We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smart hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Smart, modern hotel just outside Amsterdam. Short walk through the park to the centre or hire bikes from the hotel! Amazing breakfast, great value.

Large, spacious rooms, modern decor. Friendly staff at check-in, cannot be faulted

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Jon C,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor! I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! I will pass your compliments to my entire team! Thank you for staying with us. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guests!
Kindest regards,
WestCord fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    599
    95
    26
    17
See reviews for
112
775
64
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Would-be fashionistas will love the theme adopted be the hotel and the little fashion displays in the lobby. During my stay it was mostly jewellery, the dismembered hands acting as hooks holding necklaces were a bit disconcerting, but this is fashion.

The staff were wonderfully helpful and polite. From check in to checkout the process was flawless.

I stayed in double room but saw a friends' suite; I would thoroughly recommend spending a little more taking a suite, it will be worth the extra something. But I booked late so I can't really complain. The one downside if that my room was at the end of the hall near the service lift, there was a definite although hardly noticeable hum of an air conditioning unit. In other words, avoid visiting your friends' rooms to avoid room envy.

As an aside, an interesting design choice is the use of transparent glass doors to the bathroom. I know this is Amsterdam but if you're staying as a couple and you're British first make sure your relationship is sound.

Thoroughly excellent hotel, the debate on whether a more central location is worth the extra money still remains unsettled.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Oleg B,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. With regards to the glass in the bathroom I can inform you that we have bathrooms with frosted glass available. I look forward to welcome you again to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam in the future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second stay at Fashion hotel, the first being December 2009 - I rated our stay highly back then and its just got better.

To be fair, there isnt much around the hotel, but there is Surinamplein tram stop a few minutes walk away which is only 10mins away from everything you want in Amsterdam.

There is also Lelylaan train station about 10mins walk away with a direct train to the airport which takes 10mins.

We thought the breakfast was a little pricy at €19 (or €17 if you book at reception in advance), but we ordered room service one evening - food and drink were great and good value.

The service at the hotel in general is brilliant and very friendly - we cant fault the hotel and twice now we have had an excellent stay and would happily recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

We will be back again, i'm sure! Thanks Fashion hotel (Nico and team)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear WhereNext82,
"Perfect” what a great start for a review!
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! Your review reflects our desired guest experience!
Thank you for staying and recommending our hotel to others! I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in December to visit the Amsterdam Christmas markets. Very cheap and easy to get to from the airport (excellent instructions on which train and tram to catch). Equidistant between two tram stops (about five mins walk to each) and tram maybe 15mins into centre. Tram day pass only about 7 euros and two day about 12 euros. Very frequent all day and evening. Didn't use much of hotel facilities but clean, modern and smart so very nice place to stay. Lovely swimming pool for a quick dip. We didn't have breakfast as too much food to eat elsewhere so can't comment! Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Within five mins we were checked in, with map, directions to the centre, best tramstop advice and all set for two days of much exploring. Thank you

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear KateLW_13,
What a pleasure to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review and for all the kind words.
Your compliments about our staff are highly appreciated. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for recommending it to others. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again as our guest in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and found the service exceptional from Reception and the bar/restaurant, although the Sky Bar had a bit of an aggressive bar tender who did not like guests standing in the centre of the bar and was not afraid to point this out rather forcefully! The room was great, comfortable and the other features of the hotel were good although the breakfast was only average - cold fried eggs were a little odd and the coffee was mild. I would on balance however return. Lastly, the lingerie models in Reception were a curious attraction!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jonathan H,
It's great to read that you will return to the WestCord Fashion Hotel! That's the best recommendation we can get! Thank you for staying with us and for pointing out in which’s area’s we can improve. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again soon!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Very good experience overall - room was big and modern with separate bathroom and toilet.
Breakfast delicious! Staff was nice and helpful.

Some minor negative:
- Roomservice food disappointing
- After booking additional night we were called twice to remind us of check-out and once someone even came to our room to get us to check-out.
- Far from center but cheaper price easily covers for taxis

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Bianca C,
I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words. Your compliments about our rooms very welcome! Your comments about our internal communication and room service are very welcome and highly appreciated. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future!
Kindest Regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just had 4 nights at this hotel, and can I say it was just great.
The staff are exceptionally friendly (Jeffery in the dining room gets a special mention), the restaurant food in the evening is superb. The Lobster Newburg, superb, and the Tornadoes melt in your mouth.
I've got a sweet tooth and the Orange Bavarois is to die for!
Really, it's a Michelin star restaurant without any stars or incredible prices.
Book the breakfast too, great start to the day that can negate the need for lunch.
5 minutes to the tram for a great ride into Amsterdam.
We had trouble with the free WiFi...........no probs, moved us to another room where reception was perfect,
The people at Reception just get it right, nothing too much trouble!

Regards, to all the staff.
Thank you WestCord Fashion Hotel

Room Tip: Get a 48 or 72 hour tram pass......just great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPEvers, General Manager at WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear ColandLynne,
Thank you very much for your kind and enthusiastic words in your review! It was a delight to read you enjoyed your stay so much! Your compliment about Fashion’s Restaurant & Bar are highly appreciated! I will share your comments with my entire team, who I am sure will read them with pride! Especially Jeffrey will be very happy :). It has been a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back next time!
Kindest regards,
WestCord Fashion Hotel
Nico Evers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelsstraat 1, 1058 GC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.