolved. Solid 4 star hotel, at £100/night it is reasonable still, though more than that I would look closer to town. Every thing was new, clean and very well run with friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

The westcord fashion hotel is located on the overtoom road just by the ring road. There is a tram stop about 5 min walk from the hotel, the tram takes roughly 8-10 mins to leidseplein and a further 5 mins to Dam square and central station. The hotel was very clean and modern, the buffett breakfast was very nice.

rooms are very spacious with good facilities, the rooms are a little dark and can sometimes be a bit cold.

Taxi to leidseplein is 10 Euros but if you are coming back late in the evening can be anything from 15 - 20 Euros. All the trams stop at 12.30 am but there is a night bus back to the tram stop nearly to the hotel. Location isnt great but the hotel was brilliant and would not be a problem to commute for young couples and friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1 | GPS address: Nachtwachtlaan 11, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashion Hotel Amsterdam (4-stars) is situated opposite the World Fashion Centre, within ring road A10 of Amsterdam. It has a fantastic location; Leidseplein is within a 10 minute tram ride, Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam RAI are also 10 minutes from the hotel by car and the Vondelpark is only a 5 minute walk away. This makes the hotel suitable for a business stay, but also weekend break to Amsterdam. Fashion Hotel in Amsterdam has 260 spacious modern design rooms with free WIFI internet. After a visit to Fashion’s Restaurant and Bar, with adjacent terrace, you can drink cocktails in the stylish SKYY Bar on the 10th floor. It has a great view over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.