We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, perfect weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester uk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, perfect weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stylish, clean and a luxurious feel. Me and my best friend stayed for 2 nights and this hotel was perfect to make it feel special. The staff were welcoming and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble (they lent us 2 travel plugs at no extra cost and also searched the room for an item we had left in there hours after we had checked out) We asked the reception staff for recommendations on bars and restaurants and they suggested great places, resulting in 2 fantastic nights. Don't let the location put you off as the trams are frequent and its only a 15 min journey into the centre, we actually quite enjoyed it. We bought a 3 day tram pass from the information office opposite centraal train station for 16 euros each and this saved us a lot of money, well worth it.

The Skyy bar on the hotels 10th floor was amazing and had beautiful views over the city, probably the nicest bar we saw in Amsterdam! Perfect way to start off a night out. They have djs on every Friday and Saturday and its open til 1am. Cocktails are between 12-14 euros which is a pretty standard price. The food prices in the hotel seemed rather expensive (the only negative) so we decided not to eat here but the food we did see being served looked nice.

We went to a club called jimmy woos on the recommendation of the lady on reception and this seemed to be one of the more popular places to go as there was a massive queue outside, we decided to be try our luck and walk straight up to the host on the door and ask 'how much it was to get in' and they let us in ;) so being a little bit cheeky certainly paid off! It was 15 euros for anyone thinking of going and I think this is similar for all the decent clubs. There's a little bar opposite called Susie wang's which has a great atmosphere and lovely cocktails. Most of the bars and clubs are on leidsesquare which is 12 euros from the hotel in a taxi.

A lesson we learnt on getting to the hotel from the airport is to get off at lelylaan train station (7 mins from airport) and just walking 5 mins to the hotel. Rather than going to centraal station (16 mins) and then getting the tram to hotel (an extra 20 mins) this will save you a lot of time and messing about with suitcases :)


This is just my personal opinion, but we paid 15 euros each to go to the ice bar across town as we thought it would be a great experience, the offer includes '2 free drinks'.... These 2 free drinks were 2 shots of cherry sours and it's that cold that it's only comfortable to be in there for 10 minutes, they also don't let you take any photos and charge you 10 euros if you do want one... After this you then have to get another tram back into the centre... Just don't bother going... It's not worth it. There's so many amazing things to see that this just felt a big waste of time.


Can't wait to return as there we so many things we didn't get chance to do and will definitely be returning to this hotel!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Amyrose1508,
"Stunning” what a great start for a review!
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much and that you rate us with 5 out of 5! Thank you for staying and recommending our hotel to others! I look forward to your next visit.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    695
    118
    30
    18
See reviews for
131
945
70
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This hotel is a little out of the centre of Amsterdam but its worth the extra time spent in the local trams. The staff could not have been more help. My husband and I were there as a treat from our daughter on his 50th Birthday. The hotel had flowers and a bottle of champagne in the room for our arrival - very thoughtful. We didn't eat in the hotel - 19 euros for breakfast seems a little steep - but from our time in the hotel bars, any food we did see being served to others looked lovely. The rooms were generous in size and very stylish. No nasty surprises. We would have no hesitation in going again
For those feeling slightly brave, ignore the connexion bus at the airport (16.50 euros each transfer charge) and take the train from the airport to Lelylann station - its only a flat ten minute walk from there.

Room Tip: Lots of roads around hotel - a high floor might be good idea if you are a light sleeper. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear ct2017,
Thank you for nice review on Tripadvisor. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our birthday treat! Thank you for staying and for recommending our hotel to future guests. I hope that we get the chance to welcome you again when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I went here as part of a group of girls on a Hen Weekend. We arrived early in the morning and they had most of our rooms ready. The service was excellent from Reception, Restaurant, Spa and the Skky Bar. The rooms were a nice size and very clean. The only thing to be aware of is the glass shower door in the bedroom, not very good if you are not happy with your room mate watching you shower!!! The hotel is away from the centre of town, but has a very regular tram service from outside or not too expensive in a taxi.

Room Tip: I overlooked the main road in Room 207 and found it really quiet, no trouble at all in sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Caroline B,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
Your compliments are highly appreciated and of great value. With regards to the glass in the bathroom I can inform you that we also have bathrooms with frosted glass available. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your hen party and for recommending it to others. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guests in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is very stylish and modern with a luxury feel. The staff are really helpful and friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were modern and comfortable.
We never eat in the hotel but when we were in the sky bar the food being served looked delicious. The drinks prices are very reasonable.
There are tram stops a 5 min walk away and they take you right to the centre, you can get on 2 different trams no 1 or 17 and are very frequent. You can get a travel hopper card from reception for 12euros which is really handy for exploring the city.

Room Tip: We were looking onto a busy motorway but we couldn't hear anything from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Claire A,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. It’s great that you rate us with 5 out of 5! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is fabulous. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was brilliant with plenty of choice (my sister and I are coeliac and they provided gluten free cereal and bread.) The room was exactly as it appeared in the pictures and the bed was comfy and all very clean. The hotel was modern, clean and offered great choice of gymn, swimming pool and spa treatments. The Sky bar was a pleasant extra with amazing views. Don't be put off by its location as trams are frequent and a very short journey to the city centre. Would definitely recommend this hotel to enhance any trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Lynda M,
“Fantastic” What a great start of a review! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for all the kind words. I’m delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for recommending it to others. I look forward to welcome you again to the WestCord Fashion Hotel!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is such a smashing hotel, the design, the cleanliness and the price is all fantastic. The rooms were very modern and very big with one very very comfortable bed. Everything was perfect about the hotel especially the staff who gave us maps, drew all the locations and told us how to get there and back.

The only downside was it was a bit far out, either a 5 minute tram journey or a 20 minute walk from the centre this didnt phase us really but I imagine it could with some people it could be an issue. However when drinking on a night out the taxi is the sensible option anyhow only costing 10 euros from the centre which was a steal.

On another note the fitness centre and spa were fantastic, I must admit I did treat myself to a nice massage which was unreal.

Overall a great hotel at a cheap rate with one fantastic breakfast!!!! Fully recommended for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Plumby94,
Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and rate us with 5 out of 5! Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending the WestCord Fashion Hotel to others. I Hope to see you again in the future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Clean, cheap, and quality.
Close enough to make the tram ride and short walk an acceptable compromise. Good fixtures and fittings as well as a comfortable bed. As an ex Amsterdammer, I am highly aware of the number of poor quality city center hotels that have attracted good reviews from back packers that are happy with a flop house. I would/will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear wildebed,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
I‘m delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations. Thank you for choosing our hotel! It’s great to read that you will return! That’s the biggest compliment we can get!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.