We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights in February, the hotel itself is very nice and the rooms were excellent for what we paid, fresh towels and room cleaned everyday, great selection for breakfast and reception staff were all friendly and polite, ordering us taxis and telling us about trams etc so we had no problem getting around amsterdam via the trams and I would recommend the hotel to anyone,the only downside to the hotel ( if it is part of the hotel not sure if it's ran separately ) would be the staff in the sky bar, the bar is great but the staff need serious customer service training, try to order a drink at the bar to be told to sit and someone will come take your order, sit for 30 mins while the person who told you to sit walks past several times totally ignoring you as you wave your hand 2ft in front of his ignorant face serving people who had been in there 2 mins ( obviously friends as they were hugging etc ) only got served after physically stopping him and him telling me to order at the bar which still took forever as the barman was to busy faffing about thinking he was Tom Cruise in cocktail trying to impress the ladies when infact he was more like Sacha baron Cohen in Borat and I would imagine he would find it hard to pull in the red light district : )

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear steven j,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for recommending it to others. I’m sorry to read that you experienced some difficulties with regards to the service in the Skyybar. Your feedback is highly appreciated. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    704
    590
    101
    25
    17
See reviews for
93
683
58
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at The WestCord Fashion Hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and then again for 2 more at the end. Both stays were quite enjoyable. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were modern, comfortable and user friendly. We had worn warm clothes, from Canada, but didn't need them for safari-ing in Africa. The folks at the hotel were agreeable to let us leave those clothes in the luggage room, for our return, 1 month later! We ate 3 dinners in the lounge. Martin, the bartender, was very friendly, welcoming us back when we returned. The food was very good. Altho the hotel was out of the city centre, it only took us about 15 min. to reach Dam Sq. and Centraal Station, by tram. A delightful spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear ElizabethAnn151,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! I will pass your compliments to my entire team and to Martin in particular! Thank you for staying with us and for recommending it to others. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guests!
Kindest regards,
WestCord fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for three nights. Check in was a delight with nothing too much trouble and when we advised that the room we had been given smelled of smoke we were immediately moved to another room with keys brought to us by a receptionist. Rooms although not large were well equipped and clean. Breakfast was very good with an excellent variety of hot and cold items. We were greeted on our final morning at the breakfast reception desk by the General Manager who asked us about our stay - leading from the front which shows in the overall quality of service at the hotel. The only negative was that the tram stop could be nearer which when the weather is good is not a problem but the strong winds and rain we encountered made the walk rather SOGGY.

We had a great trip and thank you Nico for taking a personal interest in your guests. Your staff a credit to you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Martin H,
Thank you for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read that we have met your expectations and that you rate us with 5 out of 5! Thank you for your compliments to my team. As a general manager I’m very proud to have such dedicated team members. I will share your feedback with all of them! I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest regards
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, rooms nice and bright beds very comfortable, arrived Thursday 6th of feb for 4 night, weather really bad and hotel supplied large umbrellas which made our stay more enjoyable as we would have been soaked while walking around. Thanks west cord will defo stay again

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear cjan40,
Thank you for posting your positive review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted to read that we have met your expectations and that you rate us with 5 out of 5! I will share your feedback with my entire team. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again!
Kindest regards
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

When we first pulled up to the Fashion we had to double check that we had been taken to the correct place! The decor was very luxurious and fashionista! Spacious and clean rooms with a large bath, shower, comfy beds... Also prosecco is included with breakfast! It's a 15min tram ride into town but it's easy to find and you can buy tram passes at reception. Would be nice to be in the centre but you get what you pay for!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear missrose22,
Thank you for staying with us! I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you rate us with 5 out of 5. Your compliments are very appreciated and will be shared with my entire team. I look forward to your next visit!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I arrived on the 06/03/2014 and from day one we received first class service from slippers and gowns to daily snacks and fruit, we stayed in room 515 very spacious and modern, we also received free cocktails for my partners birthday with a card to go with, excellent hotel will definitely go back again, the staff were very polite and helpful, and the lounge bar was a great place for a drink In the evening, overall a fantastic hotel and relaxing break!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Donna W
"Beautiful” what a great start for a review!
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! I'm very happy that you enjoyed our birthday gift. Thank you for staying and recommending our hotel to others! I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester uk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stylish, clean and a luxurious feel. Me and my best friend stayed for 2 nights and this hotel was perfect to make it feel special. The staff were welcoming and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble (they lent us 2 travel plugs at no extra cost and also searched the room for an item we had left in there hours after we had checked out) We asked the reception staff for recommendations on bars and restaurants and they suggested great places, resulting in 2 fantastic nights. Don't let the location put you off as the trams are frequent and its only a 15 min journey into the centre, we actually quite enjoyed it. We bought a 3 day tram pass from the information office opposite centraal train station for 16 euros each and this saved us a lot of money, well worth it.

The Skyy bar on the hotels 10th floor was amazing and had beautiful views over the city, probably the nicest bar we saw in Amsterdam! Perfect way to start off a night out. They have djs on every Friday and Saturday and its open til 1am. Cocktails are between 12-14 euros which is a pretty standard price. The food prices in the hotel seemed rather expensive (the only negative) so we decided not to eat here but the food we did see being served looked nice.

We went to a club called jimmy woos on the recommendation of the lady on reception and this seemed to be one of the more popular places to go as there was a massive queue outside, we decided to be try our luck and walk straight up to the host on the door and ask 'how much it was to get in' and they let us in ;) so being a little bit cheeky certainly paid off! It was 15 euros for anyone thinking of going and I think this is similar for all the decent clubs. There's a little bar opposite called Susie wang's which has a great atmosphere and lovely cocktails. Most of the bars and clubs are on leidsesquare which is 12 euros from the hotel in a taxi.

A lesson we learnt on getting to the hotel from the airport is to get off at lelylaan train station (7 mins from airport) and just walking 5 mins to the hotel. Rather than going to centraal station (16 mins) and then getting the tram to hotel (an extra 20 mins) this will save you a lot of time and messing about with suitcases :)


This is just my personal opinion, but we paid 15 euros each to go to the ice bar across town as we thought it would be a great experience, the offer includes '2 free drinks'.... These 2 free drinks were 2 shots of cherry sours and it's that cold that it's only comfortable to be in there for 10 minutes, they also don't let you take any photos and charge you 10 euros if you do want one... After this you then have to get another tram back into the centre... Just don't bother going... It's not worth it. There's so many amazing things to see that this just felt a big waste of time.


Can't wait to return as there we so many things we didn't get chance to do and will definitely be returning to this hotel!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Amyrose1508,
"Stunning” what a great start for a review!
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much and that you rate us with 5 out of 5! Thank you for staying and recommending our hotel to others! I look forward to your next visit.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.